Customer Reviews for

Message in a Bottle

Average Rating 4.5
( 562 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(372)

4 Star

(124)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Don't miss this one!

Couldn't put it down - forget the TV version - as usual, the book tops it.

posted by 6434648 on January 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Book!

I really enjoyed reading this book right up until the end! I wanted a happy ending....why do all Nicholas Sparks books have to end sadly? I really enjoy his books, but sometimes I think the endings are a little much! It's ok to have a happy ending every now and then!...
I really enjoyed reading this book right up until the end! I wanted a happy ending....why do all Nicholas Sparks books have to end sadly? I really enjoy his books, but sometimes I think the endings are a little much! It's ok to have a happy ending every now and then! I still love most of his books though!!

posted by cparker06 on January 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 564 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 29
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    kupcake

    The first Nickolas Sparks book that i read.....loved hom from the begging zstill love him now
    P.S.did any of you know that cows are going to take over the world...so dont offer them y hamburgers they might nottice that the meat was his wife:}

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Love the books

    You will want to read more of his books when you done reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    One of his best

    I could not put it down . Cried at the ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Do not base on movie!

    Book is great but movie was disappointing. My 2nd favorite by Sparks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    VERY good!

    Another awesome book by Nicholas Sparks. One of his best! Surprise ending that I did not expect too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    MESSAGE IN A BOTTLEG MESSAGE IN A BOTTLE

    Great summer read.
    VJ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Agreed with ending

    Theresa was too selfish and didn't deserve Garrett

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    "Curse you Nicholas Sparks!" That's what I yelled when

    "Curse you Nicholas Sparks!" That's what I yelled when I realized what he was going to do to our hero. Another reviewer says, "Sparks always finds that way to leaving you weeping at the end." This folks, is the mark of a hack writer. Somehow, he's figured out that he doesn't need his story to make sense or his characters to remain consistent, all he has to do is make the reader cry. The fact that this book has 327 5 star ratings shows that most people have fallen for his ploy.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Love

    My favorite Nicholas Sparks book, great book!!! Must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    3 stars

    This book was very freshing . It showed me that anything is possible . You should always chase after what you want.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Message in a Bottle is the first book I read by Nicholas Sparks,

    Message in a Bottle is the first book I read by Nicholas Sparks, and I was immediately hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Great Story

    Highly Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    Message in a Bottle is about a lady named Theresa, a columnist f

    Message in a Bottle is about a lady named Theresa, a columnist for a newspaper in Boston. She is a single mother and she is basically looking for a love since her divorce three years ago. One day, while on a run on during her break on the beach Theresa finds a message in a bottle. It is a love letter meant for a women named Catherine from a man named Garrett. She is very moved by the letter and is very interested in it. Her friend Deana convinces her to publish it in her column because she thought it would catch the hearts of any readers as well as it did her. So she does it. She eventually comes across two more letters by the same man who she searches for because his letters made her wonder if he is the type of romantic guy she has been waiting for. She eventually finds him and doesn't tell him why she's there but they do end up in a relationship. I liked this book because it's a story of love. Garrett really fights to let go of the past between him and his dead wife and keep a long distance relationship with Theresa. Everything was going good between them until Garrett finds the letters in her apartment and is very angry that she hid this from him. This made him leave her, him being so furious.
    I thought this was a really good book. The content made me really interested and made me just want to know what would happen next. I didn't like how some chapters were really long compared to others. Also, the ending was really frustrating and made me not enjoy the book as much as I would with an alternate ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Good

    Was a very good book i enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Questions!

    What age would you recommend reading this. How many pages are in it?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    AHHHMAZING

    Besides Dear John this has to be one of my favorite books! Im not a big fan of reading, but I couldnt stop reading this. I 100% recommend this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    My new best friend...

    I am just kidding...i have best friends but what i mean is that this is the new best book. However i had never read any other Nickolas Sparks's books. I smiled i cryed...it made me feel the passion in the book. It is the kind of book that makes you want to read more andnfind out what happens. During thentime i read this, i could never in a million years put down while i was reading it. I hope you enjoy the book as mich as i do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Love it!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Love is when you find a true person who makes you happy.

    Nicholas Spark's book, "Message in a bottle" was inspired by the love letters that his wife Catherine and himself shared while in college. Nicholas Sparks is well known for his award winning love novels that come with a true story of love. A man writes love letters to his deceased wife and throws the bottles in the ocean hoping to never lose his wife fully. Theresa stubbles upon a love letter in a bottle and set out to find Garrett in search to see what kind of man writes such touching words. Their love for each other grows stronger each day that passes. They get all tangled up in love, emotions, anger, fear, and each other. They learn more about their weaknesses and that if someone makes you happy to never let them go. This book has a great ending that will make you tear up. The letters that Garrett wrote were touching and tear jerking, that a man could have so much love for one woman. The lives of two strangers change into a beautiful love story. The book explores the hardships everyone faces in a relationship and that no relationship is perfect. I recommend any age group to read this inspiring love story. There is always true love out there for everyone, you just have let your heart open up and take a chance with them. "I think it goes back to a deep-seeded human need to be loved unconditionally" stated by Nicholas Spark. This book helps me to understand what true lave is and how you should feel with that significant other. Love happens in mysterious ways that sometimes no one can explain. I enjoyed reading this book and encourage everyone to open their hearts and read "Message in a Bottle."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    Luv dis book

    This book is the best book ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 564 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 29