Customer Reviews for

Merry Christmas, Alex Cross (Alex Cross Series #19)

Average Rating 4
( 529 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(246)

4 Star

(129)

3 Star

(63)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(44)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

54 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

LOVE ALEX CROSS !!

Not my idea of a Christmas classic ... Probably won't read it to my grandchildren after Christmas Eve church service, but it's James Patterson at his best. Loved every page of it! Especially loved Alex's struggle with "does the end justify the means?" As usual, this is...
Not my idea of a Christmas classic ... Probably won't read it to my grandchildren after Christmas Eve church service, but it's James Patterson at his best. Loved every page of it! Especially loved Alex's struggle with "does the end justify the means?" As usual, this is so well written that I whizzed through it, wishing it wouldn't end so quickly. Highly recommend it for all James Patterson/Alex Cross fans and first-timers as well.

posted by DeannaH on November 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

In my opinion, JP had 2 seperate ideas for 2 short stories and p

In my opinion, JP had 2 seperate ideas for 2 short stories and put them both together in this book. The first half of the book had no connection to the second half. I love Cross books and on all levels, this one failed. Following on the footsteps of Zoo, it was a majo...
In my opinion, JP had 2 seperate ideas for 2 short stories and put them both together in this book. The first half of the book had no connection to the second half. I love Cross books and on all levels, this one failed. Following on the footsteps of Zoo, it was a major disappointment and I'm sorry I spent money on this book. I would not recommend this book.

posted by jklein on November 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    In my opinion, JP had 2 seperate ideas for 2 short stories and p

    In my opinion, JP had 2 seperate ideas for 2 short stories and put them both together in this book. The first half of the book had no connection to the second half. I love Cross books and on all levels, this one failed. Following on the footsteps of Zoo, it was a major disappointment and I'm sorry I spent money on this book. I would not recommend this book.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    I am a huge Alex Cross fan, but I was disappointed with this boo

    I am a huge Alex Cross fan, but I was disappointed with this book. Too much time was spent on the incident at the beginning of the book and the rest of the plot was flat. I'll look forward to "Run."

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Not up to the Patterson standard

    While I love Alex Cross and his adventures, this one fell a bit flat for me. The adventure and intrigue were there at the start, but the story diverted from one plot to another and then simply faded away. The end left me feeling as though Patterson really had no ideas left, so he stopped writing. If I could, I would take this present off my list....Skip it, and you are not missing anything.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Disappointed

    Alex Cross books are always fun to read. The first part of the story had lots of action. However,the second story was typical of most of the series. I was disappointed in the story line this time. I wait for the next part of the Alex Cross books. I hope the next book has a better twist and more action.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    I finally finished this yesterday, truthfully I could not wait t

    I finally finished this yesterday, truthfully I could not wait to finish it. ( skipped some pages, I never do that)
    I am so tired of mama nana or whatever her name is. time for a nursing home .  Loved most of Alex Cross series, not this one.  I do enjoy 
    Michael Bennett and the Private books and wives club.  Thanks Mr Patterson  MEB


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Disappointing

    This is the first Patterson book that I have not thoroughly enjoyed (except for those supposedly written with other authors on title). I found it disjointed, parts unrelated, and basically boring. I haven't given up on him but this book was one I could have skipped.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Y


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    I am a huge Alex Cross fan, but this book was disappointing to s

    I am a huge Alex Cross fan, but this book was disappointing to say the least. This book felt very rushed, and the plots for the stories felt unfinished. The stories in the book were not interesting and did not show the Alex Cross we all know and love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Page turner

    Patterson has done it again, put Alex in danger. With the threats to the US Patterson put on paper how it could actually happen. You are happy some of the bad guys are captured.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Merry Christmas, Alex Cross

    This is the first time Mr. Patterson and Mr. Cross have not led me to seek more. The storyline works as a teaser but, then leads to Alex Cross: Superman! I have read every Crross book written so far and this one was my first where I felt conned; Alex Cross went from dedicated, hardcharging, brilliant detrcive to a superman character in just a fee short chapters. The human aspect of alex seemed to be replaced by the superhuman. I'm hoping Alex returns in the next novel or dies trying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    This was not the typical JP book. There were two very different

    This was not the typical JP book. There were two very different cases that had absolutely nothing to do with the other. There was no follow-up with the first case and the second case was not needed. Also this book was unusually short for a JP novel.

    I read the book in two days not because it was good, but I paid for it & I wanted it to be over. I am a JP fan, but this book was well below his other masterpieces.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Recommend. Very good!

    I enjoy all of James Patterson's books. A page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Not worth the price

    I just didnt enjoy this book at all. Old storyline, trying to put too much into one book. Di yourself a favor and skip this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    A disappointment

    I have read all of the Alex Cross and Woman's Murder Club series and Merry Christmas Alex Cross was the worst read. It was weakly presented and easily predictive. It seems that Patterson has opted to take the easy way out with his novels. The early Cross books were exceptional in presentation, storylin and endings. Too bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    Eh

    It felt like there was two different stories going on in the book. Didn't care for that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Good, but not James Patterson's best!

    I ove the Alex Cross series and am always eager to order the next one. Marry Christmas Alex Cross did not meet my expectations (first time ever). This will not keep me from reading the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    A disapointment.

    I waited a long time to get one of his books written solely by him. But this book is a disapointment. Not one of his better books. Seems like he's getting farther and farther away from the the good prose and tight stories he used to write. The co-authors only make it worse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Predictable

    Predictable story with so so ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    I enjoyed the book. I have one criticism to direct a the author

    I enjoyed the book. I have one criticism to direct a the author and publishers. After every paragraph there is a double space on the Nook version and after every (frequent) chapter there is a good half page or more of blank space. If you were to single space after each paragraph, as most books are,  i am pretty sure the book would run no more than 200 pages, if that. That seems pretty slick to me.  Am sure the author could have provided a more substantial story for the money but understand he has 10 more books to publish this month.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3