Customer Reviews for

Message in a Bottle

Average Rating 4.5
( 555 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(368)

4 Star

(121)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Don't miss this one!

Couldn't put it down - forget the TV version - as usual, the book tops it.

posted by 6434648 on January 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Book!

I really enjoyed reading this book right up until the end! I wanted a happy ending....why do all Nicholas Sparks books have to end sadly? I really enjoy his books, but sometimes I think the endings are a little much! It's ok to have a happy ending every now and then!...
I really enjoyed reading this book right up until the end! I wanted a happy ending....why do all Nicholas Sparks books have to end sadly? I really enjoy his books, but sometimes I think the endings are a little much! It's ok to have a happy ending every now and then! I still love most of his books though!!

posted by cparker06 on January 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 368 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    Amazing

    Its an amazing book absolutely beautiful. It will making you smile and cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    Great!

    Great book. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Great and emotional

    It is amazing and makes you want to go to te beaach and find a bottle wth a message so that u to will fall in love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    sooooo addicting

    I sat at home and read the whole book over a few hours, I could simply not put it down! Nicholas Sparks has such a way with words that keeps you intrigued and wondering what is going to happen next. Such a beautiful story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    loved the ending

    the beginning was a little slow to get to the climax, but the ending was spectacular. i won't give out to much detail but it's about this guy who lost his wife and the way he remembers her is by writing a letter to her and putting the message in a bottle. this lady who just so happens to be running on the beach finds it and searches for the guy who wrote this. she finds him and a relationship begins. the ending is extremely shocking but you will love it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    Awesome !

    I am thirteen years old and am a huge fan of Nicholas Sparks ,this is an amazing novel. Fell in love immediatly ! YOU MUST READ IT ! Won't regret a bit of it (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It made me ball in tears!!

    This book got me tearing up. I love Nicholas Sparks book they always seem to make pull you into the store and make you feel as if you are the character in that book. Again, Love Love LOVE this book. If you are an emotional reader like me then definitely pick this one up or any of nicholas sparks books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    oops! Nick did it again!

    I was mesmerised with the story. It was addicting i couldn't put the book down. I hated the ending but will contnue to read his stories. NO ONE LIKE NICK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    Amazing

    Wonderful story. Couldnt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Best one

    This was the first Sparks book I read and it is by far the best of all. Love, love it! Be ready to smile and cry! Heartbreaking and wonderful all rolled together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    AMAZING!!!!

    Nicholas Sparks' books always leave me in tears. But because of that I'm in love with every single of his books I've read. So far Message in a Bottle has been my favorite of all!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Beautiful!

    Nicholas Sparks story 'Message in a Bottle' is a beautiful story for all those who read it. I wanted to read every single page so much that i had finished it in 2 days! Buying this book WAS worth the price. If I didn't have my nook color, I don't know how I could have read it in the hours I was reading it without some light.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    what a tier jurker!!!!!!!!!!

    I absolutley loved this book !! It really kept you interested! I couldnt wait to turn the page!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    nicholas is awesome!

    this book is amazing! this was the first nicholas sparks book ive read!i recomend it to all!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    Beautiful & Romantic

    I fell in love with Garrett and Theresa. It is beautiful story of two people finding love again. I was anxious for Theresa when she searched for him and was elated when she found him. I love Garret's shyness and gentleness, but I was going nuts with his character because he couldn't let go of Catherine. He was struggling with this even though he was falling in love with Theresa. When I read the end of the book, I was furious with him because I felt he was foolish and selfish to go out in the storm and send his last note to Catherine. I screamed and threw the book on the floor. Although I was furious, I did calm down. I guess I was too involved in the book. It is a very beautiful, romantic and sad book, I loved it. Nicholas Sparks did it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Great heartwarming story

    I am a big fan of Nicholas Sparks books and have read several in the past several months. I have to say that to me this was one of his best books. It is a tender love story that you will not want to put down. It is romantic and warms the heart in ways which you do not expect. It will leave you feeling for the characters for days after you have finished reading the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Beautiful love story

    I saw this movie years ago and my friend gave me the book and said you have to read it. I was skeptical since I had already seen the movie and was afraid I wouldn't enjoy the book because I would already know what to expect. I also, had never read a Nicholas Sparks book before. I really enjoyed it. I thought it was written very well, I definately will read more of his books and even though I had seen the movie I couldn't put the book down. Ii was a very sad love story but a very good one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    Review

    Through out the novel, Sparks really uses strong examples of true relationship dilemmas. I feel that this book is more then a story, and could be used as insight for anyone in a similar position. Furthermore, I feel that people can actually relate to the plot and the emotion the characters felt through out. It hurts to lose someone close to you, and "The Message in a Bottle" tells a story of loss and gain. Overall, it was a quick read, simple and straight to the point with a powerful impact.
    Sparks was very successful at creating the individual personalities with ordinary traits. However, I feel that it might have been a stretch from reality, but the feelings and emotions are definitely there. At times, the plot will come off as very frustrating or even too quick, but it will most definitely grab the readers interest. The ending was unpredictable - to me, even upsetting, but still just as good from start to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Rosencrans 4th Period

    Message In A Bottle by Nicolas Sparks is one of my top favorite books ever! Message in a Bottle is one of the most romantic and most touching love storied I have ever read. This book brought me to tears, as I read through. Theresa Osbore is the main character and she finds a bottle on the beach with a letter signed by a guy named Garrett. She was absolutely amazingly touched by the letter and determined to find this special mysterious man. Each and every character in this book is wonderful and they are very strong. Through every problem that comes up they try to make the best and possible choice. On the end Teresa is faced with a very difficult decision. The question is, if she made the right decision? This book is absolutely amazing and I would reccomend this to anyone and everyone! I would give this a 10. From the first time I picked up the book, I couldn't ever put it down. There was never a dull moment. This was an amazing book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My #1 Favorite of all time

    This is my top #1 favorite book. One of the most touching and romantic love stories. I cried, I mean sobbed, as I read this book. Theresa Osborne finds a bottle with a bottle along the beach with a letter signed Garrett. She was touched by the letter and desperate to find this mysterious man. The characters in this book are amazing, each are strong and try to handle everything the right way. Theresa was faced with a decision, but did she handle it the correct way? Or will is cost her something? Message in a Bottle is guaranteed the best book you will ever lay hands on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 368 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 19