BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Mew Is for Murder (Theda Krakow Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

strong investigative mystery

It hasn¿t been a very good year for Theda Krakow, copy editor for the Morning Mail in Cambridge, Massachusetts. She and her boyfriend broke up when he took a job out of state and even more devastating her beloved cat James died. She quits as a copy editor to become a ...
It hasn¿t been a very good year for Theda Krakow, copy editor for the Morning Mail in Cambridge, Massachusetts. She and her boyfriend broke up when he took a job out of state and even more devastating her beloved cat James died. She quits as a copy editor to become a freelance writer for the Morning Mail. When she sees a kitten near a house in her neighborhood, she finds herself charmed by her. The kitten Mussetta belongs to Lillian Helmhold who has a house full of cats that people dump on her. --- Theda decides to do a story on Ms. Helmhold but on the day she approaches her she finds her dead in the house. The police think Lillian tripped and a resulting head injury caused her death but the victim¿s friend Violet Hayes thinks she was murdered. Theda believes it is a possibility and starts investigating even while she thinks someone is in the house illegally, looking for something. --- Clea Simon has a definite talent for writing investigative mysteries and her love for felines shine through on almost every page. Theda is gutsy, independent and totally likeable. The who-done-it is well crafted and readers will have a good time trying to figure out who the killer is and why it was necessary to kill an elderly lady who hurt no one. MEW IS FOR MURDER is a delightful start to a new series.--- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Slow Read

Too much detail about stuff that didn't pertain to the main story. I found myself skipping over pages just to get to the "meat" of the story.

posted by 11300483 on March 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    strong investigative mystery

    It hasn¿t been a very good year for Theda Krakow, copy editor for the Morning Mail in Cambridge, Massachusetts. She and her boyfriend broke up when he took a job out of state and even more devastating her beloved cat James died. She quits as a copy editor to become a freelance writer for the Morning Mail. When she sees a kitten near a house in her neighborhood, she finds herself charmed by her. The kitten Mussetta belongs to Lillian Helmhold who has a house full of cats that people dump on her. --- Theda decides to do a story on Ms. Helmhold but on the day she approaches her she finds her dead in the house. The police think Lillian tripped and a resulting head injury caused her death but the victim¿s friend Violet Hayes thinks she was murdered. Theda believes it is a possibility and starts investigating even while she thinks someone is in the house illegally, looking for something. --- Clea Simon has a definite talent for writing investigative mysteries and her love for felines shine through on almost every page. Theda is gutsy, independent and totally likeable. The who-done-it is well crafted and readers will have a good time trying to figure out who the killer is and why it was necessary to kill an elderly lady who hurt no one. MEW IS FOR MURDER is a delightful start to a new series.--- Harriet Klausner

    17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2005

    Hip and smart

    Hip, smart and full of surprises. Simon's done something new with mysteries here--blending rock 'n roll, cats and a heroine so real you swear she's roaming in your neighborhood. Theda's down on her luck--but she doesn't take no for an answer when it comes to solving a mystery, even when everyone insists there is no mystery to solve. I truly loved this book and cannot wait for Simon's next!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Fun

    I like mixing up my reading. Sometimes I want to be moved or learn something. Sometimes I wish to be entertained. I was entertained here. The writing is clever. I learned something about the club scene and freelance writing without it being pushy or dull. The characters are real and relatable. No gore. No obscence language. Simply a murder mystery well written and enjoyable. I will read more from this author because I feel like I just cant stop at one!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Engaging story

    An engaging mystery with enough red herrings to keep it interesting. Especially good for cat lovers.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Incredible Debut!

    Mew is for Murder is the first book in a terrific series featuring freelance writer & cat lover Theda Krakow.Following a precious stray kitten, Theda stumbles upon an old woman holed up in a decrepit house full of cats.Thea goes to interview " cat " lady Lillian and finds her dead.Everything points to her death being an accident except for the fact that someone keeps breaking into Lillian's house.It is rumored there is hidden treasure in the house.Theda is determined to get to the bottom of things and prove Lillian was murdered and why.The neighbors are celebrating her demise. The local police aren't listening to Thea's claims it wasn't an accident.Thea skilled with her investigative journalism savvy jumps in to find Lillian's killer & save the lovable kitties left behind.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Easy read and a good story.

    Easy read, good characters. Looking forward to additional books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    I really enjoyed this book. I could not put it down.

    I really enjoyed this book. I could not put it down.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Good book

    Sweet read about smart kitties

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Slow Read

    Too much detail about stuff that didn't pertain to the main story. I found myself skipping over pages just to get to the "meat" of the story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mew is for Murder, Musetta and a purrfect Mystery

    "Mew is for Murder" is the first in a series by Clea Simon, featuring freelance writer and rock and roll lover Theda Krakow and her cat Musetta. In addition to a great mystery, which begins when Theda shows up at a local "cat lady's" home to interview her and finds her dead, and which features suspects ranging from the coffee-bar waitress who helped the murder victim take care of the cats to the victim's schizophrenic son, Simon also shares her love of Cambridge, the setting of the story, as well as her forays into the Boston music scene. Filled with well-developed and likeable characters, this book is a thoroughly enjoyable read that leaves the reader wanting more. Thankfully, there are three more books in this series: "Cries and Whiskers," "Cattery Row," and "Probable Claws."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Great read for fun.

    Look forward to more from this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Very enjoyable quick read!

    I initially got this book as a free Friday read and since I am a sucker for a good mystery and a cuddly cat or two, I was sure I would like it. As expected, this book had a great quirky heroine who is thrown into adventure and is surrounded by lots of fabulous felines. The mystery was decent with very interesting characters around every corner and had a decent if not predictable ending. What was unexpected was the insight into the life of freelance writers and journalists, and a full immersion into Boston nightlife and underground music clubs. I enjoyed the crash music course as the author lushly describes the sounds of many different musical styles so convincingly I could almost hear it. As a quazi musician and music lover/nerd extraordinaire, to say I enjoyed all of the musical references in this books would be a gross understatement! Unfortunately the plot was a bit weak, which was a shame as the character development and descriptive writing were well done. All in all it was a fun little mystery written by an author who has taken the time to really research her topics and include personal experiences. The end result is the feeling that I have been to and met everyone in Theda's Boston neighborhood, listened to some great bands, and got to spend quality with some very special animals that felt real to me. I for one am ready to read the next Theda Krakow mystery!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    Great little cozy mystery with some romance.

    Pretty well developed characters. Loved the feline herd & their personalities. Fast read but didn't drag. Wasn't boring and kept my interest the whole time. Lots of interesting story lines & good plot development. Will read more of the author if I run across her but won't go out of my way to hunt her down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Don't miss this series!

    Great book! Keeps you guessing. I'm going to read them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Jigglestar

    Poopiemon got to poop them all

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    HOW DARE YOU JIGGLESTAR!?!??!?!?!

    You are banned for life for disrespecting pokemon. Goodbye. I said 'Goodbye'. WHY ARE YOU STILL READING????????????? Get out of my face!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Fawntail

    Yes u can uj

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    To the two cats here

    Please go to main camp.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Map of the Pokemon rp

    Res1|map| 2|bios| 3-15|camp| 4-16|woods| 17-20|pokemon daycare| 21-25|pokemon center| 26-35|pokemart| 36-39|ancient ruins| 40-50|pokemon league/battle stadium* 51&beyond|unexplored areas••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••• *pokemon league is during the fall&winter;the battle stadium is open the rest of the year.~Finn

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    Mew

    Sh float in looking for lucario

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4