Customer Reviews for

Metro Girl (Alex Barnaby Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 186 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(63)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

An interesting departure

I fell in love with Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plumb series years ago and have been a loyal reader ever since. When I found that she had another series, I picked up this fist book with great anticipation. I was not disappointed.

While not nearly as tongue-in-cheek a...
I fell in love with Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plumb series years ago and have been a loyal reader ever since. When I found that she had another series, I picked up this fist book with great anticipation. I was not disappointed.

While not nearly as tongue-in-cheek as the beloved but clueless bounty hunter, Metro Girl is funny, lighthearted, and still thrilling. Alexandra (Barney) Barnaby, is a fresh and endearing character, and Evanovich manages to steer her in and out of trouble without becoming clichéd or redundant. Barney is smart enough to figure things out, tough enough to drive stock cars, and girly enough to feint when she gets giant spiders in her hair.

Overall, I enjoyed Metro Girl enough that I will be picking up the rest of the series. It'll give me something to read while I wait for the next Stephanie Plumb to come out!

posted by Neil_Collins on March 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Bored and did not finish the book.

posted by 892267 on January 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An interesting departure

    I fell in love with Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plumb series years ago and have been a loyal reader ever since. When I found that she had another series, I picked up this fist book with great anticipation. I was not disappointed.

    While not nearly as tongue-in-cheek as the beloved but clueless bounty hunter, Metro Girl is funny, lighthearted, and still thrilling. Alexandra (Barney) Barnaby, is a fresh and endearing character, and Evanovich manages to steer her in and out of trouble without becoming clichéd or redundant. Barney is smart enough to figure things out, tough enough to drive stock cars, and girly enough to feint when she gets giant spiders in her hair.

    Overall, I enjoyed Metro Girl enough that I will be picking up the rest of the series. It'll give me something to read while I wait for the next Stephanie Plumb to come out!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2004

    Stephanie Plum It's Not, But It's Good

    Metro Girl is a good read, if you're not trying to compare it to the Stephanie Plum series. Barney Barnabas is a funny character, likeable and quirky, and her unintentional sidekick Hooker is typical Janet Evanovich. The plot is good if far fetched, but well worth reading. The book would be great if you'd never heard of Stephanie Plum, but it's still pretty good if you have. I'm looking forward to the next Evanovich, whether Plum or Barnaby.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2014

    Good job as usual.

    I am looking forward to the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Recommend

    Metro Girl will not disappoint fans of Evanovich. It's a quick, easy to read good time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    Metro Girl isn't really a departure for Evanovich,as much as it

    Metro Girl isn't really a departure for Evanovich,as much as it is a simple change in scenery.  As in her Plum series (which I love, by the way), you have your female protagonist Alexandra Barnaby (aka Barney), her on-again/off-again beau  Hooker, an obnoxiously adorable canine in St. Bernard Beans, and an oddball cast of supporting characters including Barnie's friend and occasional co-conspirator Felicia. The plot is really beside the point. All you need to know is that trouble happens and  hi-jinks and hilarity ensue. Janet's signature situational comedy, oddball characters, and bumbling detective aesthetic are in full force here. Overall, beyond the new characters and change in setting, there is very little substantial difference between the Barnaby and Stephanie Plum series, but that really shouldn't matter. Evanovich's strength is her ability to consistently deliver light romance/mystery with memorable characters and  lots of laughs and, while it's probably not as strong as her best Plum novels (the story lags in places), it certainly does the job. It's certainly worthwhile for Evanovich fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2009

    Enjoyable

    This heroine might be a Stephanie Plum upgrade (less slapstick and might we hope a little less shallow?) but the humor is classic Evanovich and worth the price of admission. Very little romance in this one - the male lead is thumbsketched like a secondary character - it's the clever plot that takes center stage and moves right along. No deep waters but certainly an entertaining book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2007

    Light good read while you're waiting for the next Plum book

    I just finished all the Plus books and I was a little hesitant to start this one based on some of the bad reviews. I am glad I didn't listen and trust my favorite author!! I wouldn't say this is Evanovich's best work - but this is definitely a good read. The tension between Barney and Sam is awesome!!!! True, the story is stretching a bit but it's absolutely not bad. It has all the Evanovich book's quality - funny, witty, sexy and busy. I can't wait to start Motor Mouth!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2007

    Definately a page turner!!

    I really enjoyed this book, I felt like I connected with the characters and now I can't wait to read Motor Mouth!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2006

    Slow start but it hooked me.

    I usually dont continue to read when books start this slow. I knew that once it grabbed me, I would not be able to put it down. I think I liked the book because I am a bit boring when it come to being adventurous and gutsy. I was fun to read about a book about a girl who was completely opposite of me. Good, fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2005

    Metro Girl

    Alexandra Barnaby, Barney, has received mysterious phone calls from her brother, Bill, before, but this one promises to give her more trouble than all prior ones combined. To save him, again, she makes her way to Florida, only to find Bill gone who knows where, and Sam Hooker looking for him. Barney knows two things about Hooker, he's an ace NASCAR driver and her brother left him a very rude message. As she now learns, Bill also misappropriated his boat and Hooker, aka NASCAR guy, is going to stick to her like glue until he gets it back. Their quest to find Bill is an exercise in seeing how many permutations Murphy's law can take. Ruined clothes, lewdly noisy neighbors, unexpected haircuts, car theft, kidnapping, and terrorists are just the highlights of all the things that go wrong for Metro Girl and NASCAR guy. However, something very wonderful does happen as they begin to realize they could fall in love, maybe, if they survive. **** Quirky sidekicks that feel like old friends that you may really know and zippy humor keep this moving at a strong and steady clip right to the end. Ms. Evanovich is a master at characterization, making you care so much about her people that you want to invite them over again and again. ****

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2005

    Second Look

    I wouldn't buy this at first. I wanted more Stephanie Plum. BUT I caved in and... much to my surprise I enjoyed another 'heroine' after I read it. Barney is different but I grew fond of her and the other characters in the book [some of them]. Amusing, light reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2005

    She's Baaaaack!!

    This book brings back the 'Laugh Out Loud, I have to put the book down to get control' humor of the early Stephanie Plum books. While I still enjoy the Plum series, it has not been as funny in the last few books. Metro Girl brings some of that humor back with snappy characters and unusual humor. I hope to see more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2005

    Move over Stephanie, here comes Barnie

    I love Stephanie Plum, but we need a sequel to Metro Girl. I have all the Audio books. I would love to listen to more about Hooker, Wild Bill and Barnie! This could be a brand new series. C.J. Critt I love the way you make the stories come alive

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2005

    Bring Barney on.

    I really thought that this book was really funny. Of course it is not gonna beat Stephanie Plum, but people keep an open mind. Try something new. Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2005

    it was okay...but not the best

    I really enjoyed this book. i have read ALL of Janet Evanovich's book...and i admit it wasnt one of her bests but it was still a great book. some things were far-fetched...and they said NASCAR to many times (that got annoying) and it was not taken seriously. but i give 4 stars because i still loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    Move Over Steph, Barney's Got the Inside Lane!

    Great beginning to a new series. Characters not quite as bizzare as in the Plum books, but charming and an enjoyable read. Mind candy at its best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2004

    You Auto Hear This One!

    Best-selling author Janet Evanovich has named voice performer C. J. Critt as one of her favorite readers. She'll be a favorite of many after they hear her crisp, exhilarating performance of 'Metro Girl.,' one more fast paced adventure from Evanovich. I know, I know we all loved Stephanie Plum, and we still do. But wait until you meet this author's latest heroine - Alexandra Barnaby a.k.a. Barney. She's a gal who knows her way around cars and loves them. Barney may have worn overalls to work in her dad's garage, but even those unflattering duds couldn't hide a gorgeous figure. Her fondness for autos seems to run in the family, as her younger brother 'Wild' Bill Barnaby is also a demon for wheels. Problem is Bill is supposed to be in Miami, but he's not. He's vanished along with NASCAR driver Sam Hooker's boat (a sixty-five-foot Hatteras). Need we mention the name of the boat? The 'Happy Hooker,' of course. Barney tears off to Florida in search of brother Bill. What she initially finds is the attractive Sam Hooker. (Listeners know from the first eye-to-eye that the two will be a pair, but it's super fun to hear them parry). The search continues in Cuba and evolves into the kind of broad intrigue that only Evanovich would imagine. Plenty of hot pursuits and hot romance in 'Metro Girl,' and Barney can handle it all. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2004

    Another Series in my Hopes

    Janet Evanovich does it again. This Book is the start of another series, i can feel it on the roll. can't wait for the next. The Characters are funny as ever and it's got NASCAR!!!!!!!! This book is KICK BUTT!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3