Customer Reviews for

Messenger's Angel (Lost Angels Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    What more is there to say?! Heather has done it again!! Astory t

    What more is there to say?! Heather has done it again!! Astory that truly captivates you and keeps you turning page after page unable to stop. I fell in love with Gabriel from day 1, and now that I have read his story, I am even more enchanted by him. Scotland and it's beauty only add to the delicious tale of the Archangel and his Archess. I will be on pins and needles waiting for the next book, just like I am with all her stories!! Love her and her work, it leaves me breathless and in a constant state of daydreaming! Xoxo!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Fantastic Book

    This is the best book of Heather's I've read so far. The imagery that she uses to describe the scenes between the characters and sites are wonderful.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Messenger's Angel is an absolute must read. the visual details H

    Messenger's Angel is an absolute must read. the visual details HKW writes draw you into her magical world so that you feel you are standing right there listening to Gabriel Black's scottish accent. you can see the green of the hills and just feel the history pour off the pages of this fantastic story. The story between Juliette and Gabriel had me turning the pages over and over. I was so captivated I couldn't put the book down till the very last page. I love reading about the angels and watch them find their perfect loves, their Archess.
    I have to saw the way HKW wrote the end so that this book will lead right into the next was amazing and made me want the next one the moment I finished this one. This is a must read series!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    I so miss travel, but my faraway lands' fund rattles with mostly

    I so miss travel, but my faraway lands' fund rattles with mostly pennies these days, so I turn to the next best thing: books. I've just recently returned from the most unbelievable trip to Scotland, so exciting and adventure-filled and brilliant with the sights and sounds of Edinburgh, the Outer Hebrides, Isle of Harris, and other beautiful historic locations. The book that took me there is "Messenger's Angel," the second novel of Heather Killough-Walden's LOST ANGELS' series, and this time it is Gabriel, the former Messenger Archangel, who has located his archess after more than 2,000 years of searching. Uriel (alias Christopher Daniels) and Eleanor, from the opening book, "Avenger's Angel," have been sexily settling into married life.

    In "Messenger's Angel" Gabriel Black nicely comes into his own when he meets the lovely Juliette Anderson, PhD student in archeology on a project in Scotland. He immediately recognizes her as the woman he has been dreaming about, which means he has finally found his archess. Juliette recognizes something in his black wavy hair, silver eyes and taunting smile that feels awfully familiar to her - and disturbingly irresistible. In their case, a kiss is not just a kiss. But Juliette is a sensible girl, everyone knows that, and having received mostly nothing but negative reports about Gabriel she forces him to work at winning her over.

    There is so much to like about this novel, with its castles, dolmen stones, Highland magic and crashing ocean. But the characters rise up to the challenge of the land, as the stakes are raised this time. Kevin and his band of Adarians are back, stronger and more demented than ever. And of course Samuel Lambent, Samael, the filthy rich tycoon angel with a somewhat mysterious agenda involving the favored four, consistently stuns Juliette as he did Ellie, with his gorgeous looks, impeccable taste, tremendous wealth and power and cashmere charm. He remains a force to be reckoned with and often will stop at nothing. But the same can be said about Gabriel and his archangel brothers, Azrael (Death), Uriel (Vengeance), and Michael (Warrior), as well as their miraculous multitasking guardian Max Gillihan. Oh, and of course the first archess, Uriel's Ellie, who is a formidable force in many ways. The author's timing is impeccable and they consistently appear, or someone is transported to them, at just the right moment, upping the ante and the excitement. It is such delicious fun.

    "Messenger's Angel" is a book that will keep you turning the pages until there are no more to turn. It has action, moments that make you stop breathing and a romance deserving of the magical, beautiful locale. As usual, Heather Killough-Walden delivers scenes so vivid, invoking all of the senses, that they remain with me long after I read them. Scotland is now at the top of my Must See list, as "Messenger's Angel," added the element of another grand story to imagine among the grassy cliffs and ancient castle ruins. This is not only a good book to read when you can't travel to Scotland, it's a great book to read when you do.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Fantastic, leaves me wanting more!

    This book, and the whole series, is so great! It leaves you captured in it... you never want to put it down! I cannot wait for Books 3 and 4 to arrive; I want to know what happens to Azrael and Michael!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Heather is a great writer! Love this book can't wait for more from her. I couln't put the book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Love, love. Love!

    This story is a movie in my head playing over and over again. The detail put by Heather into this book puts you on the cliffs, in a cottage, in the castle and in the arms of an angel. As with all the characters she writes about I'm in love with this story and the men in them. Gabriel an angel finds his archess and a love as old as time. You will fight along with Gabriel and fall in love with his accent and just like me find yourself on google searching for the castle and the cliffs that were so vividly written in this book. You will be transported to Scottland and just like me want and have a scottish accent while reading this book. Great read and now waiting for the the tale of the Angel of death himself Az...( sigh).
    Remember to read her other books big bad wolf series, the Kings series, I am Sam October trilogy new coming out October 2012. A new book on July 13, 2012 called vampire, vampire. Look up Heather Killough-Walden on facebook for great teasers on her upcoming books. Not only is she a great writer but also down to earth and interactive with her readers.
    S. Bonilla.. july 6 2012. K.S U.S.A.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    as a great fan of Heather KW and of Scotland, I was looking forw

    as a great fan of Heather KW and of Scotland, I was looking forward to this one, and it definitely delivered! I've been waiting patiently for this one to come out and it was worth the wait. Gabriel finds his archess, and the next book is told to us..and I'm just so excited :D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    Awesome series

    I love all her books. She has a wonderful writing talent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    I really, really liked this one!! Significantly more than the fi

    I really, really liked this one!! Significantly more than the first one! I couldn't put it down. Once it finished, I sat back and tried to figure out why I liked it so much more than the first. Definitely the location. I'm a sucker for Scotland and the fact that Gabriel has the Scottish accent, dreamy! The pace of this one was much better as well. While I understand that there is a lot of explaining that needs to take place in the first book of any new series, but I felt that it was too repetitive in the first. Also, while this is the second book in the series, I believe it can be read as a stand alone as this book does also explain the whole concept. Lots of action and great tension between the heroine and hero.
    Juliette is a great heroine. She is strong and independent and handles things extremely well considering the circumstances. You like her from the very beginning and fall in love with her by the end.

    Ahhh Gabriel! Swoon and drool worthy! Look up the definition of Alpha Male and his picture should be shown. Yet, he's not the "cave man" alpha. He is still sensitive and tuned into the needs of his love. He woes her! And while, granted both have the whole "love at first site" and the physical attraction is instant, he takes the time to woo her!! And when they do 'get to together' it's hot and intense!

    The Adarians (bad guys) are still after the archesses. We do get to learn a bit more about these fallen angels as the story is told from different POV and this includes Kevin's (Abraxos). To some extent, you feel sorry for them and may even understand their motivation, however, they are going about it the wrong way.

    Samael was my favorite character in the first book and we only get a glimpse of him in this one. However, we do find out just how powerful he is and I have a feeling that he's not showing all his cards yet.

    I mentioned before that there are different POV and I think that added a lot to this story. Gives you a better perspective of what is going on and even allows you to get to know the characters differently.

    Narrator Review: Gildart has a great voice and he is able to provide each of the characters with their own unique voice and tone. However, more times than I'd like, he uses the voice of the character that just spoke in the narrative. My biggest issue I have with Gildart narrating this series (this is the only series I've listened to that he narrates) is that he gives all the heroines' a valley girl voice/tone/accent. He did that for Eleanor (heroine in Avenger's Angel, bk 1) and it really didn't make me like the book as much. Granted, I thought it was just his interpretation of the character, however, he did it to every female character in this book as well. It really irked me that he's done this as, well, I'm sorry, it's an annoying tone of voice and while yes a stereo type, the girls don't sound smart. And all the women in this series are smart, both book and street smart. I will say that with Juliette, that valley girl tone was used more in conversations vs. her thoughts, but still.

    On a positive note regarding Gildart narration, I did LOVE his Scottish accent! Definitely made me fall for Gabriel! Swoon worthy!! Again Gildart has a wonderful voice that is great for male characters. I truly believe he would be perfect in situations where there are two narrators, one for the female characters and one for the males.

    Over all, a great and quick read! Will be getting the third book asap to see what happens!Yeah, the ending of this one leads straight into the next!! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2013

    I love this book!! It is well written and the characters are gre

    I love this book!! It is well written and the characters are great! I especially love that Gabriel is "Scottish"! :) Highly recommend this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Love this series!

    Love this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This second visit to the angels is a wonderful addition to Heath

    This second visit to the angels is a wonderful addition to Heather's world. Gabriel is the ultimate, the book is insightful, historical and romantic, with alot of danger and mystery included. Thank you Heather for another fantastic read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Loved it!!!

    Another wonderful work by Heather Killough Walden. Very enjoyable! Once again, I love how her characters and stories meld and flow together. Very talented!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    I am a seriously huge fan of Heather's work. Every time I think

    I am a seriously huge fan of Heather's work. Every time I think she can't get any better she proves me wrong. The scenes she describes in this book make me feel as if I'm traveling around Scotland with the characters. As I flip through the pages I feel like I can smell the salty air and feel the cool wind she describes in many of her scenes. By the end of the final page I feel as if I have become a part of the lost angel family. Absolutely amazing series. I don't know how she does it!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Good continuation

    I am a huge romance novels person. Especially paranormal and Scottish romance. This series is slightly different though, in a good way. Usually the books start of immediately with some steamy sex scene. This author keeps is "romantic" and calm. The romance develops and then we get to the steamy part. Overall I got myself another favorite author and another series. Can't wait for the third book about Azrael =)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    I love this series!

    HKW has done it again with this compelling novel about The archangel Gabriel and his archess. You can literally see how gorgeous Gabriel is through Heathers sexually charged writing! I've already oreordered the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    After having read "Avenger's Angel", I couldn't wait t

    After having read "Avenger's Angel", I couldn't wait to read the second book in this series. I wasn't disappointed and it took me only a few days to inhale the novel. I fell into the landscape of Scotland and into the characters of Gabriel and Juliette. Something else that I liked about this book is that there was more descriptions and history associated with everyone. The villains are brought into the novel more. This book invokes various emotional responses in the romance but also in feeling different ways about those first archangels and their involvement with the archangels and archesses. I'm looking forward to the release of "Death's Angel." This series is invested in the lives of the characters and none of them are forgotten, including Sam.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    HOPEFUL

    WELL SOME AUTHORS HAVE A BOOK THAT IS JUST NOT THAT GOOD THAT YOU COULD HAVE GONE WITHOUT NO MATTER HOW MUCH U LIKED OTHER BOOKS OR THE CURRENCT SERIES THIS IS HERS I LOVED EVERY BOOK SHE WROTE AND ORIGINALLY WASN'T GOING TO READ THIS SERIES BUT LOVED THE 1ST BOOK BUT THIS ONE KILLED ME TO FINISH SO HOPEFULLY THE NEXT ONE WILL BE GOOD

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    Wow

    Great book. Even better than the first book. Loved it. Highly recommended. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3