Customer Reviews for

Messenger of Truth (Maisie Dobbs Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    Messenger of Truth is the fourth book in the Maisie Dobbs series

    Messenger of Truth is the fourth book in the Maisie Dobbs series by British-born American author, Jacqueline Winspear. When the death of controversial artist Nicholas Bassington-Hope, from a fall whilst setting up his latest exhibition, is ruled as accidental, his twin sister Georgina is unconvinced. Georgina, an outspoken journalist, seeks out the help of Maisie Dobbs, psychologist and investigator. In the course of her investigations, Maisie meets the bohemian Bassington-Hope family, Nick’s fellow artists from the colony at Dungeness, his promoter, gallery owner Stig Svenson, and the collector who is determined to own all of his work, wealthy American Randolph Bradley. And while all the evidence points to an unfortunate fall, Maisie soon finds that plenty of possible motives exist for Nick’s murder. Nick was known for including real people in his paintings, careless of whom it might upset. Did his latest masterpiece, secreted away in an unknown lockup, offend the wrong person? Or did he fall foul of his younger brother’s contacts with the underworld? Was Randolph looking to increase the value of his collection (as the death of an artist is bound to do), or annoyed that he refused to sell the masterpiece?  What were his artist friends, of late noticeably wealthier, hiding? Were the recent quarrels with his siblings relevant? Maisie is left to determine the true story alone, as Billy Beale has problems of his own. DI Stratton is being less than helpful and things come to a head with Maisie’s suitor, Andrew Dene. This instalment touches on war artists, war propaganda, the atrocities of war, the scourge of childhood diseases, and the loss of art works to richer countries. Stolen heirloom diamonds, European works of art and smugglers all feature as Maisie delves into the world of art. Winspear develops her main characters further and gives the reader an original plot with enough twists to keep the pages turning. Winspear uses some wonderfully descriptive prose: her depiction of the converted railway carriage is particularly evocative. This is another excellent mystery that skilfully conjures the feel of post-war England and her inhabitants. Fans will look forward to the next book in the series, An Incomplete Revenge. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    As usual, a superb mystery with an interesting cast of character

    As usual, a superb mystery with an interesting cast of characters ............... Maisie never disappoints!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    maisie dobbs ...

    just gets better and better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    I just love maisie

    She has such courage not just in doing her job but also in seeing herself and her own faults and vulnerabilities. She is ahead of her time, forging new roads for other young women to follow. I do hope she finds love, some onexeho is willing to let her continue with her work, maybe someone that will share in her adventures, some one who is secretly very rich and who has no problem letting her be who she is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    A bit too slow for my tastes

    Set in London after the Great War, Maise Dobbs has quite a mystery on her hands. Nicholas Bassingon-Hope, upcoming artist, has fallen to his death. His sister Georgina feels in her heart that her twin brother has been murdered and when the police do not believe her, she turns to Maisie. Without any clues to point to murder, Maisie takes the case, determined to bring peace to the Bassington-Hope family one way or the other.

    Before I write anything else, I have to state how much I LOVE this cover. It is so creative and looks a-mazing in person. I love reading mysteries that are also historical fiction because the mysteries are solved without any fancy technology. It just seems like good detective work. Maisie is so smart and analytical. It reminded me a bit of when I was younger and I was reading Nancy Drew. While I appreciated the writing and the backdrop of the story, the plot was a bit slow for my tastes. I felt like clues were being uncovered and the relevance wasn't explained to the reader until the big unfolding at the end. For me, this meant I didn't feel any excitement from the mystery. I didn't feel driven to turn each page. I also didn't connect or like Maisie very much. She appeared to be a character that was a bit to polished and judgmental for my tastes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    Highly Recommended--a relaxing and fun read.

    I love historical fiction and mysteries, and Maisie Dobbs fits the bill. The WWI background is very interesting and with this book the author moves into the Thirties--another interesting era. The reader can't help but like Maisie Dobbs and her personal journey. She kept the reader guessing until the end with this book. She's easy to read, so sit back with a cup of tea and enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great Detective Series

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It is part of a series that the reader should begin by reading the first book, Massie Dobbs. I have read all the books in the series. The author brings in history, good writing and an English mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Maisie finds the Truth about a lot of Things

    From Maisies' first meeting with the parents of a missing son, to the end- she learns the "truth" about the case, her own relationships with her mentor, friends, and father. This, most recent publication from Ms. Winspear has widened our view of Maisie's world. Her case maps lead her and Billy Beales to an exciting conclusion to capture the antagonist and expand her relationship with the new Detective Inspector. The characters are sensitive and real, and set in the era before WWII. The setting lends insight to Maisie's character and actions as a woman in business for herself in that time. This book was a very satisfying read and I can't wait for the new one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    New Series for me

    First part of a series that is charming and educational. I'm not as conversant in WWI as I am with WWII and the whole British caste system which Maisie overcomes. So, I'm fascinated with something new and will keep buying the books until I catch up. Certainly good writing style and keep me interested enough to say I'll buy the other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Satisfying good read

    This is a welcome addition to the series of Maisie Dobb stories. It is enjoyable to see Maisie's character develop as the series goes on. The characters are believable and realistic in their reactions and motives. The plot is unpredictable,and the ending is very satisfying. The historical element adds a bonus interest to the mystery, learning about England following the "Great War". Hope the author keeps on going!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    I can't stop reading the Masie Dobbs series!!

    Maisie Dobbs is a modern woman even by 2009 standards. I always learn quite a bit of history through her mysyeries- this novel centers around the art world in post WWI

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    Jacqueline Winspear is an Incredable writer

    I am captivated by all of her books. They are hard to put down and are a great reread.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2006

    Another Hit

    I have read all of the Maisie Dobbs books and have thoroughly enjoyed each and every one. They just keep getting better and better. Winspear's description of post war England if fascinating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    A TELLING PORTRAIT OF POSTWAR ENGLAND

    Those who had the good fortune to read or hear the first story in Jacqueline Winspear's acclaimed series (Maisie Dobbs 2003) were immediately won by an indomitable heroine. Believe those were close to the words I wrote at that time and I've not changed my mind - not one whit. Voice performer Orlagh Cassidy narrated the second in the series, Pardonable Lies, and for this she won and AudioFile Earphones Award. She gives another award winning performance with her narration of Messenger of Truth. She has that rare ability to give life to individual characters with a vocal nuance, and perfectly capture the accents of 1930s England. She's a pleasure! As many will remember Maisie is an investigator and in this, the fourth in the Maisie Dobbs series, she's retained to investigate the death of well known artist Nick Bassington-Hope. Nick died when he fell while hanging one of his works of art for an exhibition relating to the Great War. The question is, was his death an accident or was it planned by someone who pushed him as he worked? Maisie is hired by Nick's sister who isn't willing to accept Scotland Yard's decision that it was an accident. This investigation takes Maisie, who came from humble beginnings as a housemaid, into a strata of society with which she is not familiar. The author's portrait of postwar England is well worth the listen the mystery is frosting on the cake. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2006

    An excellent exhilarating whodunit

    In 1930 in a Mayfair gallery in London, artist Nick Bassington-Hope falls to his death. Scotland Yard does a perfunctory inquiry before officially declaring that a tragic accident occurred. However, Nick's twin sister, journalist Georgina Bassington-Hope believes her controversial sibling was murdered. When the police ignore her, she decides to enlist the help of a private sleuth.------------------ Georgina asks fellow Girton College alumni, investigator Maisie Dobbs to look into her brother¿s demise. Maisie agrees, but soon finds herself looking closely at Nick¿s record during WWI, which leads to the beaches of Dungeness in Kent. However, an unknown adversary wants Maisie to end her inquiries or else. The threats and attempts on her life make the obstinate psychologist sleuth even more determined to uncover the truth because she believes Georgina¿s theory is right.----------------- Maisie Dobb¿s fourth historical mystery (see PARDONABLE LIES) is an excellent exhilarating whodunit that brings to life England between the two great wars. Maisie is at her best as she follows clues that lead her to Nick¿s activities during WWI. The support cast brings out the era as well as the best in the female sleuth. Fans of the series or anyone who appreciates a strong historical detective thriller will want to read the Maisie Dobb¿s novels, which are some of the best.---------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2