Customer Reviews for

MIA's Heart

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    Mia's Heart is the second book in The Paradise Diaries series by

    Mia's Heart is the second book in The Paradise Diaries series by Courtney Cole. It's a wonderful young adult novel about a girl named Mia who loses her memory. Despite everyone trying to remind her of everything, she struggles to remember anything. Most of all, she struggles with not knowing who she really is. Her love life is a mess. She finds herself being attracted to Gavin, her best friend that she has known for years. But there is also Quinn, the guy from America that she met shortly before her head injury. It's hard to know who you should be with when you don't even know yourself.

    I enjoyed this book very much. Mia is a very likable character and you can't help but feel sorry for her. It would be scary to wake up and not remember a thing about your life. She's very easy to connect with. The situation she faced made her grow as a person throughout the book.

    The love triangle was interesting. For the first half of the book, I couldn't decide which guy I liked better – much like Mia. Both guys had great qualities and she didn't want to hurt either one. In the end, I'm glad she went with the decision she made.

    I liked this book even better than the first, Dante's Girl. Reading the first book isn't really required before reading this one. The main characters in this book were just background characters in the first. I'm glad that Mia got her own story. For the guy that Mia didn't choose - I would like to see him get his own story as well. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys young adult contemporary romances. I would recommend it to older teens though, because there are some adult situations involved.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I just loved the first book in this series, Dante's Girl, so I w

    I just loved the first book in this series, Dante's Girl, so I was so excited to be able to read Mia's Heart.  The setting of the book is again the beautiful island of Caberra, which is located not far from Greece.  We met Mia in Dante's Girl.  He father is the Ministry of Defense for Caberra, and she, Dante, and Gavin are best friends.  When Reece, Dante's girlfriend from Kansas entered the picture, they soon became BFF's also.  The other character in this story, we heard a lot about in book one and got to meet him briefly, is Quinn, who is also from Kansas and now is an exchange student living with Dante's Giliberti's family.  Dante's father is the Prime Minister of Caberra.  Mia has always been rebellious, dying her hair black with streaks of vibrant color, she is outspoken, and a bit of a badass, according to her friends.  She has a rather "difficult" relationship with her mother and the two always seem to be at odds with one another.  Mia's mom expects her to act and dress a certain way because of her father's position, and Mia  doesn't think she ought to have to be forced to be someone she isn't, and sort of takes it to the extreme in the other direction.  She is taken aback when she meets Quinn for the first time, especially when he causes her heart to flutter, because she hasn't met a guy who can do this to her before.  




     Mia and Gavin are best friends and both love to scuba dive and snorkel.  On this particular day, Gavin has also invited Quinn to join them.  Despite the somewhat rough seas, they head out in Gavin's boat.  When Mia and Gavin jump in the water they notice something isn't quite right, they feel a rumble, see a cloud of sediment, and immediately realize what is happening.  They get back in the boat as fast as they can and fly back to shore.  What they find is devastating.  Everything is in shambles, rubble is everywhere, power lines are down, all the after effects of the earthquake they just experienced.  Mia insists that they stop by her house to check on her mom, which they do, and they find her house is also in shambles.  Determined to make sure her mom is okay, she enters anyway, followed by Quinn and Gavin.  Something falls, and the next thing she knows, she is waking up in the hospital unable to remember who she is or anything about her life or the people in it.  As Mia recovers, she begins to see Gavin in a whole new light, and then the hot American cowboy Quinn, also does all kinds of fluttery things to her insides.  As she struggles to regain her memory and her friends begin to fill her in on who she was and what she was like, she begins to question everything in her life, the way she was, the way she is, who she really is, and what she wants from life, and somewhere along the journey, she finds out what her heart really wants. 




     I really enjoyed this book.  Mia's story was great, and I just loved getting to know her, as she discovered who she really is and what her heart really wants.  Gavin and Quinn.....what hotties.......and how's a girl to choose.  Gavin is the sexy, dark, tanned, island god whose smile could melt hearts and he seems to know so much about Mia.  Then there is Quinn, the cowboy with the lopsided grin who radiates self-confidence, is 6 feet 6 inches of hottness, and even though he has only known Quinn a short time, he seems to see past her facade and read her like book.  Needless to say, there are some really interesting things that take place in this story.  We also get to see Dante and Reece again, and it was so much fun finding out what was going on with them.  I enjoyed seeing the relationship between Mia and her family, especially her mom, change as she recovers from this injury.  There is a love triangle in this book, but it is really well done, and I have to say Courtney Cole did an excellent job with that, and the whole story.  Mia's Heart is fun, entertaining, heart warming, and also has some great romantic moments in it.  This was a great second book in this wonderful series and I thoroughly enjoyed it.  If you are a YA contemporary romance fan, this is something you should  check out.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    ??????

    Is there not to be at least one other in this series??? Loved them so far want more....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Another winner

    Another winner by Courtney Cole. I can't wait to read the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    I adored book one in The Paradise Diaries, Dante's Girl, when I

    I adored book one in The Paradise Diaries, Dante's Girl, when I read it over the summer. Dante and Reese were adorable and I fell in love with both of them, as well as their friend, Mia. When I learned that not only there was another book, but that it was Mia's, I was thrilled.

    Mia's Heart was a fun, thoughtful, yet light story. When the story begins, Mia is an unhappy girl. I loved her fun, rebellious personality in Dante's Girl, but never realized how miserable she was. As the daughter of a government official, she is expected to behave in a gracious, respectful manner. But that's just not Mia. When Mia is hurt in a freak accident, she loses her memory. Her parents use this as an opportunity to "reform" her, to convince her she's the docile, well-behaved daughter they wish she was. Her friends rally around her, helping her navigate a life she doesn't remember.

    And...there are two boys, Gavin and Quinn. They're both characters we met in Dante's Girl, both really great guys. Gavin is Mia's best friend, but she doesn't remember that. She only sees him as this gorgeous guy who is sweet, mischievous, and can relate to her crazy stressful life. Quinn is Reese's friend, a real-life American cowboy. Charming, jaw-droppingly handsome, and clearly into her, Mia can't help but fall for Quinn.

    Mia is a spirited girls who grabs onto life, and the boys, with both hands. But she also experience character growth that I was afraid wouldn't happen, but am happy it did because it made her journey that much stronger. I will say that while I do enjoy the tone of the stories, Mia's "voice" felt, to me, almost exactly like Reese's in Dante's Girl. I enjoy it, they're funny girls, but I almost felt as if Mia and Reese were the same character and I would have liked more distinction, or uniqueness, between the two girls. Still, I really liked the story.

    A gorgeous Mediterranean island. Two guys. One girl with a past of lost memories, Mia's Heart is a sweet ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Courtney Cole has quickly become one of my fave authors. Creatin

    Courtney Cole has quickly become one of my fave authors. Creating wonderful story lines along with amazing characters, I know that once I immerse myself in her story, there's no looking back.




    What I loved most about this book is the plot line. The reader is introduce to Mia who has lived a life so calculated  Everything must be presentable. Everything must be in order. And Mia, like every other teen has rebelled. So when she loose her memory, I was anxious to see if she would change or come back just as she was. I like that Mia does change as she does see's herself in a different light. Mia's loosing her memory helped her look at the bigger picture instead of the confined box she was in.




    Now, the love interest definitely took me on a spin. I like that Mia has a friend from the past and once from the present fighting for her heart. Both guys are admirable but only one truly loves her. I enjoyed how each male fought her affection fairly. With Mia's loosing her memory, each guy has a fair shot. Along with other calamity going on, Mia learns so much a bout herself as well as others around her. She learns to fight for what she believes in her heart.




    Mia's Heart is a beautiful romantic story, filled with stolen moments.  It's a timeless romantic of finding love right in front of your face. Mia's Heart is a stunning romance that you will love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    What an excellent sequel to The Paradise Diaries Series! Mia is

    What an excellent sequel to The Paradise Diaries Series!

    Mia is Dante's old friend, they've known each other since they started grade school and she's also Reece's new best friend. But after everything that happened in Dante's Girl, Reece and Dante couldn't bare to be apart and Dante decided to finish high school with Reece back in America, leaving Mia alone and bitter for being left behind. Her only friend being her other grade school chum, Gavin - the class clown and adventurer that knows exactly how to distract her and put a smile on her face.
    Mia is quite the spunky rebellious teen who thrives to do the opposite of what he parents want her to do and be. When she meets Quinn, the foreign exchange student that is staying at Dante's home, who also happens to be Reece's ex-crush, and is instantly drawn to his southern charm and boyish looks, the new school year doesn't look so bleak anymore.

    Before anything can really happen, Mia suffers a head injury and has amnesia.

    Mia has no idea who anyone is, what has happened or what her name is. Confused, lost and frustrated - through her gut instincts, she soon discovers that her personality does not fit what her parents are telling her, that she was just as lost and confused then as she is now, and could her friend, Gavin, be more than that? Or is Quinn the one that she was falling for?
    But how can she let matters of the heart take priority over remembering who she was?
    Does she want to remember? Or should she start fresh again... with Gavin?
    Or Quinn?

    I have to admit, both Gavin and Quinn made my head spin - I was just as confused as Mia was. They're both exceptionally well-meaning, caring and charming boys. They both wanted what was best for Mia...
    or do they?

    Courtney Cole has a gift for creating mesmerizing and memorable characters that every can fall in love with. Mia's heart was another fast-paced page-turner that is definitely a must read!
    I am really looking forward to the third book in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    Mia's Heart picks up immediately following the conclusion of Dan

    Mia's Heart picks up immediately following the conclusion of Dante's Girl. After the attempted assassination of the Prime Minister of Valese; Reece was whisked away to return hometown in Kansas. Dante's creative and heart warming ending was perfect for the transition into this second story, and jealousy resulting in the exchange of Quinn McKeney was hiliarious. Little did I know that this switch would set the stage for a romance in book two. After completing this second installment I am having a very difficult time comparing, because even after the devoted love I felt toward book one I think Mia's Heart might have turned out even better. From the start I completely fell in love with Dante and Reece, but it was surprising how much more I found with Mia and Quinn. Quinn is an American Cowboy in the middle of paradise. Really!!! What is not to love? Secondly, Mia's character is just kick a**. I loved her in book one, and as her own story unfolds I found even more to her than I would have imagined. As I spent the majority of this book rooting for the two of them it was a long and tedious ride. It seems it took longer to get around to the romance in this story than that of Dante and Reece's story, but it was well worth the wait. While I love Gavin there was something all along that just made me want to lash out irrationally when they come together for their brief stint. I don't know what it is in particular about him, but Quinn just seems so much more REAL... He is not afraid to tell it like it is, or what he thinks even if it throws him out of his comfort zone. Gavin just seems to be more a yes man; he will accomplish whatever it takes to please you. I don't want a pleaser; give me a man that will tell you when you wrong and stand up for you when your right... AKA Quinn!!!! All of the Paradise Diaries are clean young adult romances that will make your heart skip a beat. I am anxious to she what Cole will do with Gavin in book three. Will he continue to be the person we have know, or like Mia will this twist his character. More importantly, will a special someone make him into a even better man. 
    ~BookWhisperer Reviewer JO~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    I remember telling the author that I really liked Mia after I ha

    I remember telling the author that I really liked Mia after I had read Dante's Girl. When she told me that Mia would have her own book I was thrilled! Mia's Heart was everything I expected it to be; fun, flirty, and well-written. 




    Mia's always been a bit of a rebel. She has a tough time following the rules her parents have set in place. She has piercings, dyes her hair with bright colors, and tends to live a bit dangerously. After the earthquake, she's changed. I mean...obviously since she can't remember anything, but she's also gained a new perspective on life. I enjoyed watching Mia rediscover herself. 




    As for the boys and the romance....what's not to like about Quinn and Gavin. Quinn is a dreamy cowboy that Mia likes, but isn't really sure she wants to.  Gavin is her best friend. They've grown up together, but since her memory loss she thinks there might be something more. This is one of those times I don't mind love triangles. You know when you like both boys and you as a reader have a tough time choosing? Yep, that's how it was for me. I mean, I was pulling for Quinn, but Gavin tugged at me too. I honestly would have been happy with either turn out, but to fit the flow of the series...it worked out the way it was supposed to. 




    I was thrilled that Reese and Dante came back to the island. I had been sad when I thought they would be back in the US for the rest of the series. It was fun to see them return and I loved seeing them still so in love with each other. 




    Mia's Heart was a great addition to this easy reading series. If you're looking to start a funny, flirty, and sweet series...check this one out. It's perfectly suited for readers who enjoy YA Contemporaries. Appropriate for mature 15+ readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1