Customer Reviews for

Message in a Bottle

Average Rating 4.5
( 562 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(372)

4 Star

(123)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Don't miss this one!

Couldn't put it down - forget the TV version - as usual, the book tops it.

posted by 6434648 on January 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Book!

I really enjoyed reading this book right up until the end! I wanted a happy ending....why do all Nicholas Sparks books have to end sadly? I really enjoy his books, but sometimes I think the endings are a little much! It's ok to have a happy ending every now and then!...
I really enjoyed reading this book right up until the end! I wanted a happy ending....why do all Nicholas Sparks books have to end sadly? I really enjoy his books, but sometimes I think the endings are a little much! It's ok to have a happy ending every now and then! I still love most of his books though!!

posted by cparker06 on January 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 564 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Don't miss this one!

    Couldn't put it down - forget the TV version - as usual, the book tops it.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    SPARKS FAN

    In Message in a Bottle Nicholas Sparks has found a way to grasp your heart in this tragic, yet happy love story. If The Notebook was a sad story then this one will leave you crying for hours. With the love between Theresa and Garrett, the ending of the book seems to take a dramatic twist that you would have never seen coming from the first time that Theresa met Garrett. This was a book that I enjoyed to read and found out that once I picked up the book I couldn't put it down. The ending might have been tragic but the overall theme seems to remain clear. I highly recommend this book to anyone who has lost a love before, or even fallen in love. Sparks always finds that way to leaving you weeping at the end. This was once again, another wonderful book by Sparks. I love the tear-jerkers.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    I loved it

    I am only 12 years old, and i love romance novels. But i have to say that when i read the letters they made me cry. I cried mostly toward the end of the book. I THINK YOU SHOULD READ IT:')

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    This a wonderful book and I would recommend it to people that lo

    This a wonderful book and I would recommend it to people that love a love story. The main character Theresa is a single mom that finds a message in a bottle on the beach while on vacation. She loves the message and posts it in her column. When she gets back from her vacation a lady calls and tells her she a letter written by the same person. Theresa then finds another message through work. When she finds all three, she decides she wants to meet the author of the beautiful messages. The book is a bit predictable but still very good. Toward the end I was crying my eyes out! It is absolutely a page turner.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Great Book

    Great Book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Luv book hate movie!

    This book is yet another one of my fave nicholas sparks books. Still getting over the ending. Nic gives this book a few twists that u dint expect yet kind of do.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Aaa

    No

    2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Message in a Bottle

    It was not my favorite from Mr Sparks, but still a really good read. It dragged in a lot of spots for me and seemed like idol chit chat between characters through most of the dialog. Yet, when I got to the end I was in awe. I was not expecting the ending and was overwhelmed with emotion. If he did not throw a lot of the dialog in there I do not know if the ending would have been that powerful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Great book

    I cried, sad but good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    good

    Beautifully romantic. Deeply touched

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Good Book!

    I really enjoyed reading this book right up until the end! I wanted a happy ending....why do all Nicholas Sparks books have to end sadly? I really enjoy his books, but sometimes I think the endings are a little much! It's ok to have a happy ending every now and then! I still love most of his books though!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    what I needed

    A wonderful escape. Didn't have to think too hard just let the feelings run on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Message in a Bottle Review

    Message in a Bottle is about Theresa Osborne, a columnist for the Boston Times, and her life as a working single mother on a journey to find love after her divorce that took place three years prior to the book's time setting. Theresa finds a message in a bottle while she was on vacation and was surprised at the romantic and touching words she found scripted on the paper from what seemed to be written by a husband, Garrett, to his deceased wife, Catherine. After following the advice of her mentor, Deanna, Theresa published the letter in her article hoping it would capture the hearts of some daily readers, which it did. Theresa comes across two more letters by the same man who she ends up researching because his letters got her interested to see if he is the hopeless romantic she has desired in a mate. Without telling him why she is there or how she knows who he is, Theresa tracks Garrett down and soon enough they are pursuing a romantic relationship. The novel tells the story and battle they face of falling in love, Garrett's fight to let the past go, and attempting to maintain a long distance relationship. Everything is going steady between the two until Garrett finds the letters in Theresa's apartment and is appalled at the idea that she hid this from him which resulted in him leaving her and their relationship changing forever.
    I personally thought this was a good book. The content kept me interested and wanting to find out what would happen next. However, I didn't like how some chapters were extremely long and it seemed like I would never finish them. This novel isn't particularly one of my favorites because it seems that it would attract adults more than teenagers. Also, the ending was very frustrating and made me not like the book as much as a whole.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Blueheart

    [Sorry had garage/bake sale and wifi is still horrible] looks down and says "Oh"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Amberleaf

    "I do not have a mate."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Cyrus Bio

    Is at cloud res 1, hira res 1, and bridges res 1!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    a must read

    what can I say about Nicholas sparks other than he is a great writer.
    message in a bottle is a must read it will keep you very much interested! I loved it and I love Nicholas sparks what talent he has.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    A statement

    One of the original message centers was Ink's at "mailbox". I remember it started in the summer of 2013, or maybe it was 2012? It was recently restarted then kinda shut down... idk why. Anyway, just a little history for ya. C: <p>
    ~A Someone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Message

    Can you wriw Neko at all too human a Love letter signed by your secret admirerer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Message

    Can you tell the people at 'lp' result 3 that Aster won't be on tonight because of a sleepover? Tell them not to kill her, too. Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 564 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29