Customer Reviews for

Metro Girl (Alex Barnaby Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

An interesting departure

I fell in love with Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plumb series years ago and have been a loyal reader ever since. When I found that she had another series, I picked up this fist book with great anticipation. I was not disappointed.

While not nearly as tongue-in-cheek a...
I fell in love with Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plumb series years ago and have been a loyal reader ever since. When I found that she had another series, I picked up this fist book with great anticipation. I was not disappointed.

While not nearly as tongue-in-cheek as the beloved but clueless bounty hunter, Metro Girl is funny, lighthearted, and still thrilling. Alexandra (Barney) Barnaby, is a fresh and endearing character, and Evanovich manages to steer her in and out of trouble without becoming clichéd or redundant. Barney is smart enough to figure things out, tough enough to drive stock cars, and girly enough to feint when she gets giant spiders in her hair.

Overall, I enjoyed Metro Girl enough that I will be picking up the rest of the series. It'll give me something to read while I wait for the next Stephanie Plumb to come out!

posted by Neil_Collins on March 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Bored and did not finish the book.

posted by 892267 on January 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Bored and did not finish the book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    She's a Stephanie Plum Knock Off

    Shame on you, Janet Evanovich. You can't change Stephanie's name, location, and job and think we'll believe that this is a whole new character. IMHO, this is formulaic writing at it worst, the author trading on her name to suck new readers in and sell more books. And, in this series, I don't even like the boyfriend, unlike Stephanie's Joe and Ranger. While I laugh my way through Plum novels, I couldn't even finish listening to this one.<BR/><BR/>Narrator C.J. Critt also thinks this is a Stephanie Plum novel. Her voice, so perfect for the various Plum characters, hasn't changed for this reading. She is truly awful in Metro Girl, echoing Plum voices, and unable to leave behind the NY/NJ overtones. I hate saying this because I am a big C.J. Critt fan.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2008

    So Bad

    Just awful. I got this because I was going to be driving through Florida and wanted a light book for the car. The voice of the woman who reads this book is so annoying, every sentence ending with a high pitched ?. The main character is unlikable and the love intrest is made out to be a idiot. The flirting in this book is so lame that I doubt the writer has ever even met a man, much less have a romance. So avoid this terrible book and anthing read by this reader.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2005

    Very Disappointing-Don't waste your money

    After reading all of the Stephanie Plum mysteries I thought anything by Evanovich would be great. I was greatly disappointed with this book. It droned on and on incessantly repeating NASCAR about every other line. The book seems like one big advertisement for NASCAR when it really was supposed to be a cute and quirky mystery with a female heroine. The plot and story seemed to be woven in between every other mention of 'NASCAR guy', and I was not amused. Sorry I wasted my money.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2005

    Terrible!

    Unfortunately this was the first Evanovich book I read and I have to say I was not impressed at all! The interaction between the characters and overall dialogue was utterly juvenile. I wish I could give more complex reasons to why one should NOT read this book but I have been left dumbfounded and incompetent after taking the time to read this title. If you need one reason (another reviewer stated this before) the irritating references to NASCAR guy are enough. I like racing but Hooker is the epitome of trash. Not even half way through this book I started to ask myself how anyone could follow Janet¿s writing if the other books were written this terribly. Please save your brain cells for an better novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2005

    CARdboard Characters

    Cardboard was the word that just kept coming to mind as I read this book. I never really got to the point where I cared about or wanted to know what happened to the characters. And all of the 'hi I'm, NASCAR guy' just got old and annoying. It read like she just needed to crank out another book for a contract.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2005

    Garbage

    This book was terrible. I normally finish my books no matter how bad they are, but this was just such dribble that I only made it half way before returning it to the library. Weak introduction, weak characters, weak plot, weak, weak, weak. And not that 'I want a break from reading REAL Books so I'm going to pick up something quick and easy' weak. I mean WEAK weak. Avoid this book at all costs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2005

    Metro Girl Grow Must Grow Up

    Metro Girl is a weak introduction to what I expect will be a series. Unfortunately, this first installment gives the reader superficial characters who seem to focus primarily on sex, including a dog that is almost forced--by the author--to dine from a man's crotch. ENOUGH! The all-too-frequent sexual innuendos, the repetition of the phrase NASCAR Guy--refering to the 'hero' Hooker--and the mostly one-dimentional characters all lead to one poor read. Curiously, the most interesting are Judey--a gay former classmate of Barney, and Brian, his dog, and two cigar-rolling women, who take over the book. As to decribing Barney or Hooker, I can't. Where Stephanie Plum is fascinating and totally unpredictable and who seems to draw the most unexpected problems to her, including cars epxloding, mad-stalking killers and two unique lovers, Alexandra Barnaby has to grow up and become someone special...unique...someone the reader can care about. Evanovich also misses out on making Miami and South Beach, the Keys and offshore Cuba come alive. Instead, she gives us the cliches about the places, seemingly gleaned from travel books. Where is the heat, the energy, the pasion that pulse through the region? For those who are new to Evanovich's work, read the Stephanie Plum series and laugh and worry and care about the heroine. Forget about Alexandra--Barney--Barnaby...until she grows up into someone worth caring about. While Ms. Evanovich writes about light, flighty topics, with no literary aspirations to her work, the comparison to Robert B. Parker is a bit of a stretch. Parker knows how to write terse dialogue that draws the reader in, helps shape complex characters and plots and leaves the reader demanding more. Metro Girl can only peek through Parker's window; she has a way to go to reach inside that rich work of writing style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2004

    Reading is Fun

    I read this book in less then a day. I hated it. I will stick to the Plum books and hope that Janet does too. Sorry Janet this book did not do it for me. And to think I also brought the CD set at the same time as the book so I wasted my money this time. Please go back to Ranger, Steph and Joe. Now if you would only put more of Ranger in your Plum books it would really be a big plus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2004

    Disappointing

    I expected more humor, a little more sex and the NASCAR Man line got very boring. Sorry, Janet--I love Steph, Lula, Ranger and Joe! I was willing to give Barney a try, but....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2004

    Metro Mistake

    I just love this writer's previous 'Plum' novels but, this change-of-scene was disappointing at best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2004

    Don't bother with this one

    I bought this as a book on CD. My husband and I make an 8 hour trip once per month to our cabin in the Hiawatha Forest of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. We have enjoyed many other Evanovich books during our previous trips. When I saw this book advertised on television, I knew this would be a book we would want to enjoy during our Thanksgiving trip. To say that I was disappointed is a gross understatement. The book was over-long, repetitive, impossible to follow, and the worse part is the characters were so poorly drawn - none of this matters. If this was the first Evanovich novel I had read, I would never buy another. Fortunately, there is Stephanie Plum - that I loved! I have no prior experience with this reader, but her nasal monotone certainly contributed to this poor review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1