Customer Reviews for

Merry Christmas, Alex Cross (Alex Cross Series #19)

Average Rating 4
( 529 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(246)

4 Star

(129)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

53 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

LOVE ALEX CROSS !!

Not my idea of a Christmas classic ... Probably won't read it to my grandchildren after Christmas Eve church service, but it's James Patterson at his best. Loved every page of it! Especially loved Alex's struggle with "does the end justify the means?" As usual, this is...
Not my idea of a Christmas classic ... Probably won't read it to my grandchildren after Christmas Eve church service, but it's James Patterson at his best. Loved every page of it! Especially loved Alex's struggle with "does the end justify the means?" As usual, this is so well written that I whizzed through it, wishing it wouldn't end so quickly. Highly recommend it for all James Patterson/Alex Cross fans and first-timers as well.

posted by DeannaH on November 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

In my opinion, JP had 2 seperate ideas for 2 short stories and p

In my opinion, JP had 2 seperate ideas for 2 short stories and put them both together in this book. The first half of the book had no connection to the second half. I love Cross books and on all levels, this one failed. Following on the footsteps of Zoo, it was a majo...
In my opinion, JP had 2 seperate ideas for 2 short stories and put them both together in this book. The first half of the book had no connection to the second half. I love Cross books and on all levels, this one failed. Following on the footsteps of Zoo, it was a major disappointment and I'm sorry I spent money on this book. I would not recommend this book.

posted by jklein on November 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 529 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    LOVE ALEX CROSS !!

    Not my idea of a Christmas classic ... Probably won't read it to my grandchildren after Christmas Eve church service, but it's James Patterson at his best. Loved every page of it! Especially loved Alex's struggle with "does the end justify the means?" As usual, this is so well written that I whizzed through it, wishing it wouldn't end so quickly. Highly recommend it for all James Patterson/Alex Cross fans and first-timers as well.

    53 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    what is a headline?

    It would be nice if I could down load to my Nook.

    52 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Great could'nt put it down

    This book was a great book love alex cross series cant wait for the next one!!!!! Happy readings

    32 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    In my opinion, JP had 2 seperate ideas for 2 short stories and p

    In my opinion, JP had 2 seperate ideas for 2 short stories and put them both together in this book. The first half of the book had no connection to the second half. I love Cross books and on all levels, this one failed. Following on the footsteps of Zoo, it was a major disappointment and I'm sorry I spent money on this book. I would not recommend this book.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Merry Christmas Alex Cross

    It was a great book! I loved it hope you read it.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    IS PATTERSON GETTING LAZY?

    This book seemed to me to be lacking when compared to
    other Cross books. It was more like a collection of short stories.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    I am a huge Alex Cross fan, but I was disappointed with this boo

    I am a huge Alex Cross fan, but I was disappointed with this book. Too much time was spent on the incident at the beginning of the book and the rest of the plot was flat. I'll look forward to "Run."

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Bad book

    This is not a good book. Unless you like to swear. I got to the 15th page and it said "holy sh**"! So, i have never said a swear word in my life!!!! Really, there is no reason to swear there are alot more words in this world then swear words. If you swear, let me just say pretty much every swear word is using God's word in vane. Which is just like rude, especially since you know it is wrong. Yeah, i know I'm just a kid and people just see me as a little girl who doesn't know what she is talking about but actually most of the time I actually know what I'm talking about and the adulys don't but I think I have the right to say what I know is right and if they don't believe me then that is their problem and not mine. So there. I know what I'm talking about.

    7 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Awesome

    This book is awesome even none i have not read it by lloing at it looks awesome!

    7 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Too short

    I never want the alex cross novels to end, but this one ended sooner than i expected! Good read anyway.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Apple

    Boring

    6 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    Looks like a great book. James Patterson is a great author. I lo

    Looks like a great book. James Patterson is a great author. I love all of his books

    4 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Not up to the Patterson standard

    While I love Alex Cross and his adventures, this one fell a bit flat for me. The adventure and intrigue were there at the start, but the story diverted from one plot to another and then simply faded away. The end left me feeling as though Patterson really had no ideas left, so he stopped writing. If I could, I would take this present off my list....Skip it, and you are not missing anything.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    love alex cross, but this one wasnt as good.

    love alex cross, but this one wasnt as good.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Disappointed

    It was way to short, and not at all detailed like other Alex Cross books. Never had time to get immersed in the charaters at all. This book felt rushed as if he only had a little time to do it in and decided to just throw 2 short stories together.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    When your an Alex Cross fan, you are just happy to have him and

    When your an Alex Cross fan, you are just happy to have him and his family back, much the same as you like seeing a favorite TV program. You Like them.Not one his most suspensful novels, but it's Alex, so enjoy it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Boring

    Uninteresting and quite boring.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Not good

    Was a very short book. Got pretty tired of the family whining that cross had to work.Do women really ever do that? Seems thats what the book was about more than anything.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Good book, but weak as far as Cross books go SPOILERS INCLUDED

    The good:
    Intense storyline
    Believable thereats

    The bad:
    Lacking character development
    2 seperate stories thatare sseemingly unconected
    SPOILERS

    vivid scens of child torture that made my stomsch churn, and lose respect for Alex Cross as a character.

    END SPOILERS

    No cliffhanger ending

    Overall good book, but I don't see Alex Cross having many more books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Recommended

    I like James Patterson writing style. I am not sure I like him as much when he co-authors with others. Enjoyed the read - kept my attention.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 529 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27