Customer Reviews for

Metagame

Average Rating 3.5
( 506 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(131)

4 Star

(161)

3 Star

(108)

2 Star

(51)

1 Star

(55)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Keeps you tuned

This Sci-Fi action novel was a great read. It was more than a book to pass the time. I found myself playing the role of characters or "products" at various points of the book and experiencing it for myself. The political and social issues the book brings up are amazing ...
This Sci-Fi action novel was a great read. It was more than a book to pass the time. I found myself playing the role of characters or "products" at various points of the book and experiencing it for myself. The political and social issues the book brings up are amazing and provide a very interesting spin on them. Most interesting was the issue of reproduction and civil unions replacing marriage. Bravo Mr. Landstrom

posted by UbiquitousCandor on March 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A bad imitation of William Gibson's style.

It seems to want to imitate William Gibson's style, but it's tiresome, overly complicated (as opposed to complex), and plays around with certain gamer metaphores ("frags"? Really? Is this a quake-novel?) like some kind of cult. I couldn't get past the second chapter, i...
It seems to want to imitate William Gibson's style, but it's tiresome, overly complicated (as opposed to complex), and plays around with certain gamer metaphores ("frags"? Really? Is this a quake-novel?) like some kind of cult. I couldn't get past the second chapter, it made me tired trying to keep up with it. Sorry.

posted by RangerElf on June 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 161 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    Keeps you tuned

    This Sci-Fi action novel was a great read. It was more than a book to pass the time. I found myself playing the role of characters or "products" at various points of the book and experiencing it for myself. The political and social issues the book brings up are amazing and provide a very interesting spin on them. Most interesting was the issue of reproduction and civil unions replacing marriage. Bravo Mr. Landstrom

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    Enjoyable, great escape tool

    I enjoyed it, as a geek, and the technical speak was interesting. I liked how it immersed you in tech-speak from the first page, and explained as it went how the world worked. The book reminded me of William Gibson's style with the techno-babble, but it was easy to get into and enjoyable.

    I also think it needed another round of copy editing. There were a few there/they're/their issues and some grammar that set my teeth on edge, but I'm a little picky about grammar and spelling.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One of the better free books I've read on the nook

    If you don't like science fiction or role playing games, don't bother with this novel.

    If you do, then give this book a chance. It takes a couple of chapters to "build" the author's world in your imagination, but once you do it is a good read. An interesting look at the future.

    Hey, it's free.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great book even though I'm not a gamer

    The name of the main character was an immediate turn-off for me as it came off a little hokey. The book started slow, since I'm quite used to the big "grab" of the modern novel. (There was no murder on the first page). Overall I thought it was a great and thought provoking novel. A modern internet generation twist on Huxley's "Brave New World." There are a lot of lessons to be learned hidden in the action. I would definitly read a follow-up to see what happens next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Kept Me Reading Until the End

    If you like post Apocalypse/ alternate reality sci-fi reminscience of Wells' 1984 than this is the book for you.

    The book has a sort of cultish feel with its use of internet/gamer slang that immediately draws people of that subculture in. It has elements that are futuristic and desirable as well as aspect of the society that are so repugnant and violent and confuse to a modern reader.

    Religion is very heavily used in this book and the author has clearly drawn heavily from Christianity but also pulled in a lot of pop-culture neo-paganism.

    They ending makes the religious overtones so heavy handed as to be a little oppressing and the author goes from assuming intelligence in the reader to being overly heavy handed with the "message" of the book.

    Beyond that the journey is wonderful. It surprised me to find a book of this quality for free download. I would suggest it to all my sci-fi gamer friends and probably a few of the normies too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    MetaGame by Sam Landstrom is a futuristic cyber punk story about

    MetaGame by Sam Landstrom is a futuristic cyber punk story about D_Light. D_Light is the main character who is an upcoming and extraordinary player of ‘The Game’, which consists of microchips that are in people’s heads and from a main server transmits virtual reality information which allows those people to play ‘The Game’ using real life as a basis of play. D_Light received an invitation to play in the monthly MetaGame, or “Divine Quest,” for House Tesla, (there are many houses in the book which represent a large house of non-related people living together). The MetaGame is typically for the ultra-rich that takes place in real life rather than in the virtual world. The stakes are much higher during this tournament as people can die; on the flip side there is also a large monetary value and prestige that is acquired after winning a game, as well as pride for the entire house. While participating in the Metagame he stumbles upon a ‘demon’, “Historically, these types were called “criminals” or “fugitives.”” (MetaGame, Sam Landstrom) named Lily and helps her escape from the Divine Authority, the acting police of the game. In doing so, he is labeled a demon himself. This adds to the extra element of danger, but in turn she helps him complete the quests. D_Light is required to complete various quests during the MetaGame, which consist of finding a demon, becoming a demon, and discover a famous bioengineer. Overall I enjoyed the whole futuristic appeal, with its massive multiplayer aspect that uses real life as the stage; talking telepathically with everyone/other players and aging stopped at the age of twenty. Anything that you ever wanted to be in real life, such as a police office, you could automatically be one in the virtual game. The details that blended the virtual world with the real one stood out among other books that have been written based on this massive multiplayer genre. Another interesting aspect was using points from the games as real life currency.
    The ending was bittersweet, because the main character commits the ultimate sacrifice for the woman that he loves; securing her safety and financial means for the rest of her life. Even with the difference between them, which is a spoiler towards the end of the book. Due to this ending it would be difficult to continue this story, though other stories and games have been spawned off of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Excellent

    This really plays on what is a person

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Metagame

    The first 50 pages I just was not getting into it, but after that it did pick up. The character names are ridiculous but the storyline is original/fun and held my interest. I have never read a futuristic book before and look forward to picking up a couple here and there. This is worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Excellent read!

    Deelight is a software engineer who ends up playing in a high stakes metagame for his house. He meets an interesting group of characters as they try to complete the quests for points and glory.

    Definitely good cyberpunk, techno read. Very enjoyable. It was quick to start and moved very well - no dull moments. I look forward to more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good

    This was an interesting book, i enjoyed it very much. It was kindof slow to start but still good. If you want an opinion i say its free, and its worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    Enjoyable Sci-Fi

    I was thoroughly entertained with this book. There are a couple of loose ends however that I'd like to have tied up. (Like what happened to the original demon?)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    Enjoyable!

    I really enjoyed this book. I haven't read Sci-Fi in a long time and found this book refreshing. It was interesting and was very well written.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    I enjoyed it

    Very good book for a first time author...you will appreciate it more if you yourself are a computer gamer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    MetaGame Is Truly Unique

    I have to say that I was wholly, utterly unprepared for MetaGame when I started reading it. I had read a few reviews, but none truly prepared me for this book.

    Sam Landstrom takes a presently somewhat fringe idea (virtual reality gaming) and pushes humanity into a future where this is not only the norm, but legally required to survive.

    I will say this now...if you're not a huge science fiction fan, you will have a difficult time with this book. Many of the ideas expressed in the book will seem utterly foreign without at least a basic understanding of modern gaming.

    That said, though, science fiction fans should find more than enough meat in this book to be utterly fascinated by the world that Landstrom creates. While it does feel, in places, like the author over-describes this future world, I believe that it is necessary to completely get inside the minds of the characters.

    The plot is not a cookie-cutter plot like many books. I would like to believe that I am relatively good at sniffing out plot twists, and while some of the general plotlines are predictable, the actual intricacies of how the characters worked through the storyline often caught me completely off guard. However, I am quite disappointed with the ending. I will not go into detail for obvious reasons, but I felt that the ending of this book could have been much tighter and possibly shorter than it was. The ending is the only reason this book received four stars instead of five.

    If I can say one thing about this book, it's this: "READ IT!" If you feel passionate about gaming, or recreation, either positively or negatively, you simply must read this, for it is a commentary on humanity's basest needs and desires, and I, for one, could spend weeks analyzing the myriad views of humanity contained within this book. Sam Landstrom strikes a resounding chord with MetaGame, and everyone should be given the opportunity to hear it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    Fun Read

    Enjoyed this one - even if you know nothing about gaming. Hope he writes another.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 161 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9