Customer Reviews for

Messiah

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    I wish it was translated to Spanish

    I´ve read Messiah long time ago and I have recently reread Storm. My mother would enjoy reading them but I have checked some bookstores and I found out the books have not been translated to Spanish. It was hard to believe it since I know it was a bestseller (Messiah). I am Spanish and an English translator but I don´t know about editorials and I wish someone could give me a reason about that. In Spain there are many people who enjoy that kind of books. I can`t teach English to my mother (she is in her eighties) and I am not saying to get the job of translating the book (which I would not mind at all) but why do not consider the Spanish market? Anyway,I want to thank Boris for his work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2004

    a great summer read

    I couldn't believe this was a first novel. It was well written, fast paced with surprises at every turn. I was blown away by the ending with how completely unexpected it was and that hasn't happened in a long time!! You will not be able to put this book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2002

    from avid reader and criminology student

    beyond harris or connelly. anyone interested in these sorts of novels must not over look either starling books. read them in order.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2002

    WOW

    Ohh my goodness.....this book was amazing! He wrote in such detail that I could not tear my eyes away from it for a second. I started on a Wednesday and by Friday, I was done. It was well written with great twists!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2002

    Masterpeice...

    I thought this book was outstanding. It was full of suspense and kept me hooked non-stop. There were to many times when both Red and I thought we had the killer then a new clue came up which sent us on a new journey. This is my favourite book and I recommend it to to anyone who enjoys a little mystery and a lot to scares.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2007

    So good, you'll read it in a day.

    Boris Starling is an artist. This is the best novel I have ever read. It is amazing how Starling continuously incorporates the theme of the novel into itself. I have read this book seven or eight times and have bought at least 10 copies because I keep giving the book away, insisting that other people read it. The plot and the subject are so creative, so expertly weaved into a murder mystery that I am absolutely in awe of Boris Starling. For God's sake read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2002

    Bye bye Stephen King

    This is, by far, the most incredible novel I have ever read. Literally, from the first page the action starts and you are sucked in and kept on the tips of your toes to the very end. Even the ending is mind-blowing. This is one book that I would read again and I am certain that it would be like the first time. Stirling proves that writing is an art, and I'm sure that anyone who has read this book will agree.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2002

    BEST THRILLER EVER!

    I started reading this book on Tuesday night, by Friday i was done with it. I loved this book, Boris Starling did an awesome job with this book, and it's his FIRST novel! Cngratulations Mr. Starling!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2002

    AMAZING

    the most amazing book i've ever read. once i read it, i couldnt stop until i got to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2001

    I LOVED THIS BOOK, AND I DON'T READ MUCH

    i loved this book! and I loved Storm! if you like mystery and murders, buy this and Storm, definitely!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2001

    PAGE TURNER!!!

    Starling did a real good job mantaining the readers interest, he is great when it comes to details and prolonging the out come of the characters 'fate'. There are situations in this book that Starling could have unfolded differently, but the book in general is a great read. As for the characters enjoy meeting them (I did).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2001

    awesome!!

    wow...what a book!! this book was really intense with come cool twists that i wasn't even ready for! it was very entertaining, i couldn't put it down, even at work. i highly recomend this book to anyone who likes a great page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2001

    I could never put down this book until I finished

    My friend Erin & I thoroughly enjoyed this book. If you like murders & mysteries, you will definitely like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2001

    Bad book

    Well, I hate to go against the grain, but I really did not care for this book. I found it somewhat predictable and ludicrous at times. It seems that Starling tried to make up for a lack of originality and poorly developed characters by vividly describing the blood and gore. Unlike a lot of people, I found 'Hannibal' to be a far superior book. It may have its flaws, but it is entirely original and beautifully written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2001

    amateur effort

    Awful. The plot is so contrived, none of the conclusions drawn by characters makes any sense and the ending was easy to predict half way through. Lots of blood and gore if that's appealing...no substance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2000

    Yea.....yea

    This book is the single greatest suspense thriller ever written. This is grizzly, but not for the sake of having gratuitous violence. There's a point to all this, and it's really amazing. If you can stomach it, you must read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2000

    MAGNIFICENTLY MORBID!!!!!

    This book has one of the best plots that I have had the pleasure of reading. The book is so good that I felt guilty when I had to put it down. I carried it with me everywhere. The morbid crime scenes were excellent and useful as opposed to just sick and gross. I love this book and am eagerly waiting for his next. The twists kept me captivated all the way through. I finished this book in two days. This book will not let you go!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2000

    The most excellent book written today

    This book takes you through many twist and turns. It's a real page turner. Hard to put down. It starts off with action and doesn't stop till the last page. It is well written. This book is what I use as a guide to compare others now. Just when you think you have got him figured out he throws another curve at you. This is truly the best book I have ever read. I can't wait to read Storm. I am a die hard Boris Starling fan now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2000

    Nail-baiting anticipation keeps you on the edge!!!!

    This book was absolutely riveting. It kept me on the edge of my seat nd glued to it's pages. You find yourself drawn into Red's horros and nightmares, and the sickening descriptions of the murders will make your stomach churn. But this book is so captivating, so intense that no matter how grotesque it becomes, you simply have to keep reading so you can get the dish on what really happened. BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!! MUST READ!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2000

    AWESOME!!!

    I was 13 years old when I bought the book, and I really wasn't a big fan of reading except that I needed to read something for school. I bought the book first day it came out, and had the entire thing read in a week and a half. You can't put the book down, it's almost impossible. Non-stop thriller action the whole way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2