Customer Reviews for

Merry Christmas, Alex Cross (Alex Cross Series #19)

Average Rating 4
( 530 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(247)

4 Star

(129)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

54 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

LOVE ALEX CROSS !!

Not my idea of a Christmas classic ... Probably won't read it to my grandchildren after Christmas Eve church service, but it's James Patterson at his best. Loved every page of it! Especially loved Alex's struggle with "does the end justify the means?" As usual, this is...
Not my idea of a Christmas classic ... Probably won't read it to my grandchildren after Christmas Eve church service, but it's James Patterson at his best. Loved every page of it! Especially loved Alex's struggle with "does the end justify the means?" As usual, this is so well written that I whizzed through it, wishing it wouldn't end so quickly. Highly recommend it for all James Patterson/Alex Cross fans and first-timers as well.

posted by DeannaH on November 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

In my opinion, JP had 2 seperate ideas for 2 short stories and p

In my opinion, JP had 2 seperate ideas for 2 short stories and put them both together in this book. The first half of the book had no connection to the second half. I love Cross books and on all levels, this one failed. Following on the footsteps of Zoo, it was a majo...
In my opinion, JP had 2 seperate ideas for 2 short stories and put them both together in this book. The first half of the book had no connection to the second half. I love Cross books and on all levels, this one failed. Following on the footsteps of Zoo, it was a major disappointment and I'm sorry I spent money on this book. I would not recommend this book.

posted by jklein on November 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 530 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 27
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Disappointed

    Alex Cross books are always fun to read. The first part of the story had lots of action. However,the second story was typical of most of the series. I was disappointed in the story line this time. I wait for the next part of the Alex Cross books. I hope the next book has a better twist and more action.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Can't read it on my Nook or on my computer

    Bought it now I can't read it because it is not adaptable to Nook epub, now what! Looks like it would be a 5 star if I could just read it.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Great

    Really intense and quick read ... one of Patterson's best!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Merry Christmas, Alex Cross

    James Patterson does his thing again with his latest Alex Cross thriller. He even brings back an adversary from another novel. Won't spoil it for you....LOL! If you love Alex Cross, you'll not be disappointed.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    Merry Christmas, Alex Cross is the nineteenth book in the popula

    Merry Christmas, Alex Cross is the nineteenth book in the popular Alex Cross series by prolific American author, James Patterson. It actually consists of two separate stories linked only by their proximity to Christmas. On Christmas Eve, with a blizzard set to engulf Washington, Alex Cross is called, much to the dismay of his family, to a hostage situation. A once-prestigious heavily armed lawyer is holding his ex-wife, his children, his ex-wife’s new husband and a next-door neighbour hostage. Cross risks his own life by entering the house (twice) and eventually defusing the situation and disarming the drug-crazed offender, using background information about the lawyer, combined with his considerable negotiating skills and his psychological expertise. Then with just a few hours of sleep, he is called to Union Station, where Hala, a ruthless Saudi terrorist and cold-blooded killer (whom readers will remember from Kill Alex Cross) has been spotted using facial recognition technology. As they try to track Hala, Cross wonders if this is a diversion for something worse. There is plenty of action in this story: cyanide poisoning, grenades, booby traps, shootings, torture of children and sniffer dogs all feature. Lots of technology is used: iPads with G4 are commandeered from commuters; cell phone calls are monitored; Skype links to Saudi Arabia are instrumental. Cross partakes in something he would usually consider beneath his standards. And would Arab children being tortured speak English? Finally, Cross and John Sampson manage to foil the terrorist plot almost by accident and without actually knowing what it is. Cross spends quite a bit of time considering his job and its effects on his family. Fast-paced, short chapters, a quick read but not a patch on earlier Alex Cross novels. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    I didn't like this book. Making a hostage situation a sleeper is

    I didn't like this book. Making a hostage situation a sleeper is hard to do, but that mission was accomplished in this book. I used to be a number one fan of Patterson. I've gotten to the point where I'm not even going to buy the books that aren't Alex Cross, the Woman's murder club of Michael Bennet. Now he's taken Alex Cross down a notch. What is happening? Maybe he's just running out of original ideas. Don't be shooting for quantity...get back to that original quality that made Patterson the best. This book was a major disappointment. Kathy Reichs is my new favorite. Sorry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Only if you have nothing better to do.

    I have read better books by James Patterson.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    highly recommended

    Love It!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Horrorble

    Idc and idk

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Anonymous

    Love it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Exciting from start to finish

    This was the best Alex Cross I've read in a long time. It's exciting from beginning to end. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    highly recommended

    If you enjoy reading Alex Cross books, you will enjoy Merry Christmas, Alex Cross. It is a fast read, as all of the Alex Cross series is. I definitely recommend it, the suspense keeps you turning the pages. Very hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    I like it

    Its not boring its actually my second favorite book its sad too like what the F****

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2015

    Jackie

    She walks in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2014

    As always, another fantastic Alex Cross story by James. I am cur

    As always, another fantastic Alex Cross story by James. I am currently reading Cross My Heart and have already purchased Hope To Die. I just can't get enough of his writing. Anyone who has ever read a Patterson novel can't put them down and for those who haven't, you should pick one up and start reading. You won't want to put it down either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    Best one yet by Patterson

    I'm only thirteen years old, yet I have read my fair share of James Patterson books. I've liked another one of his books( which I forgot the name of!) But i was so interested in it, that I started reading other books by him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    Still into this series!

    Will continue reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2014

    I am hooked on the Alex Cross series, I started in the middle so

    I am hooked on the Alex Cross series, I started in the middle somewhere, went to the beginning and have read them all in order and can't wait for them to come out.

    This book is different with two "crime" stories wrapped together over Christmas and the only thing they have in common was Alex Cross and his family. I was a little let down when the first story came to an end, I was like what, I am done... that was a short story, but then the second one started up. The whole capture at the train station got a little fuzzy, but in all the story was a good story.

    Character; the grandmother as always is the (not so) quiet strength of the family, the kids are the same and the wife???? She goes to a hostage situation while her husband is working to add more pressure to him... Hello, is she a cop too!!! In all I would have to say I liked the first story, and about 2/3 of the second story. Good read and as always, Alex Cross is a great character!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    Anonymous

    Another page turner about Alex Cross. He is a superhero of law enforcement. Clark Kent
    Without a cape, a good guy vs bad guys,thriller.
    Would love to see this as a movie. Move over
    James Bond, the USA has a hero of our own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    great

    I got series and love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 530 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 27