Customer Reviews for

Message in a Bottle

Average Rating 4.5
( 563 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(373)

4 Star

(124)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

SPARKS FAN

In Message in a Bottle Nicholas Sparks has found a way to grasp your heart in this tragic, yet happy love story. If The Notebook was a sad story then this one will leave you crying for hours. With the love between Theresa and Garrett, the ending of the book seems to tak...
In Message in a Bottle Nicholas Sparks has found a way to grasp your heart in this tragic, yet happy love story. If The Notebook was a sad story then this one will leave you crying for hours. With the love between Theresa and Garrett, the ending of the book seems to take a dramatic twist that you would have never seen coming from the first time that Theresa met Garrett. This was a book that I enjoyed to read and found out that once I picked up the book I couldn't put it down. The ending might have been tragic but the overall theme seems to remain clear. I highly recommend this book to anyone who has lost a love before, or even fallen in love. Sparks always finds that way to leaving you weeping at the end. This was once again, another wonderful book by Sparks. I love the tear-jerkers.

posted by Maria_of_amor on August 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Book!

I really enjoyed reading this book right up until the end! I wanted a happy ending....why do all Nicholas Sparks books have to end sadly? I really enjoy his books, but sometimes I think the endings are a little much! It's ok to have a happy ending every now and then!...
I really enjoyed reading this book right up until the end! I wanted a happy ending....why do all Nicholas Sparks books have to end sadly? I really enjoy his books, but sometimes I think the endings are a little much! It's ok to have a happy ending every now and then! I still love most of his books though!!

posted by cparker06 on January 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted August 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Message in a Bottle is my third time this author. I went in know

    Message in a Bottle is my third time this author. I went in knowing his beautiful way of writing sad and romantic stories containing
    characters that just cannot be together for some reason or other. I braced myself for reading this one but I still teared up in the end.
    One line did it, but I can't reveal it here because to do so would be a spoiler.
    The writing flows smoothly, as I find with all this author's novels, and the storyline was bittersweet and romantic.
    The ocean-side setting, the love letters and the broken hearts just blended perfectly here. These characters seemed like real people
    with mixed emotions and inner struggles. This is a story about true love and destiny.
    I recommend Message in a Bottle if you are a fan of well written romantic tear jerkers.
    Thank you Nicholas Sparks for taking my heart and breaking it a little, again.

    disclaimer:
    This review is my honest opinion. I did not receive any type of compensation for reading and reviewing this book.
     While I receive free books from publishers and authors, I am under no obligation to write a positive review.
    I purchased my copy of Message in a Bottle by Nicholas Sparks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Message in a Bottle

    It was not my favorite from Mr Sparks, but still a really good read. It dragged in a lot of spots for me and seemed like idol chit chat between characters through most of the dialog. Yet, when I got to the end I was in awe. I was not expecting the ending and was overwhelmed with emotion. If he did not throw a lot of the dialog in there I do not know if the ending would have been that powerful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Great book

    I cried, sad but good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I am a huge fan of Nicholas Spark's books, but this was not one

    I am a huge fan of Nicholas Spark's books, but this was not one of my favorites. Some of the chapters were very long, and the ending did nothing for me (I would have LOVED to see a happy ending). But, this was a pretty good book otherwise. The characters are lovable, readers will find themselves wishing for the best and feeling very hopeful, and the love was pure and radiating out of the book. Fans of the genre should pick this one up. But, I do recommend some of his later novels to this one. For example, "The Lucky One", "and Safe Haven".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Another Sparks Tearjerker

    Another great read by Sparks. Although through no fault of the author, i wish Barnes and Noble would not publish spoilers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2013

    A great read!

    I really enjoyed this story, even though the ending was sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Like it

    So so sad saw the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    VERY good!

    Another awesome book by Nicholas Sparks. One of his best! Surprise ending that I did not expect too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    Message in a Bottle is about a lady named Theresa, a columnist f

    Message in a Bottle is about a lady named Theresa, a columnist for a newspaper in Boston. She is a single mother and she is basically looking for a love since her divorce three years ago. One day, while on a run on during her break on the beach Theresa finds a message in a bottle. It is a love letter meant for a women named Catherine from a man named Garrett. She is very moved by the letter and is very interested in it. Her friend Deana convinces her to publish it in her column because she thought it would catch the hearts of any readers as well as it did her. So she does it. She eventually comes across two more letters by the same man who she searches for because his letters made her wonder if he is the type of romantic guy she has been waiting for. She eventually finds him and doesn't tell him why she's there but they do end up in a relationship. I liked this book because it's a story of love. Garrett really fights to let go of the past between him and his dead wife and keep a long distance relationship with Theresa. Everything was going good between them until Garrett finds the letters in her apartment and is very angry that she hid this from him. This made him leave her, him being so furious.
    I thought this was a really good book. The content made me really interested and made me just want to know what would happen next. I didn't like how some chapters were really long compared to others. Also, the ending was really frustrating and made me not enjoy the book as much as I would with an alternate ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Good

    Was a very good book i enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Just wonderful

    I smiled - I cried - I loved it - And I didnt put it down - Nick Sparks through and through

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Great Love Story

    Message in a Bottle was a great book. I have never read any Nicholas Sparks books but after reading this, I'm going to be reading more. It is such a romantic story and it kept me wanting more. I would stay up until way past when I needed to go to bed because I could not put it down. The only reason I didn't give it a full 5* is because I felt in a few places it kind of dragged on. But it was great! A beautiful love story for anyone who's a romantic at heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    Recommended for a love story

    Message in a bottle is a wonderful book. It opens with the travels of a certain bottle that changed a single mother's life. Theresa Osborn went on vacation when she realized how lonely she was without her twelve year old son with her, so she packed a small bag and went on vacation for a few days. While on the beach at Cape Cod she found a bottle on the beach and found a letter inside it. The words in the letter touched her deeply and as her curiosity grew she found more letters writing by the same man to the same women. She followed the advice of her fellow coworker and good friend and decided to go look for the mysterious man in the letter. All this happens within the few first chapters and only gets better. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who wants to read a love story that keeps you interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2010

    Great read!

    Excellent book, would def recommend! One of Sparks' best books. The ending was a Big Surprise! Hope everyone enjoys this as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sparks <3 I love his novels!

    I must say, I didn't expect it to be this great! I was debating whether to read it or not, since I have seen the movie years ago. I know that books are always better. But I'm just not that big on seeing or reading things a second time. So I randomly picked it out of my collection of NS novels. Once I begun reading it, I literally couldn't put it down. I was shocked however, because it doesn't matter how good of a book; I can usually put it down without thinking about it. ...this case was different. I keep thinking, picking it back up. I mean it totally grabbed my attention. And since I seen the movie years ago, it was fresh and new. I knew the ending, but cried anyways. I'm not going to say this is my favorite Spark's novel because I lovvvved Dear John. But this is something that must be read by ALL Sparks fans. Take it from me, it's worth it! Happy Reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sparks has made my eyes tear-AGAIN!

    This book is very original and as romantic as any book can get! This book will keep you flipping through pages and will suck you in once you get past page 1. Very happy and romantic throughout except the ending. Made me cry for an hour. These books always have depressing endings. All in all a very VERY good book and I recommend it to anyone that loves romatic tear-jerkers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Nicholas Sparks always delivers...

    You can't go wrong with a Nicholas Sparks book. (If you like a good love story). Message In A Bottle was a sweet love story. The ending is a little unexpected, but overall it was amazing. It shows you to not ever give up on love, you can find it when you least expect it! The characters are awesome. Garrett can't get over his lost love, Catherine. I wish he wouldn't have been so hung up on her throughout the book...but I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Book!

    This was a really good book...except for the ending. It was sooo frustrating to make it all the way to the end with such high hopes for Theresa and Garret just to have it turn out the way it did. :( All in all however, I did enjoy reading it and didn't want to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    Very good!

    i really liked this book. nicholas sparks is my favorite author and this has been my favorite book of his so far. i recommend it to anyone who likes a good romance, and thriller. it keeps you guessing the entire book. i really enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Three and a half stars.

    Simply not what I was expecting from such a well known writer. Three and a half stars. In English class, I always learned to "show, not tell" when writing. When that is your rule of thumb, you'll write a moving piece of literature, even if you're not completely skillful. Sparks is the master of telling without showing.<BR/>I'm honestly baffled by all the good reviews it gets. The story is somewhat engaging, but with no payoff. But the work is filled with passages like (and these are from memory; if I picked up the book to look for verbatim examples I'd have to type the entire thing), "He went to the refrigerator, opened the door, and took a beer. After opening it, he sat down on the back deck." Or, "Though she was overweight, she moved quickly around the table." "She got out of the shower, dried off, and put on khaki shorts and a white cotton shirt." Have you read enough yet?<BR/>I'm new to the romance genre. My mother-in-law recommended Sparks because -- I think she was trying to imply -- his sex scenes aren't too graphic. They were to me, but then, I'm new to romance, and spoiled by the masterful, unequaled storytelling skill of Stephen King.<BR/>Please hold your New York Times bestsellers to a higher standard. Let's hold on to whatever quality control we can in music, movies, and literature. Try Steven King or K S Michaels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7