Customer Reviews for

The Message

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

My husband and I read this together when we were engaged. IT was

My husband and I read this together when we were engaged. IT was one of the most thought-provoking personal accounts of one man's life beyond the veil. It brought us such peace and understanding, validated many of the bible and book of mormon's teachings and left us wit...
My husband and I read this together when we were engaged. IT was one of the most thought-provoking personal accounts of one man's life beyond the veil. It brought us such peace and understanding, validated many of the bible and book of mormon's teachings and left us with a wonderful idea of where and what our deceased loved ones are possibly involved in after this life. It reconfirmed to us the true love of our Heavenly Parents for us, the plan they have for each of us individually, just how personal the Lord's Atoning Sacrifice is for each of us. Thank you Lance for sharing your story!!!

posted by hsSalter on June 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

Very disapointing, not worth the money

posted by 8143007 on March 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    My husband and I read this together when we were engaged. IT was

    My husband and I read this together when we were engaged. IT was one of the most thought-provoking personal accounts of one man's life beyond the veil. It brought us such peace and understanding, validated many of the bible and book of mormon's teachings and left us with a wonderful idea of where and what our deceased loved ones are possibly involved in after this life. It reconfirmed to us the true love of our Heavenly Parents for us, the plan they have for each of us individually, just how personal the Lord's Atoning Sacrifice is for each of us. Thank you Lance for sharing your story!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Lighting book

    Lighting book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2007

    Inspiriational Message

    I found this book to be inspiriational. Lance's experience was true to many of the life after death and near death experiences I have read about (and they come from all over the religious spectrum) and more detailed than most -- probably because of the length of his coma. His understanding of the connection between this life and the next was clear and profound. I have a friend whose mother is seriously ill, comatose, and possibly dying. She asked me yesterday if I knew what would happen to her mother when she dies. I am taking my copy of this book to her tonight as I know it will comfort her. I would heartily recommend this book and Lance's message that love and service should guide all our actions, and that family is of great importance, both in this life and in the next.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Anonymous

    Very disapointing, not worth the money

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    the best book ever!

    this is the best book ever! i want this on my nook forever!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    While the author doesn't state his religion in the book, the sto

    While the author doesn't state his religion in the book, the story follows Mormon principles and
    while I don't have an issue with that I was a bit put-off by the subliminal proselytizing.
    Also, the fact that America is the chosen county - so to speak  - was laughable. And I am
    American! I don't really think God has a chosen country for  Heaven on earth. Also, the way the author
    quotes his characters is not believable. And lastly, the author  did not have a NDE considering he
     never died  when he claims to have had his NDE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Best read in a long time

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    It was ok

    The book was ok it was not very believable but it had a good message one which we should all get.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Thought-provoking

    Very thought-provoking. Enjoyed every minute of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    My sister past away in a unfourtenet accident a gew months ago. It was

    Hhdgejsbhy

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    My sister passed away in an unfortunate accident a few months ag

    My sister passed away in an unfortunate accident a few months ago. This book was given to me as a gift. Reading it brought so much peace and clarity about life and greatly reduced my grieving of loosing a best friend and sister. I know there is a hereafter because I have felt moments of peace where I have deeply felt my sister's presence at my side. I felt from her that she did have an understanding of the painful experiences I was going through. I felt happy for her being in such a wonderful place. I would recommend this book to anyone grieving for a lost friend or relative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Highly recommended - worth the time to read.

    Service is our way of showing LOVE. If you have ever believed in "Angles among us" this book will reinforce your feelings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing Life-Affirming & Motivational Experience!!!!

    The Message by Lance Richardson

    My good friend and former VT highly recommended this amazing book to me a few months ago and found that my regional library had a copy, so checcked it out. Since I wanted my own copy and two of Lance's other b ooks, I called Lance's widow Jozete to request review copies and she sent them to me. I read the library copy and loaned my copy to my caregiver and close friend from another ward here.

    Since I have read several near death experience books over the past serveral years, I found this book so inspiring, and so comforting, since I am a recent widow. For those who have strayed or lost their faith, this is the book to bring your life around, as it gives us strength and hope to what lies ahead after we leave this frail existence.

    While in Finland years earlier, Lance contracted Crohn's Disease, which left him severely ill, having to go through over 30 surgeries and several others for other problems, having 100 stays in the hospital. On Christmas Day 1998, Lance had bought a used snowmobile and motorcycle for his two oldest sons and because the motorcycle wouldn't start, got his neighbor to fix it, so he decided to try it out, when it slid on some ice out of the driveway going only 5-10 mph. He was always told not to overdo, but this time, he ended up in more serious condition than ever before.

    While in the hospital, after surgery, Lance, while in a coma for three months, experienced three different journeys to the spirit world, being able to reunite with his deceased cousin who was his spiritual guide through many glorious truths regarding the afterlife. He was able to find through his journeys a better understanding of the importance of families and America's future. He was taught through some spirits that served in long ago wars the most important principle of their society of peace, which if followed by the people of Our great nation, would rescue us from self-destruction.

    Lance was totally amazed at how we in the spirit world can communicate through our thoughts with each other and the same with animals. The scriptures tell us we will be able to lie down with the lamb and the lion peacefully and be able to communicate our feelings with one another with hugs.

    Since I recently became a widow, this book gave me so much more than hope, it has given me a more deeper understanding of what I will experience when reuniting with my eternal companion and my other family relatives and ancestors. I can hardly wait, though I now know that Bob is here for me when I need his guidance. The veil is so ever thin, brothers and sisters. This is a must read for anyone who doubts about an after-life, or those who just need that affirmation that we are that close to the Lord and Savior coming to earth again in all His glory.

    Forever Friends Rating A Huge 5 Stars by Teri
    Until Next Time, See You Around The Book Nook.

    I checked this book out from my Mid-Columbia Library,
    also received a Review Copy from Jozete Richardson,
    Lance's widow, who has recently remarried.

    Published by: American Family Institute
    Date Published: December 2000
    ISBN: 1-889025-04-6
    155pp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2004

    Awesome and full of great comfort

    A family member gave me this book some months after my husband passed away. I found great comfort in the message and story of the book. I was so encouraged after I read this book that I bought several copies and now give it to those who have been through situations similar to my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2003

    Excellent!

    Full of hope and very uplifting. I was somewhat skeptical at the whole premise of the book at first, but am glad I ended up reading it. Being a teenager I don't always read this type of stuff, usually fantasy and Sci-Fi, but this was one read worth my time. Wasn't preachy in the least. I liked it so much that I'm going to order one of his other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2003

    Great Insight -A Must Read

    This book was wonderful. It has helped me change my priorities in this life and it was very insightful. My copy has been passed around to my family and friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2001

    VERY thought provoking

    After reading the book, I wondered who might be the angels watching over me? I know of many teenagers who have enjoyed it more than some adults. My copy has been passed around to quite a circle of people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2001

    WOW WHAT AN INSPIRATION BOOK

    This book is great for insight about life after death. It reminds us that we do have angels above watching over us. This definately is a MUST read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2001

    Great insight into the life hereafter

    Great book about death and life. It really makes you think about the moment that someone dies and what is going through their mind. I wasn't thrilled with the ending, somewhat anticlimatic. Overall, great book and very insightful.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2