Customer Reviews for

Micah (Anita Blake Vampire Hunter Series #13)

Average Rating 3.5
( 750 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(287)

4 Star

(169)

3 Star

(156)

2 Star

(64)

1 Star

(74)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

6.99 for 100 pages???

I'll be sure to check the reviews before i buy another ebook. I can't believe they charged 6.99 for 100 pages.

posted by 132078 on May 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Rip off!

I purchased this via ebook for my nook for $6.99 and it only has 101 pages (including title pages, dedication pages,intro)! I've read all the anita blake books up to this point and they are getting worse and worse. the more recent ones were like reading pornos, less vam...
I purchased this via ebook for my nook for $6.99 and it only has 101 pages (including title pages, dedication pages,intro)! I've read all the anita blake books up to this point and they are getting worse and worse. the more recent ones were like reading pornos, less vampire and lycanthrope actions and more sex and this ardeur thing. It got to the point where I skip pages and pages of the sex stuff (the way its written gets repeatative and boring). This book actually had more "action" than sex, but then again it was less than a hundred pages of story. I'm disappointed. Lauren Hamilton likes to repeat her lines in each book so when you have a "thin" book, you don't really get anything new. Nothing original in this one...just more blah.

posted by kookieTX on May 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    6.99 for 100 pages???

    I'll be sure to check the reviews before i buy another ebook. I can't believe they charged 6.99 for 100 pages.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Necessary

    This was a short book comared to Laurell Hamilton's normal books, BUT... the was a necessary book and it gave insight to Micah's past. The series needed a story on Micah!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    I love the Laurell K. Hamilton's Anita Blake Vampire Slayer series of books.

    I have read books 1 - 13 of Laurell K. Hamilton's Anita Blake Vampire Slayer series and I love them all. I am getting ready to start number 14 and will continue reading the series until it ends, which hopefully will not be soon. I consider them my 'guilty pleasures' of reading. I read a wide variety of books on many different topics, but these are for simple endulgance. Each book in the series is sexy, suspenseful, dramatic and entertaining. Each character is uniquely developed and plays a critical role. They are great books to escape reality for a while and enter into a world of magic, mystacism and pure abandon. Through the series the main character, Anita Blake, develops into a much more intricate and complicated person than even she thought she would be. Through much resistance and self exploration she comes to accept herself for who she is and who she is becoming. This story speaks on many different levels about coming into one's own and personal acceptance. Of course, the vampires, were-animals, witches, psychic etc. always help to keep things interesting. I recommend these books for anyone willing to let their imaginations run wild into a completely different yet very relevant world to the one in which we live.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Good but not her best.

    I think Micah deserved a better book then this but it was still a very good read. I love all of this series and am waiting on needles for the rease of the next in line. Hamelton is an amazing author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Another Winner

    I love this series and all of it's characters. It is scary, thrilling & and different. It has a strong women that knows what she wants...most of the time. Sometimes she repeats her sex life so much you want to yell enough, but other than that I love this series, and book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great Author

    Greatb Story Line Very Exciting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great book!

    This book is a great addition to the series. It's short but sweet, giving you a deeper insight to the character Micah. It's definitely the shortest book in the series and can be read through in a coup[le days but it gives you valuable insight into the relationship between Anita and Micah as well as explain his past which up until this point has been somewhat of a mystery. Not recommended for young readers. Adult material.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    recommend highly

    i love all her books -i liked learning more about micah-although i was kind of disappointed that the book was so much shorter than any of the other books-it was great though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Great read even though it was short!

    I will say that this book was far too short, and VERY unlike hamilton to be. With that being said it was still a good book. I got to learn more about Micah, finally, but it seems as if it wasnt enough. I want to know more! The story had a great plot, and was very unexpected. I do agree that the price was a little steep for a 100 page book, but anything with Hamilton's name on it, in my opinion, deserves it. I was wondering though before starting this one, what happened to Edward? I want to see him again! He was a great character. And I understand that a lot of people are getting fed up with all of the sex and the 'ardeur', but I cant say that I am. When I think of vampires I think about sex, money, blood, and power. In order to have a true vampire series you have to have all of those, and notice which came first in that lineup? I am looking forward to the next book in this series... I hear its a good one. I really hope people truly dont skip this book. But then again, real Anita Blake fans wouldnt!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Micah is a great part of the Anita Blake Series

    Though Anita and Micah are the main characters in this book, it sheds more light on the issues that Anita must face as she becomes more bound to Jean-Claude and Richard.
    I look forward to the continuing saga.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    Micah

    It was nice to have more character development of Micah. It helps make sense of some of the looks and the way he says things. It could have been more, but I liked it none the less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    One of the best books i have read but not my favoriate

    I loike the anita blake books but how much time it seems that she has to make a choice she takes so long but maybe its a good thing? =S

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    i had been waiting for the next book to some out. when i got it i saw how then it was and man was i bummed. I read it, and it seemed like a short story. The plot, the whole series is the plot. The point, well through all the fightings and the problems, Anita doesnt get to have alone time with Micha. Sure at the end of some books they practicly rid off into the moonlight together, but theres no true one on one time. So, finnaly we have a moment of just the two of them. Time to take a moment and bond with her number one kitty cat. This was a huge stepping stone for the next book. Remeber folks, every word has its reason.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2007

    Its a good book.

    Micah is a good book whether or not people say so. Its not a regular Anita Blake book but one that deals mostly in the relationship of Anita and Micah. So give the book a chance and read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2006

    Necromancy is back

    'Micah' was a breath of fresh air. Yes, the sex was still there, but her job as a necromancer was the dominant theme. Her intelligence was back and her knowledge of her job was supreme. It was nice to learn the history of Micah and to also see some of the old, dry humor resurface. I recommend this novella to the Anita Blake series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2006

    Micah- short by ohhhh So Sweet

    I am a long time fan of Laurell K. Hamilton's, I have yet to miss a book by this author. Anita and Micha are just the perfect combination for this job, A Grave Yard Reanimation that yields some interesting surprises! This book shows more insight into Micha's 'beginings' and has made him an even more solid 'player' in Anita's world. It set the stage for future 'twists and surprises'. In prior books, the long term characters 'pasts' unfolded with each new book, Micah however never got his due - That had to be addressed and this book does just that. Micah is not a 'fly by night' in the continuing Vampire Hunter series, and with this book, Hamilton has set the stage to assure that Micha is in it for the long haul or at least until Hamilton finds a reason to see to his distruction and cause us to mourn a character that we can now feel we really know. Is it erotic - you bet, as has been the case since the very first book gave solid hints on 'things to come'. Short or not, don't miss this Book, it sheds a new light on Micah that will add 'flavor' to future books in this series. I read Micah. It was a short novel compared to others, but truly worth the read - and the sneak preview of Danse Macabre (just came out) - was a nice bonus and peaked my curiostity, just right. We all have our favorites in the Vampire Hunter Series, this may not be my favorite, but I would not have missed reading it for the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2006

    wow u people need to smarten up.

    did anyone even bother to check out the info on this book?? yea its an anita blake book but if you look at the order, LKH didnt put it in the 'series'. it was a teaser and an insight into a characher that kinda got thrown in during narsissis. personally i liked it and i hope that she will do the same with jean+asher, give them a deeper histroy. yea-i wish that LKH would ease of the sex schenes and give her books more suspense but thats the way that LKH writes. personally i think that if u dont like it, stop reading and stop bashing her here!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2006

    Love it, but real short.

    Great book, but really should be called a novellete. Really just a tease for the next real length book comming out in June. (slathering at the mouth) HOT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2006

    Short and a little dissapointing

    It was very short and didn't have much of a point. I liked it but it could have been longer and better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2006

    Really Good

    This book is a really good read. I love Hamilton's Anita Blake series, but this is not one of her best for the Anita series. I was hoping for there to be a lot more about the tie between Anita and Micah than there was. Though I WOULD reccomend this to all of her fans, but it's truly not one of her greatests.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9