Customer Reviews for

Messenger

Average Rating 4
( 351 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(194)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Basic review

While reading 'Messenger' by Lois Lowry, I was interested in the book after the first chapter with its connections to its previous books, new plot line & setting, and its exciting start. All of the characters come together into one book, but this is not noticabl...
While reading 'Messenger' by Lois Lowry, I was interested in the book after the first chapter with its connections to its previous books, new plot line & setting, and its exciting start. All of the characters come together into one book, but this is not noticable right away. From both 'The Giver' and 'Gathering Blue', things start to fall into place. While reading both 'The Giver' and 'Gathering Blue', it was hard to understand some consepts and some things didn't make sense. This occured at the beginning of 'Messenger' as well, but it incorperated all 3 books into one enjoyable read of adventure and romance. The writing style of this book has made me even more interested to read it because it makes you feel like you are there, experiencing everything on the sidelines, like a director behind the scenes of a movie. While reading 'Messenger', it was hard to put the book down. Before I knew it, i could have been reading for 3 hours straight and be almost finished with the book. This book is a great read if you like action and adventure with new twists every few chapters. I really enjoyed this book because it kept me thinking, and never really being sure of what would happen next.

posted by Anonymous on February 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Get to the point

Im sick and tired of looking at the reviews to see if a book is worth my time and money to only see every review is an over view of the story. If i wanted to know what happans in the story i would read it so can you stop spoiling it for the ones who havent read the book...
Im sick and tired of looking at the reviews to see if a book is worth my time and money to only see every review is an over view of the story. If i wanted to know what happans in the story i would read it so can you stop spoiling it for the ones who havent read the book and just tell me if its good or not!

posted by Anonymous on March 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 194 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Tristan

    This book is amazing!!!!!!!!! The plot is never ending. It is also a page turner and will make you think. If you like books that are never ending action then you will love this book.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    To y

    I was lookin to c if i wanted to get this book thanks for the spoiler u dumba**!!!!!! >:-(

    5 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Wow

    This book was by far another powerful and passionate book. Just like The Giver and Gathering Blue there are strong messages that often arent explained. However the mystery of the concepts and messages make it more appealing and thought-provoking. It is a very intense book ti read and each if the preceding protagonists are brought together through accidental means. However, you will not be disappointed with it. Lowry never ceases to amaze me. There are so many depths of each of these books that it could be considered somewhat unappreciated.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    One of the best.

    Some people say this book "sucks" . But, I say it is great and that those people are liars. Who cares if it didn't have the best ending, it is still one of my favorite series ever.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Messenger

    Is Jonas really the leader?

    3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    Gkfj

    Love it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    GREAT BOOK!

    The Messenger
    By: Lois Lowry

    The messenger is overall a great book. It ties in very well with the series of the Giver. The beginning of the book may be a little boring, but as the book progresses it becomes very exciting. It's like eating a big, juicy hamburger. The first bite may not be as good, but towards the end it's the most brilliant thing you have ever eaten! This book is a good book, but the series is not appropriate for kids under 6th grade because they might not understand the story. The book may sound a little childish, because of matty's healing powers, but Lois Lowry doesn't make it seem cartoonish, she makes it feel like this it is reality not some cartoon. I would highly recommend it for the kids out there who are wasting there time watching TV or playing video games. This book changed my perspective in reading, on how so detailed Lois Lowry wrote this, the suspension in this book is so deep i couldn't stop reading until i met the end. Overall, this book was a great book.

    Joshua J Grade 7

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2015

    Better than the second!

    Lowry does an outstanding job of creating yet another community of secrets. She uses words in a brilliant way and brings tears to my heart!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2015

    Question

    How does she write such good books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2015

    The Messenger

    I just finished reading Messenger and LOVED it!
    What I loved most about The Messenger was all the connections and sybolism. To me, Matty had a lot of similarities to Jesus. Whether you are religious or not, that is totally fine, though, and I don't want to discourage you from reading this if you're not. It's really just an inference I've made- it doesn't mention it anywhere in the book.
    I would reccomend this book to anyone who has read Gathering Blue and The Giver because Messenger doesn't really make sense unless you've read the first two.
    I felt the characters were real and easy to relate to, and that the setting was cleverly thought out. The book really makes you question yourself and ask: Is selfishness creeping into my heart or home?
    Hope this review helped! Enjoy Messenger : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2015

    Am Cool book

    I love the giver series Lois Lowry has made amazing books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2015

    One of my favorite book to read and teach.

    One of my favorite book to read and teach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2014

    ANONYMOUS

    The whole series is amazing from the Giver to Gathering Blue to The messenger these books are amazing and Lois Lowry is just a Fantastic author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2014

    Have not read

    Would you buy the book or just rent it from library

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    Anonymous

    Here the pieces of the puzzle start coming together. Recall that at the conclusion of The Giver, Jonas and Gabe have arrived at a new place where they can have a life. Matty, introduced in Gathering Blue is one of the only people who can travel between Jonas's and Kira's worlds. Jonas's Gift of being able to See Beyond has left him with disturbing images. He and Kira's father are convinced that Kira must come to the village. However, the forest makes a formidable opponent even for Matty. He must discover his own Gift in time to face this evil. This book is perhaps the most intense one yet, and ends with a loss that I never saw coming, but also promises an amazing conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2014

    Giver series is amazing

    Yess!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is the third book in The Giver series, this time centering

    This is the third book in The Giver series, this time centering around Matty from Gathering Blue.  We revisit Jonas and Gabe in this book, too, although their part of the story is not the focus.  This, too, is a new utopian/dystopian society, formed from the outcasts from other supposedly utopian societies.  

     There is an interesting theme of materialism in this story that says a lot about the value placed on material things.  The central root of this society's problems is found in just that, the need for material goods.  Many of the village's people are willing to trade away most anything for something material or superficial.  This entire subplot centered around the TradeMart and the mysterious man who facilitated these trades, something that I wished was more developed.

    The way that the concept of utopia versus dystopia is used is fascinating.  In the first book, we had a fairly technologically advanced society, one that focused on control and order and uniformity in order to create a "utopian" society.  In the second, the society was far more primitive and focused on one's viable contributions to society as valuable.  Anyone less capable was cast out as deficient.  In this book, society is still rather primitive, created out of nothing by those cast out from other societies.  Their focus was on acceptance and open-mindedness.  All three of these societies have totally different values and yet all three become less than utopian.  It is that point that really makes the reader think... is human nature truly capable of creating and maintaining a utopia?

    There is an ending to this book that was one that I had hoped wouldn't come to pass, but it is one that had more closure than that of The Giver.

    Things to love...

       --Seeing Jonas and Gabe again, as well as Matty.
       --Being made to really think.  I love that!

    Things I wanted more/less of...

       --More about the gifts.  Many of the people of this society have gifts, something we learned about in the second book, but we don't really know  much about how these things came to be.

    My Recommendation:  I think I loved this book almost as much as the first.  It should definitely be read after both The Giver and Gathering Blue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2014

    Great story line a book to share

    Quick read I read this in one day. You become quickly involved with story and want more as the story unfolds. I recommend this series highly and look forward to more from this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2014

    The Giver series at its best

    I thought this one, book 3, and the last one were the best of the series, with more intricate story lines and the bigger picture coming together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2014

    The Messenger

    Have not read book yet, but have heard good things about it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 194 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10