BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Metamorphosis

Average Rating 3.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Search

Type in full version to get a complete copy. Its fifty something pages for around three dollars. Amazing work a classic very intelligent highly recommended

posted by Anonymous on January 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

Just purchased this book for my world literature class and only received up to the end of the first chapter. Waste of money.

posted by 12361597 on December 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Disappointed

    Just purchased this book for my world literature class and only received up to the end of the first chapter. Waste of money.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Search

    Type in full version to get a complete copy. Its fifty something pages for around three dollars. Amazing work a classic very intelligent highly recommended

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Um... Hello???

    Whats the book about??? Some one tell me!!! All the 'description' said was that had some stupid study guide, was unabridged and blah blah blah. HELP!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    My haiku

    Metamorphosis



    Caterpillar who
    Melts itself and then reforms
    Look! A butterfly!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Question

    Ive read the book but im still really confused on why and how he turned into a vermin in the first place. Any ideas. Please answer soon if u do. Thanks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Kinda

    This book grossed me oyt i just wanted to throw(couldnt bcuz i ad to read it for a class) i dont really gt the meaningof this book its just nasty double barf:(

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    ???

    Wonder what meaning this book was supposed to convey? Not bad, just different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Oh bugs..

    I doodle a lot, so I drew Gregor as an adorable cockroach. Theoughout the whole book, all I saw was an adirable little ach being abused an neglected.. that made the story a lot more emotional for me... other than that, I really admire how its written. Very entertaining and quick to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    The bug

    I dont know. Was this book just THAT reevolutionary at the time? While I didnt hate it, I dont respect it as its reputation declares I must.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    ............@@@@@&@&@&@&@&&@&@&@&@&@&@&@;(/),''!;+,-(?'),-,?&

    "'+&&,-:";-&"';-:-,"&"'?'+:+,!?!:?/"'+;-,)&('"/!?@''?,-&'&)'"@)')""')&" '-+:-/)@('&",?;!+,?/-"&@)'()'-&"

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Text only

    This only contains the main text; the extras listed in the summary are not included.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Poor organisation for this version

    Worth 95cents for a copy of Kafka's text, but there is little in the way of analysis or interpretation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Strange but compelling

    I felt compelled to continue reading to see what would happen. I might never look at bugs the same way again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Wonderful

    This is a great short but powerful novel metaphorically tackling issues in our lives. How do we react when someyhing changes, and what if we cannot handle it? Everyone should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    Not sure of the hype

    I read the book, which started out great, and then it changed direction. My understanding of the book . . . he supported them (his family and Manager) while he had human legs and everyone was happy. Once he changed, they were supportive of him for a little while. Anyway, it force the other family members to start working. This could have been a good book, but the middle and the ending was not up to par.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    Could This Be the Evolution of The Spider Man?

    There is not much to say about a story too short. Gregor wakes up one morning a spider pretty much summarizes it. Although the description of what type of creature he transformed into seems a little contradictory, for it could have been any other invertebrate of arachnid genus. One contradiction is that spiders eat insects not human food. Also they move fast and do not schlep around the house.

    Gregor, an itinerant salesman lives with his parents and younger sister Grete. When his father's business closed down he assumes responsibility of the household. The stress of traveling and meeting sales quota agitate him one evening and he finds himself on the bed next morning unable to get up because his springy legs are not able to lift his body. Bewildered, the Samsa family could not believe their eyes when they see their breadwinner. Their fear of Gregor coupled with concern of supporting themselves put the entire household in agonized fiasco.

    A commendable classic, The Methamorphosis is a beneficial read for young adults. It is fun, imaginative and undemanding. Stan Lee, the creator of Spider Man comic magazine benefited from this off the wall story; transformed the weakling Gregor Samsa into an alliterated name Peter Parker idolized for his courageous surfing of tall buildings and heroic deeds. Hence, the book tells about dealing with unusual distress and its unexpectedness. If it were true that Kafka suffered from clinical depression, it is evident that writing a bizarre story must have been his phantasmagoric way of dealing with it albeit there is an unsettlement in wishing to be an arachnid to escape social contact.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3