BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Mew Is for Murder (Theda Krakow Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

strong investigative mystery

It hasn¿t been a very good year for Theda Krakow, copy editor for the Morning Mail in Cambridge, Massachusetts. She and her boyfriend broke up when he took a job out of state and even more devastating her beloved cat James died. She quits as a copy editor to become a ...
It hasn¿t been a very good year for Theda Krakow, copy editor for the Morning Mail in Cambridge, Massachusetts. She and her boyfriend broke up when he took a job out of state and even more devastating her beloved cat James died. She quits as a copy editor to become a freelance writer for the Morning Mail. When she sees a kitten near a house in her neighborhood, she finds herself charmed by her. The kitten Mussetta belongs to Lillian Helmhold who has a house full of cats that people dump on her. --- Theda decides to do a story on Ms. Helmhold but on the day she approaches her she finds her dead in the house. The police think Lillian tripped and a resulting head injury caused her death but the victim¿s friend Violet Hayes thinks she was murdered. Theda believes it is a possibility and starts investigating even while she thinks someone is in the house illegally, looking for something. --- Clea Simon has a definite talent for writing investigative mysteries and her love for felines shine through on almost every page. Theda is gutsy, independent and totally likeable. The who-done-it is well crafted and readers will have a good time trying to figure out who the killer is and why it was necessary to kill an elderly lady who hurt no one. MEW IS FOR MURDER is a delightful start to a new series.--- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Slow Read

Too much detail about stuff that didn't pertain to the main story. I found myself skipping over pages just to get to the "meat" of the story.

posted by 11300483 on March 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    strong investigative mystery

    It hasn¿t been a very good year for Theda Krakow, copy editor for the Morning Mail in Cambridge, Massachusetts. She and her boyfriend broke up when he took a job out of state and even more devastating her beloved cat James died. She quits as a copy editor to become a freelance writer for the Morning Mail. When she sees a kitten near a house in her neighborhood, she finds herself charmed by her. The kitten Mussetta belongs to Lillian Helmhold who has a house full of cats that people dump on her. --- Theda decides to do a story on Ms. Helmhold but on the day she approaches her she finds her dead in the house. The police think Lillian tripped and a resulting head injury caused her death but the victim¿s friend Violet Hayes thinks she was murdered. Theda believes it is a possibility and starts investigating even while she thinks someone is in the house illegally, looking for something. --- Clea Simon has a definite talent for writing investigative mysteries and her love for felines shine through on almost every page. Theda is gutsy, independent and totally likeable. The who-done-it is well crafted and readers will have a good time trying to figure out who the killer is and why it was necessary to kill an elderly lady who hurt no one. MEW IS FOR MURDER is a delightful start to a new series.--- Harriet Klausner

    17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2005

    Hip and smart

    Hip, smart and full of surprises. Simon's done something new with mysteries here--blending rock 'n roll, cats and a heroine so real you swear she's roaming in your neighborhood. Theda's down on her luck--but she doesn't take no for an answer when it comes to solving a mystery, even when everyone insists there is no mystery to solve. I truly loved this book and cannot wait for Simon's next!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book. I could not put it down.

    I really enjoyed this book. I could not put it down.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mew is for Murder, Musetta and a purrfect Mystery

    "Mew is for Murder" is the first in a series by Clea Simon, featuring freelance writer and rock and roll lover Theda Krakow and her cat Musetta. In addition to a great mystery, which begins when Theda shows up at a local "cat lady's" home to interview her and finds her dead, and which features suspects ranging from the coffee-bar waitress who helped the murder victim take care of the cats to the victim's schizophrenic son, Simon also shares her love of Cambridge, the setting of the story, as well as her forays into the Boston music scene. Filled with well-developed and likeable characters, this book is a thoroughly enjoyable read that leaves the reader wanting more. Thankfully, there are three more books in this series: "Cries and Whiskers," "Cattery Row," and "Probable Claws."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Don't miss this series!

    Great book! Keeps you guessing. I'm going to read them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Jigglestar

    Poopiemon got to poop them all

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    HOW DARE YOU JIGGLESTAR!?!??!?!?!

    You are banned for life for disrespecting pokemon. Goodbye. I said 'Goodbye'. WHY ARE YOU STILL READING????????????? Get out of my face!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Fawntail

    Yes u can uj

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    To the two cats here

    Please go to main camp.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Map of the Pokemon rp

    Res1|map| 2|bios| 3-15|camp| 4-16|woods| 17-20|pokemon daycare| 21-25|pokemon center| 26-35|pokemart| 36-39|ancient ruins| 40-50|pokemon league/battle stadium* 51&beyond|unexplored areas••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••• *pokemon league is during the fall&winter;the battle stadium is open the rest of the year.~Finn

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Mew

    Sh float in looking for lucario

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Skystar

    Who are you? DREAD?!?!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Beesting and Twistedtoe

    Two cats walk side by side into the camp, looking exhausted. One is a tom, the other a she-cat. The she-cat looks particulary worn down. Abruptly, they look up at the leader in sync. "Hello. My name is Beesting, and this is my companion Twistedtoe. She is trained in the ways of medicine, and if it weren't for her, I'd have died on the journey here." The tom says, while Twistedtoe looks down and blushes. "Anyone could have."She mumbled. Beesting looks skeptical but doesn't argue. "We would like to join."

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Mew #2

    Hi!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Good cat mystery

    I have read lots of cat involed mysteries this was a very good one, it kept me interested to the end even if I did figure out who did it early on. I would diffinetly recomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Mew

    Enjoyed this mystery. Great characters and ofcourse the cats.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    This is a cute book that I would highly recommend .

    I could not stop reading when I reached home had to keep reading this book till it was finished . Normally I have three or four books at different places that I will read when I am at that location but not this book I stayed with it till it was over, I hope you enjoy this mystery as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2