Customer Reviews for

Message Bible

Average Rating 4.5
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

On my color nook

I had been looking for a bible that didnt need a wifi connection. I love the one on my android phone...YouVersion Holy Bible, and was searching for something similar. Purchased this one in a rush before leaving for church. And let me tell ya its Great! It really makes t...
I had been looking for a bible that didnt need a wifi connection. I love the one on my android phone...YouVersion Holy Bible, and was searching for something similar. Purchased this one in a rush before leaving for church. And let me tell ya its Great! It really makes the bible more fun to read in this version/translation. Money well spent, love the features! Buy it! Five Stars!

posted by 4127122 on July 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

NIV displays!

No matter what I do, NIV version displays. I love this bible app, but I already have it in NIV version. I really wish I could get the Message version I paid for.

posted by 8246102 on November 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    On my color nook

    I had been looking for a bible that didnt need a wifi connection. I love the one on my android phone...YouVersion Holy Bible, and was searching for something similar. Purchased this one in a rush before leaving for church. And let me tell ya its Great! It really makes the bible more fun to read in this version/translation. Money well spent, love the features! Buy it! Five Stars!

    38 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Great Bible App!

    This app is so quick and easy to navigate. I am very pleased to have a Bible on my nook that I can quickly get to the verse I need to turn to before the speaker moves on. Yay!

    23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Get this

    Exceedingly better than NC bibles as books. The Bible lends itself to being accesible as an app. Almost as good as Youversion for android, but this company seems to be new. Do not buy the bible in book form.... get this instead! To developer..... would like to see a customizable reading plan... others have this, so i bet you are working on it.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    NIV displays!

    No matter what I do, NIV version displays. I love this bible app, but I already have it in NIV version. I really wish I could get the Message version I paid for.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    NIV 1984 - but great App

    Great app, MUCH better then the book version - but it's only NIV 1984, not the new 2011 version.

    Even though publication date says June 2011...

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Anonymous

    I love the ease of navigating from one book to another. I'm glad I purchased this version of The Message Bible. I love that I am able to reference with other verions of the Bible in the same program with ease.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Great software

    I highly recommend the software - it is very easy to use and works well on my Nook Color. And I love the The Message translation,

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Great app!

    This Bible app is so easy to use. I like how quickly I can jump around, take notes, highlight, and bookmark verses that mean a lot to me. I can even compare translations side by side when wi-fi is enabled. Definitely worth the money!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Wonderful

    The message bible is a wonderful version. Definitely spirit filled and eye opening, reccomend to everyone!!!!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Awesome

    This bible app is great because you have day and night mode, underlining, bookmarks,and highlighting

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Love to read this version.

    It is an easy read. Have read the New King James. This is a nice change.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Amazing

    This is great couldnt live without it

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Easy to use. Just wish for red letter addition

    Love it .... please add RED LETTER upgrade. That would make this app near perfect!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    The Message Bible is a great addition to my library.

    The Message Bible is a tool I'm using to read the Bible cover to cover again. I love the simple, modern-day English and the way the verses are grouped together. I have the version where all the verses aren't individually numbered, which works great for the purpose I'm using it. I'm buying it for my grandchildren who are too mature for children's Bibles but get frustrated trying to read NKJV & NIV versions. So far I haven't run into any of the inaccuracies I ran into when I tried to use the Living Bible when it came out.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Love it

    So easy to navigate. I started with one version and added 3 more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    great way to read the Bible

    This is a wonderful and fun way to read the Bible. The Bible is a great book to give us guidance and direction in every aspect of our lives.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Fantastic app

    I've been using this app for about a year and I love it. I spend about an hour each morning in bible study. If I'm confused in NKJV a simple click will take me to The Message or to NIV or to a commentary. I'm able to keep notes, highlights, favorite verses, etc. This app works well for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Review

    This app is awesome. It puts the word in such plain language that a child could understand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!!!!!

    Love, love, love this version! It ministers to me so sweetly and it gets RIGHT TO THE POINT!!! REALLY HITS MY HEART WITH THE TRUTH and I cant say enough good about it. My walk with LORD Is strong as I am able to understand JUST what HOLY SPIRIT wants to say to me with such reading ease.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    A really superb tool

    I was skeptical initially, because nothing could equal a wide margin printed Bible. I could highlighlight and write all my notes in the sides. But then to discover that I could do all that on the Nook thru this app, and simultaneously access other versions and commentaries makes this app unparalled to anything else in this range.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5