Customer Reviews for

Mew Is for Murder (Theda Krakow Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

strong investigative mystery

It hasn¿t been a very good year for Theda Krakow, copy editor for the Morning Mail in Cambridge, Massachusetts. She and her boyfriend broke up when he took a job out of state and even more devastating her beloved cat James died. She quits as a copy editor to become a ...
It hasn¿t been a very good year for Theda Krakow, copy editor for the Morning Mail in Cambridge, Massachusetts. She and her boyfriend broke up when he took a job out of state and even more devastating her beloved cat James died. She quits as a copy editor to become a freelance writer for the Morning Mail. When she sees a kitten near a house in her neighborhood, she finds herself charmed by her. The kitten Mussetta belongs to Lillian Helmhold who has a house full of cats that people dump on her. --- Theda decides to do a story on Ms. Helmhold but on the day she approaches her she finds her dead in the house. The police think Lillian tripped and a resulting head injury caused her death but the victim¿s friend Violet Hayes thinks she was murdered. Theda believes it is a possibility and starts investigating even while she thinks someone is in the house illegally, looking for something. --- Clea Simon has a definite talent for writing investigative mysteries and her love for felines shine through on almost every page. Theda is gutsy, independent and totally likeable. The who-done-it is well crafted and readers will have a good time trying to figure out who the killer is and why it was necessary to kill an elderly lady who hurt no one. MEW IS FOR MURDER is a delightful start to a new series.--- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Slow Read

Too much detail about stuff that didn't pertain to the main story. I found myself skipping over pages just to get to the "meat" of the story.

posted by 11300483 on March 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Fun

    I like mixing up my reading. Sometimes I want to be moved or learn something. Sometimes I wish to be entertained. I was entertained here. The writing is clever. I learned something about the club scene and freelance writing without it being pushy or dull. The characters are real and relatable. No gore. No obscence language. Simply a murder mystery well written and enjoyable. I will read more from this author because I feel like I just cant stop at one!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Engaging story

    An engaging mystery with enough red herrings to keep it interesting. Especially good for cat lovers.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Incredible Debut!

    Mew is for Murder is the first book in a terrific series featuring freelance writer & cat lover Theda Krakow.Following a precious stray kitten, Theda stumbles upon an old woman holed up in a decrepit house full of cats.Thea goes to interview " cat " lady Lillian and finds her dead.Everything points to her death being an accident except for the fact that someone keeps breaking into Lillian's house.It is rumored there is hidden treasure in the house.Theda is determined to get to the bottom of things and prove Lillian was murdered and why.The neighbors are celebrating her demise. The local police aren't listening to Thea's claims it wasn't an accident.Thea skilled with her investigative journalism savvy jumps in to find Lillian's killer & save the lovable kitties left behind.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Easy read and a good story.

    Easy read, good characters. Looking forward to additional books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Good book

    Sweet read about smart kitties

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Great read for fun.

    Look forward to more from this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Very enjoyable quick read!

    I initially got this book as a free Friday read and since I am a sucker for a good mystery and a cuddly cat or two, I was sure I would like it. As expected, this book had a great quirky heroine who is thrown into adventure and is surrounded by lots of fabulous felines. The mystery was decent with very interesting characters around every corner and had a decent if not predictable ending. What was unexpected was the insight into the life of freelance writers and journalists, and a full immersion into Boston nightlife and underground music clubs. I enjoyed the crash music course as the author lushly describes the sounds of many different musical styles so convincingly I could almost hear it. As a quazi musician and music lover/nerd extraordinaire, to say I enjoyed all of the musical references in this books would be a gross understatement! Unfortunately the plot was a bit weak, which was a shame as the character development and descriptive writing were well done. All in all it was a fun little mystery written by an author who has taken the time to really research her topics and include personal experiences. The end result is the feeling that I have been to and met everyone in Theda's Boston neighborhood, listened to some great bands, and got to spend quality with some very special animals that felt real to me. I for one am ready to read the next Theda Krakow mystery!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Liked

    This was a fun filled, quirky mystery. It was a nice fast read. It was pretty well edited. There was some sex in this book, but it was not of the hot and steamy variety. In fact the sex could have been left out all together and would not have made a difference. The langauge is clean. The plot was nice. There are some humorous parts. This was a good mystery, which did not throw the villian in your face at the get go. In fact, it was a puzzler for quite a while and hard to put down. This book was about 400 pages long. I would recommend for mature readers 16 and up.

    AD

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    Cute Story!

    Great mystery with a romance and cats--who could ask for anything more? I will definitely be purchasing more of the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Pleasant read

    This is a pleasant, light read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Fun book for mystery lovers.

    I really enjoyed this first book in the series. I am looking forward to reading the rest. The story line was believable and kept moving in a realistic manner.

    Nice book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    Cat Lovers Will Enjoy!

    I loved the cats and kitten in this story. The author also describes coffee shops and food as if she was partaking while writing and it makes me hungry, but also feel as if I were right there. I will definitely read the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Great

    Great mystery with unusual twists, fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2