Customer Reviews for

Messenger

Average Rating 4
( 321 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(172)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Basic review

While reading 'Messenger' by Lois Lowry, I was interested in the book after the first chapter with its connections to its previous books, new plot line & setting, and its exciting start. All of the characters come together into one book, but this is not noticabl...
While reading 'Messenger' by Lois Lowry, I was interested in the book after the first chapter with its connections to its previous books, new plot line & setting, and its exciting start. All of the characters come together into one book, but this is not noticable right away. From both 'The Giver' and 'Gathering Blue', things start to fall into place. While reading both 'The Giver' and 'Gathering Blue', it was hard to understand some consepts and some things didn't make sense. This occured at the beginning of 'Messenger' as well, but it incorperated all 3 books into one enjoyable read of adventure and romance. The writing style of this book has made me even more interested to read it because it makes you feel like you are there, experiencing everything on the sidelines, like a director behind the scenes of a movie. While reading 'Messenger', it was hard to put the book down. Before I knew it, i could have been reading for 3 hours straight and be almost finished with the book. This book is a great read if you like action and adventure with new twists every few chapters. I really enjoyed this book because it kept me thinking, and never really being sure of what would happen next.

posted by Anonymous on February 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Get to the point

Im sick and tired of looking at the reviews to see if a book is worth my time and money to only see every review is an over view of the story. If i wanted to know what happans in the story i would read it so can you stop spoiling it for the ones who havent read the book...
Im sick and tired of looking at the reviews to see if a book is worth my time and money to only see every review is an over view of the story. If i wanted to know what happans in the story i would read it so can you stop spoiling it for the ones who havent read the book and just tell me if its good or not!

posted by Anonymous on March 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Ugh

    The fourth book better fix all the flaws in giver and messenger like asap. This ending was awful.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2007

    Good

    I found this disappointing because of the ending. It was'nt what i expected and i wish it ended differently. I realized that everything in the giver connected to the society Matty lived in. Like how Jonas was the leader of the village and the red sled was up on display and it was a very important object to the village. Worth reading but some points were very boring kinda like the rest of Lowery's books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    This book sucks

    I love The Giver. It has been one of my faves for twelve years since i first read it in 5th grade. If you love The Giver, i'd reccomend skipping the sequels. They ruin the whole story. Lois Lowry messed up on basic details from one book to the next and they just dont make sense to begin with. As a single book apart from the series, it's still not great, but better, which is the only reason why i gave two stars instead of one. I didn't know that The Giver was part of a series until today and i bought Gathering Blue, Messenger and preordered Son today. Then today i reread The Giver, then read Gathering Blue, then Messenger. Don't waste your money or time. I really hope that Son can somehow make up for all the suck-ness i just had crammed into my head from the past few hours. And i super wish i could get a friggin refund

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    highly disappointed

    I think the execution of this book was extremely poor. I loved the giver, and gathering blue was pretty good. The messenger was all over the place. I wish she would have stayed focused on the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Third Time is Not a Charm

    Har har. But seriously, this is Lowry's third installment in her Giver trilogy, and it comes across as condescending.

    The Giver was pretty groundbreaking, in its way. Gathering Blue was starting to wear on the nerves. Messenger is outright preachy, and the thinly veiled metaphors are just that - thin.

    Her protagonist is clearly a Jesus figure, giving the ultimate sacrifice to save an America stand-in from its struggles with immigration and environmentalism. The "be good or die" mantra of these books feels played out, and the edge is completely dulled by this third attempt.

    I admire Lowry's work in The Giver, but part of its excellence was that it stopped there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    Messenger Lois Lowry Weird

    In the beginning of the book the author introduces Matty as a teenage boy who has traveled to a village where everybody is nice and accepting. He lives with an old man named Seer who is ironically blind and has a daughter that lives in the village that Matty originally came from. Matty discovers something about him that he is scared of and cannot control. Matty is the only person in the village that can travel safely through Forest so he is often sent out to deliver messages to the other villages. Things start changing in the village in ways that nobody not even Leader can explain. People start getting less willing to help and animals get sick. Matty discovers that he can control his power to heal anything he can put his hands on, and he heals three dogs. Then his teacher Mentor starts changing and starts a movement to close Village to all outsiders. This creates trouble for Seer because his daughter has always said she would come and live with him when she got older, but now that village is about to close she has little time left. Matty goes to his old village where Kira lives to bring her back to Seer, but on his way there he notices that the forest is thickening and it is much harder to get through. When he gets to Kira's house he learns that she walks on a crutch and Matty offers to heal her leg with his gift, but she says no. Matty learns that she also has a gift. Then the climax happens and I can't tell you what that is so you will have to read the book to find out. I think this book s well written, but it is not the kind of book I would read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2006

    Disappointed

    I fell in love with The Giver and with Jonas. I brought Gathering Blue and Messenger out of hope that they would be a continuing of The Giver. Instead, she has invited two new characters to present the despicable conclusion of them three joining forces to fight off an anonymous darkness. The Giver gave so much possibilities for continuing Jonas's adventure to achieve an outstanding conclusion. Yet the author chose to simply have Jonas rule over an anonymous village, while the community he had escaped was still the colorless, ignorant, baby killing, brainwashed society. The Giver was not continued in this Trilogy, it was pushed away and replaced by a story of a forest attacking three people(for no reason at all)with special powers, two in which were pointless and did not contribute to the 'happy ending.' This trilogy deserves two stars, and that is only due to the unfortunate fact that The Giver was included in such a disgraceful series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2005

    a great disappointment....

    Messenger isn't a bad book, but it is VERY disappointing. It basically is pretty pointless. After dragging you through a boring ten chapter description of an evil forest, it leaves you hanging and angry. Gathering Blue and the Giver are MUCH better books. I enjoyed those a lot. I'm pretty shocked at Lois Lowry, because Messenger is a book that you HAVE to read, but you won't be changed by it. It isn't a book that you would expect from her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1