Customer Reviews for

Messenger

Average Rating 4
( 343 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(190)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Basic review

While reading 'Messenger' by Lois Lowry, I was interested in the book after the first chapter with its connections to its previous books, new plot line & setting, and its exciting start. All of the characters come together into one book, but this is not noticabl...
While reading 'Messenger' by Lois Lowry, I was interested in the book after the first chapter with its connections to its previous books, new plot line & setting, and its exciting start. All of the characters come together into one book, but this is not noticable right away. From both 'The Giver' and 'Gathering Blue', things start to fall into place. While reading both 'The Giver' and 'Gathering Blue', it was hard to understand some consepts and some things didn't make sense. This occured at the beginning of 'Messenger' as well, but it incorperated all 3 books into one enjoyable read of adventure and romance. The writing style of this book has made me even more interested to read it because it makes you feel like you are there, experiencing everything on the sidelines, like a director behind the scenes of a movie. While reading 'Messenger', it was hard to put the book down. Before I knew it, i could have been reading for 3 hours straight and be almost finished with the book. This book is a great read if you like action and adventure with new twists every few chapters. I really enjoyed this book because it kept me thinking, and never really being sure of what would happen next.

posted by Anonymous on February 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Get to the point

Im sick and tired of looking at the reviews to see if a book is worth my time and money to only see every review is an over view of the story. If i wanted to know what happans in the story i would read it so can you stop spoiling it for the ones who havent read the book...
Im sick and tired of looking at the reviews to see if a book is worth my time and money to only see every review is an over view of the story. If i wanted to know what happans in the story i would read it so can you stop spoiling it for the ones who havent read the book and just tell me if its good or not!

posted by Anonymous on March 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 344 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2008

    Basic review

    While reading 'Messenger' by Lois Lowry, I was interested in the book after the first chapter with its connections to its previous books, new plot line & setting, and its exciting start. All of the characters come together into one book, but this is not noticable right away. From both 'The Giver' and 'Gathering Blue', things start to fall into place. While reading both 'The Giver' and 'Gathering Blue', it was hard to understand some consepts and some things didn't make sense. This occured at the beginning of 'Messenger' as well, but it incorperated all 3 books into one enjoyable read of adventure and romance. The writing style of this book has made me even more interested to read it because it makes you feel like you are there, experiencing everything on the sidelines, like a director behind the scenes of a movie. While reading 'Messenger', it was hard to put the book down. Before I knew it, i could have been reading for 3 hours straight and be almost finished with the book. This book is a great read if you like action and adventure with new twists every few chapters. I really enjoyed this book because it kept me thinking, and never really being sure of what would happen next.

    27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2008

    intense book

    I liked this book better than Gathering Blue, but less than The Giver. It was an interesting read and VERY intense!!! Only read this book if your up for a REALLY intense book.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Loved it!

    This is the final book of The Giver trilogy. It is a terrific dystopic/fantasy book pointing out the many temptations that lead us from true happiness. A wonderful trilogy that I would recommend to everyone ages 13 and up.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Tristan

    This book is amazing!!!!!!!!! The plot is never ending. It is also a page turner and will make you think. If you like books that are never ending action then you will love this book.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Get to the point

    Im sick and tired of looking at the reviews to see if a book is worth my time and money to only see every review is an over view of the story. If i wanted to know what happans in the story i would read it so can you stop spoiling it for the ones who havent read the book and just tell me if its good or not!

    8 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    To y

    I was lookin to c if i wanted to get this book thanks for the spoiler u dumba**!!!!!! >:-(

    5 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Wow

    This book was by far another powerful and passionate book. Just like The Giver and Gathering Blue there are strong messages that often arent explained. However the mystery of the concepts and messages make it more appealing and thought-provoking. It is a very intense book ti read and each if the preceding protagonists are brought together through accidental means. However, you will not be disappointed with it. Lowry never ceases to amaze me. There are so many depths of each of these books that it could be considered somewhat unappreciated.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    The messenger


    This book was really good overall. The ending dissappointed me alittle.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Messenger

    Is Jonas really the leader?

    3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    Gkfj

    Love it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    So?

    So all of these books flow together into one story? It uses the same charecters?

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    One of the best.

    Some people say this book "sucks" . But, I say it is great and that those people are liars. Who cares if it didn't have the best ending, it is still one of my favorite series ever.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2012

    I have read "The Giver" and then "Gathering Blue.

    I have read "The Giver" and then "Gathering Blue." While I don't think this one lives up to "The Giver", it is a good book. What I love about Lois Lowry's books is her unique way of telling a story with a powerful message that every reader interprets a little bit differently. Each reader takes away what he or she needs most. Many reviews for "Messenger" say the ending was bad. I won't spoil anything - but this novel ends much the same as life. Not everything in life ends in rainbows and unicorns!

    Readers need to remember that these are COMPANION books - not a series. We, as well as authors and the publishing world, have conditioned readers to read only books in a series and we forget, again, that life doesn't always happen that way. Different people are living different lives all simultaneously. What started with "The Giver" is successfully carried out in this book. I am quite interested in reading the final companion book "Son." And I don't expect anything - which is the BEST way to read and often ends with the best surprises!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Anonymous

    I know that in that in the Giver series The Giver comes first but I am not sure what book comes next, Gathering Blue or this book. Can someone tell me what the next book is?

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Lois Lowry's worst

    "The Giver" was one of those books that had a profound effect on me when I first read it ten years ago. "Gathering Blue" was a surprisingly different but worthy successor. Compared to those two, "Messenger" was a bitter disappointment. The strengths of those books were in the way the protagonists had to confront moral issues in the form of the societies they lived in, with these societies playing such allegorical roles that they became the primary antagonists. Here, unfortunately, Lowry chose to take a decidedly heavy-handed approach to this classic man vs. society formula, literally making the 'society' antagonist come alive (by means of a Whomping Willow-esque forest) and making character interactions almost insultingly simplistic. For example, the fact that people participating in "Trade Mart" suddenly and inevitably succumb to greed and selfishness is a not-very-subtle message saying, "Materialism is bad", though there is no reasoning, substance, or point to this message. The result is a story that is bland and nondescript (a village called Village, a leader called Leader, etc., but what IS this place exactly?), somewhat unbelievable (why is the forest the manifestation of the villagers' bad karma, and why can it be defeated so easily?) and utterly, infuriatingly preachy. In short, this book undermines the subtlety and complexity that the first two books were so enriched with, by throwing the characters we've come to know and love into a vaguely metaphorical and ludicrous personification of a society.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2008

    Teh Man Eating Forest

    My book the Messenger is about a boy named Matty that wants to be a messenger. Matty has a friend that is blind named, Leader, and they live together. Leader has been wanting his daughter, Kira, to come home but he can¿t get her because he is blind. Leader asked Matty to see if he could try and persuade her to come home. It took Matty a day to get to Kira¿s house. It took what seemed like a couple of days but was really only a day to finally get her to come home. When they were on their way back to the community, Village, the forest started to come alive.' hurting them' Matty and Kira suffered a lot of pain and weakness, but Matty has a power to reprieve themselves.

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Ugh

    The fourth book better fix all the flaws in giver and messenger like asap. This ending was awful.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    Exceptional book

    The Messenger is the 3rd book in the Giver series after The Giver and Gathering Blue. I have read all three books and the best book out of the three is The Giver, then Gathering Blue, and finally The Messenger. I don't like the title of the books because they never focus on the main point in the book. The Messenger is odd but successful because of the plot, storyline, and the suspense. It answers a few questions that we wonder about from the other books in the series. I would recommend this book for grades 5th and up because it has words that an 8th grader won't know but the 5th grade reader will still understand the whole story. I would also recommend it for 5th graders and up because it has some violence. A few examples are that a villager gets entangled by Forest and a lot of people in Village get injured from all of the attacks from Forest. This book focuses too much on the battle to get through the Forest to get to Village. The long journey through Forest was the worst part. It would have been better if the journey through Forest was shorter. The journey to get to Village takes up a good 5 chapters or so. But the beginning and the middle is awesome. Lois Lowry writes a few chapters full of science fiction which is pretty cool. The whole book isn't a book I would read over and over again, but it was exceptional book with a satisfying ending.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    GREAT BOOK!

    The Messenger
    By: Lois Lowry

    The messenger is overall a great book. It ties in very well with the series of the Giver. The beginning of the book may be a little boring, but as the book progresses it becomes very exciting. It's like eating a big, juicy hamburger. The first bite may not be as good, but towards the end it's the most brilliant thing you have ever eaten! This book is a good book, but the series is not appropriate for kids under 6th grade because they might not understand the story. The book may sound a little childish, because of matty's healing powers, but Lois Lowry doesn't make it seem cartoonish, she makes it feel like this it is reality not some cartoon. I would highly recommend it for the kids out there who are wasting there time watching TV or playing video games. This book changed my perspective in reading, on how so detailed Lois Lowry wrote this, the suspension in this book is so deep i couldn't stop reading until i met the end. Overall, this book was a great book.

    Joshua J Grade 7

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    Not the best

    The Messenger did not "live up to my expectations." I expected it would be more Kira and how she hanged her village she lived in, not some story about Matty discovering new secret powers and saving the world. After analyzing the book, I realized that it moved away from the science fiction theme in the first two books, Giver and Gathering Blue, to fantasy and super powers. The antagonist moved from imaginary beast in the forest to the "Forest" itself. Also, the ending leaves you with more questions than answers. I would not recommend this book for young readers. For older readers, I would recommend that you read the first two books before this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 344 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18