Customer Reviews for

Michal's Window (A Novel: King David's First Wife)

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Kristie I. for Readers Favorite "Michal's Wind

Reviewed by Kristie I. for Readers Favorite

"Michal's Window" a Biblical historical novel written by Rachelle Ayala, which will transport you back in time and immerse you in the lives of the characters. The reader is first introduced to Michal when she is fou...
Reviewed by Kristie I. for Readers Favorite

"Michal's Window" a Biblical historical novel written by Rachelle Ayala, which will transport you back in time and immerse you in the lives of the characters. The reader is first introduced to Michal when she is fourteen years old and David is hired to play his harp for her father, King Saul. Although Michal is young, she falls in love with David, and there began the love between them and also the trials. David is a mere shepherd boy and is warned that he has nothing to offer the princess. Although he has been told he will be King later on, no one else knows this. Michel is the first woman to win David's heart and she desires to be the only one; however, as years go by, David becomes King and Michal becomes one of his many wives. The story is told from Michal's perspective, and the reader gains a new perspective on this story from the Bible and the relationships and factors that play a role in these characters' lives.

In the past few years I have become a fan of Biblical fiction and Ayala's novel does not disappoint! This story is well-written as it is filled with vivid details, well-developed characters who experience a range of emotions and embody many historical details of the time. The love that Michal feels for David is so real and I found myself empathizing with her when she had to be separated from David due to her father's jealousy and when he took other wives as well. Michal came alive on the pages of this book, as did all of the characters, and the events from the Bible have been utilized and expanded for filling in gaps and creating a complete picture of life as lived in Biblical times.

posted by ReadersFavorite on May 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Author took too much liberty in writing this book.

SEX! This book is filled with one sex scene after another. Michal is beautiful and wanted by many men. Beyond this the book is filled with adventure and heartbreak. The author took a lot of liberty when writing this novel; read I and II Samuel in the Bible for the tr...
SEX! This book is filled with one sex scene after another. Michal is beautiful and wanted by many men. Beyond this the book is filled with adventure and heartbreak. The author took a lot of liberty when writing this novel; read I and II Samuel in the Bible for the true story of David and Michal. I was hoping for more of a realistic book than a fantasy. Disappointed, but thankful I only spent $.99.

posted by etav on August 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    I can read this book over and over again. The characters are so

    I can read this book over and over again. The characters are so engaging and the pace is fast. There is so much emotion packed into this story. Michal is a princess who fell in love with her father's enemy, the hero David, who would be king. Life is not easy for Michal who gives up everything for David. Does he repay her with undying devotion? Afraid not. You're going to have to read this to see Michal fight David's other wives, his nefarious nephews, the people who hate her father, and her own temptations. Along the way, you'll meet fun and interesting characters, including a wickedly handsome Philistine warrior, a priestess with two serpents, and David's coterie of wives, each with their own hangups and obsessions. Prepare to be entertained!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Kristie I. for Readers Favorite "Michal's Wind

    Reviewed by Kristie I. for Readers Favorite

    "Michal's Window" a Biblical historical novel written by Rachelle Ayala, which will transport you back in time and immerse you in the lives of the characters. The reader is first introduced to Michal when she is fourteen years old and David is hired to play his harp for her father, King Saul. Although Michal is young, she falls in love with David, and there began the love between them and also the trials. David is a mere shepherd boy and is warned that he has nothing to offer the princess. Although he has been told he will be King later on, no one else knows this. Michel is the first woman to win David's heart and she desires to be the only one; however, as years go by, David becomes King and Michal becomes one of his many wives. The story is told from Michal's perspective, and the reader gains a new perspective on this story from the Bible and the relationships and factors that play a role in these characters' lives.

    In the past few years I have become a fan of Biblical fiction and Ayala's novel does not disappoint! This story is well-written as it is filled with vivid details, well-developed characters who experience a range of emotions and embody many historical details of the time. The love that Michal feels for David is so real and I found myself empathizing with her when she had to be separated from David due to her father's jealousy and when he took other wives as well. Michal came alive on the pages of this book, as did all of the characters, and the events from the Bible have been utilized and expanded for filling in gaps and creating a complete picture of life as lived in Biblical times.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    I love, love, love Michal. Her love for David was so strong it s

    I love, love, love Michal. Her love for David was so strong it shows through everything she did. I lived, breathed and dreamed through Michal's eyes, hoping and wishing for her happiness. I fell in love with all her men, and marveled at how different they were. This book doesn't just tell a story, it drags you into an emotional experience. I felt her every emotion vividly as if I were there, and I didn't want the book to end. I'll definitely be reading this book again whenever I get depressed or tired of life. To think what Michal went through with and survived is an incredibly uplifting experience.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Michals window

    Michal was the first wife of the biblical king david. He won her hand by killing the giant goliath. She was the reward. This was a free nook book. The best I have read in a very long time. If you like the biblical women historical fiction, don't miss this book. Warning , mild to medium sexual interactions.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    A Must-Read!!!

    It was really difficult putting this book down. I feel as if my imagination is still stuck in Michal and David's world of war, love, intrigue. That is what you get when reading this book. So much emotion and depth that will leave the reader wanting more. The characters become so much more real than reading about them in the Bible. I loved it and highly recommend it.Happy reading!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A very long, interesting, colorful, and worthy read.

    “A very long, interesting, colorful, and worthy read. This book is far from the ordinary – it’s an imaginative journey with Michal and David. This book made me smile, blush, cry, and many more. This will be a great TV series.” – Ara of My Book and My Coffee I received this book, Michal’s Window, for free from the author herself, Rachelle Ayala. Michal’s Window is not an ordinary historical romance novel. The book’s characters (most of them) were taken from or based on the Bible. This work, although fiction, has resembled a lot of events from the Bible. At one point, I had to stop reading the book to consult with a priest, who also happens to be a friend of mine. I’m ashamed to admit that even though I worked as a Parish Secretary for five years (that was a long time ago though), I’m still not familiar with all of the stories from the Bible. Anyway, after learning – and separating - the truth (Bible’s story) from Rachelle’s work, I smiled. The author definitely created a story that is full of colors, controversies, secrets, and most importantly, a story that will pique a reader’s curiosity. Oh, and as a woman, it will certainly make you thankful that you were born in this time and not around 1000 B.C in Israel. The cast of characters: As I’ve mentioned above, most of the characters were based or taken from the Bible. I should tell you now that you’ll love and hate the characters here; sometimes, at the same time. Confusing? You’ll know what I mean when you read the book. Also, I should let you know now that there are a lot of characters in this book, and they fit just right. The main character is Michal, daughter of Saul. For me, she was born in the wrong era. She’s almost fearless and liberated in her own way. She thinks she knows what she wants but gets confused along the way. But you can’t blame her. In the end, you’ll love her more as she stayed and pursued what is right. Although she has sinned a lot of times, she asked for forgiveness, and did what is lawfully right in the end. And it is what she really wanted in the first place. David, the son of Jesse, is Michal’s love interest. From the Bible, this is the same David who fought Goliath and won. It is the same David who became the most glorious King. Anyway, in this book, when they first met, David was just a servant, a harpist that sang and played the most heavenly songs. I hated the character of David the longest, especially when he became the King. But you can’t blame him either. He just acted based on what he knows. Although, you know, for me, I think he should know better. But then again, being a king and a human, I believe his judgments were sometimes clouded by his power. While discovering Michal and David’s love story, I can’t help but think of Ross and Rachel from F.R.I.E.N.D.S. Of course, Michal and David’s story are far more different than theirs but the fact that their relationship runs hot and cold, I can’t help but think of the two (Ross and Rachel).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I restarted this book right after i finished it!

    Intriguing and crafted perfectly, is an understatement. So is: Interesting, unique, and written so well. I am kind of at one of the first times in my life, at a loss for words.
    I have to start by saying that I am not a big church goer, my family kinda lives like a lot of average other families, where when one of us works through the whole week, the other works straight through the weekends, and this is just a shame, but reality. So, no, I am not I guess an avid church goer, although when I was young, we certainly went to Sunday School. For a few years at least. But I am aware of some Bible stories, David and Goliath being one of them.
    I was very much into reading this book, even more when I received it, and from just reading the descriptions, I don't usually apply to read and review a book very often. They sometimes just come at me, but this was one I could not bear to not review.
    I was anxious to see how the story was written, was it going to be boring, would it be very much like reading the Bible? The way this book was presented, even here on Amazon, was terribly interesting, mysterious, and I looked for it each day in the mailbox until it finally arrived!
    From the first page, a pretty grotesque first page, but just the way I like it;), the author's skills were already made known. With the first sentence, she grabbed the readers attention, and from there will take you on a journey you will truly never, ever forget!
    Rachelle Ayala, really tells a wonderful story, a beautiful story that I don't think anybody will be forgetting very soon.
    I thought it was a sensational story, she is very descriptive and what an awesome idea to tell this story through the eyes of Michal, in this way! I think this will certainly be a favorite amongst moms, and females of course, but it sure provides a beautiful place to escape too...
    I enjoyed reading about the author as well, and all of her hard work that was involved in creating such a book, I appreciate her time and effort, and it certainly shows how much time and how the time was so well spent, through her book.
    I noticed there is an issue with some people with this being slightly "pornographic". I have to say, I am not ever a romance type, no matter how "pornographic" it gets, book fan. I enjoy history,different writing styles, and imaginations, and this book does have it's fair share of intimacy, I didn't see it as being pornographic at all. I also don't believe the author painted David as a vicious and cruel individual and I sure don't think this book was meant to replace any part of the Bible, this is one person's view of a story and how it was seen, and felt through Michal's eyes and heart.
    I would recommend reading the reviews for books like this, and the description before you make a purchase and get a book you thought maybe was about something else instead.
    I do recommend this book to moms, females, anybody who enjoys a good, solid, action packed, thrilling ride, laced with love, betrayal, heartache, and pain that you will feel right from the pages.
    ** I received a copy of this book in return for my honest review **

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    I am not a religious person, but Rachelle managed to weave the r

    I am not a religious person, but Rachelle managed to weave the religious aspects into the story in such away that I never felt preached at. I thoroughly enjoyed the story from beginning to end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    The story of David & Goliath is well known. But in reading a

    The story of David & Goliath is well known. But in reading about David, most people overlook the prize he won for bringing back the Philistine's head--King Saul's daughter, Michal. The women behind the men are often overlooked--in the bible and elsewhere--but that's what makes these women such good fiction fodder. As author Rachelle Ayala has discovered in writing MICHAL'S WINDOW.

    The story is told mostly from the viewpoint of Michal, a young princess who falls madly in love with David, a young man who plays the harp for her father. David loves her just as much but their love is thwarted time and again because David is slated to be the next king. Michal's father, King Saul, feels threatened and sets out to have David killed. Yes, even though David is married to his daughter. Soap operas have nothing on the bible!

    Michal's goal is simple--to be with the man she loves--and she is relentless in trying to get to him even as she wonders if he feels the same for her. She's a feisty girl who doesn't follow the rules of the day for women and that gets her into and out of many scrapes--and into and out of the arms of many men. Will she ever be reunited with the love of her life? How does she deal with the reality that her husband takes many wives? What does she do about the other men who love her--and that she loves back? This is an epic story of love gained and lost, of betrayal and redemption.

    Books like this always send me back to the bible to separate biblical fact from fiction. Ayala is faithful to the biblical story of King David, a story that includes graphic violence as well as explicit sensuality and sex--scenes Ayala writes exceptionally well. In rich detail and vivid scenes, the author takes us into a world where women are given, or taken, as prizes by men. She weaves in Michal's story in a way that makes the characters real and the story totally believable.

    Intertwining Michal into all of the actions of David while building Michal's parallel story created the one challenge I found in this novel--the length, which is roughly twice that of an average novel.

    MICHAL'S WINDOW is well written, historically accurate, a fascinating view of the women who receive only passing mention behind the men in stories we think we know so well. A good read but settle in.

    The author provided a copy of the novel in exchange for a fair and unbiased review. 4.5 stars

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    Rachelle Ayala is definitely onto something special here. MICH


    Rachelle Ayala is definitely onto something special here. MICHAL'S WINDOW has it all. Love, betrayal, loss, heartbreak; I could go on and on. I've never read a historical fiction novel before, but I can say for sure, I'll be keeping an eye out for her next one.

    The story of David and Goliath was one of my favorite Bible stories growing up. But Rachelle expands on this, showing what happens before and what happens after.

    Rachelle does such an amazing job of portraying the time and setting it seems like this novel is literally taken straight from the great Book itself.

    She gives us the perspective of a strong, loyal woman who only wants to be with the man she loves. Michal is King Saul's daughter, David's prize for defeating the "unbeatable" Goliath and producing 100 Philistine's foreskins. But of course when it comes to love, nothing is ever easy. This is the story of the struggle of their love and their lives. A powerful tale that I won't soon forget.

    This is an excellent book with the perfect mix of biblical truths and fiction to create a story that is sure to become a classic. Don't miss out on this one.

    Brilliant, Rachelle. Brilliant!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    A delightful peek into my people’s history :) I had a won

    A delightful peek into my people’s history :)

    I had a wonderful time reading ‘Michal’s Window’ by Rachelle Ayala.
    For weeks I was immersed in that lost biblical world, surrounded by the beauty of it, by the strange, by our standards, customs, by legendary people so alive and lively I felt like I’d met them for real.
    The author did the wonderful job recreating this lost, thousands-years-old world. We all know those names and we generally familiar with some of those people’s deeds, yet they are nothing to us - just words on the paper. Yet, after reading “Michal’s Window” one will never think about any of those biblical characters the same way again. Rachelle Ayala had managed to turn them into real, flesh-and-blood people, which they most probably were. Good and bad and all in between, people with weakness and strengths, with passions and principles (or a lack of those), people with motives and with contradictions, people prone to laugh and cry and fall in love, and make friends and break relationships. The list is endless, but that is exactly what the author had managed to achieve. She brought the indifferent, dry history back to life, painting it in vivid, realistic colors.

    As a fan of historical fiction I can say I was satisfied on every level. This story flowed, wonderfully smooth. The research the author had done seems to be outstanding, her dealing with general facts and small details, like the weather and the terrain, is maximal. Her dealing with human nature is superb.

    Living in Israel, I’m familiar with this part of history, still after reading “Michal’s Window” I feel I’d learned my people’s history a great deal better!

    I would recommend this book to every reader who loves historicals, romance and to every person who want to enjoy a good story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    This fictional portrayal of Princess Michal (from The Bible) in

    This fictional portrayal of Princess Michal (from The Bible) in Michal’s Window is a gripping story of betrayal and love.

    Author Rachelle Ayala used parts from various books in The Bible and chose to tell Michal’s story of her love with King David, her husband, in ancient Israel. However, this book comes with a warning: it’s much more than a love story or a bible re-telling. It’s history re-told in all it’s passion and death.

    Michal’s Window stays true to biblical events yet takes off on its own feet, drawing the reader into Michal’s passionate love for young, loving David. Michal’s father, King Saul, quickly forms a hatred towards David. A hatred that turns into a plot for murder. Michal can’t bear for her father to kill David so she lets him escape through her bedroom window. As they separate — David leaving her for an indefinite period — Michal worries when they’ll be together again.

    But as time unfolds, David becomes King of Israel, a man with multiple wives. Michal remarries to Phalti. It’s only for show, and it’s not proper as she’s still legally wed to David. David, on the other hand, has risen to power and all traces of his timid, harp-playing ways have disintegrated.

    Michal and Phalti live together in hiding. She’s content with the caring Phalti, but he’s not David. Does David love her anymore? Does he remember her?

    Michal learns to live with the pain of her husband and his with other wives, and forms a friendship with Phalti.

    But these are trying times. Michal’s life becomes riddled with tragedy. Wars are raging. People are falling by the thousands. After everything she’s been through she loses people in her lives from those closest to others she barely knows. One day, she suddenly has children to look after.

    I don’t want to spoil too much since so much happens in this novel but you should check it out. Before we get too far into this review I want to share I’m a Catholic. I don’t practice often or regularly, which is why I read this book with apprehension. I need not have been. Michal’s Window is an extraordinary creation. It’s quite vivid at times in passionate scenes of love-making and does not shy away from death (however, not gory).

    This novel is everything romance in history was.

    This book made me angry at people’s attitude towards the LORD, and the nature of women. When I finished the book, though, I stopped and thought.

    That’s when I found out this book leaves you with so much to think about — similar to how complex you realise Jane Eyre is once you study it at school.

    Michal is such a strong-willed character for her time. King David, although secondary as a character of importance to Michal, is just as memorable.

    Given all these praises, I must share the pitfalls too. The cast of characters. It’s the type of novel, especially at ~460 pages, to have plenty more characters than a regular 300-page novel; however, this meant that many were underdeveloped. Almost all the characters Rachelle Ayala used were taken from the bible so she didn’t have power over their names. Because of this, many names start with ‘A’, ‘B’, ‘J’ and ‘M’. Some characters were underdeveloped — though I’m unsure if I got confused with all the similar names.

    This story is inspired by The Bible so don’t expect a cliché love story, David running after Michal the moment her plane is meant to take off, etc.

    Michal’s Window is a story unlike anything you’ll read this year. It is also a bestseller in Historical Romance and Family Saga on Amazon. I recommend you read it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    Very entertaining!

    Rachelle Ayala's Michal's Window is a wonderful mix of biblical fact and imagination. It is easy to cheer for the tenacious Michal as she fights for the man she loves. Michal's longing for David and her undying love, even in the face of adversity, pulls at your heart as you live her life through her eyes.

    Not being a person who is 100% up to date on bible stories, Michal's Window slipped me into the fantasy of 1000 B.C. Israel. Ayala does a wonderful job at mixing fact with fiction, and the story gripped me from beginning to end. The familiar story of David and Goliath is fascinating to watch play out per Ayala's interpretation. The seduction of Bathsheba is reenacted in an intriguing and intimate manner.

    Although the LORD does play a large part in the book for David, I never felt preached at. Instead, I was wrapped up in the characters and their problems as if I were there, walking in their sandals.

    Ayala has wonderfully portrayed both the time and the people. I would definitely recommend this book to any lovers of romance or historical fiction. A very entertaining ride!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    I will admit it: I am a reading addict.  I will give almost any

    I will admit it: I am a reading addict.  I will give almost any genre a chance and will read pretty much anything put in front of me - I have been that way since I was a kid.  When I was given a chance to get a free copy of a Biblical fiction book to review, I jumped at the chance, despite it not being from my usual arena.  Michal's Window by Rachelle Ayala is a beautiful story of love, loss and fate - it just so happens to be about King David from the Bible.

    The stunning imagery of this book lands you face first in the desert of Jerusalem where you are immediately brought into Ms. Ayala’s interpretation of this male dominated, God-fearing world.  This Biblical fiction book is a retelling of King David’s relationship with his first wife, Michal, daughter of Saul.  The story begins when the two meet as young teenagers (yes, they are young – but stick with it and remember the time from which this story is told – 14 was not too young to marry at the time…). 
     
    The story unfolds with King Saul’s deteriorating mind and the lunacy that follows, including his exile of, and attempted execution of David after David marries Saul’s favorite daughter.  You cannot help but feel like you are part of this world and feel each of Michal’s emotions as she pines for David following his exile, despite her being remarried to a kind, generous soul, Phalti.  Throughout the story, we meet family, friends, lovers and even a sorceress – that aid Michal in her attempt to reunite with David. 
    I wept with Michal when she lost her first child, and again when David came to claim her as his queen.  The passion between these two was palpable and really did swing as a pendulum between infatuation and hate.  This pent up emotion plays out in their bedchamber, too, with well-written and somewhat saucy love scenes. 
    It was fascinating to imagine along with Ms. Ayala how these people would have acted and what they would say in certain circumstances, given the time. I loved getting a “behind the scenes” glance at King David and his many wives.  It was interesting to see how these women were not simply the “follow because I am told to by a man” types, but more often presented that way, while at the same time, used their sexuality to try to gain the upper hand.  Michal was a strong, stubborn woman who struggled with knowing what she should be doing and what she wanted to do.   I loved watching her grow and learn to trust herself, no matter the consequence.   So many books have a “Team” for whom you pledge your allegiance to for the heroine to become involved.  With this book, it was very Mr. Right Now, versus Mr. Right.  Phalti, Ittai and David each had a place in her heart and a time in her life.  At different times, I loved and hated each.

    I loved this book.  It highlights a young woman, who in many ways, was ahead of her time.  She was outspoken, fought for her love and was fearless.  She was not afraid to make decisions that were right for not only herself, but for her family, even if it meant her heart was broken in the process.  I would recommend this book to anyone – not just those interested in Biblical fiction – but those interested in a story of epic love, political discord and self worth.   
    It did not bother me, but it is worth stating so you know what you are in for: there is sex, there is violence, and there is death.  If you are against any or all of those things, this may not be the book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    With just a bit of imagination + a touch of history = Michal's W

    With just a bit of imagination + a touch of history = Michal's Window
    King David's wife, back in ancient Israel, when women were actually considered as property, she falls in love with her father's enemy.  She tries to save his life, the future King David.
    Rachelle Ayala mixed fact and fiction together and wrote a very well story that will suck you into 1000 B.C. where you experience their emotions and even live in the story that it becomes so vivid!
    Michal sacrificed everything to save King David as she had fallen in love with him dearly.
    There is romance, war and heartache in this one book alone.
    You certainly need to read and you'll devour this as you read it.
    I highly recommend this to all how love historical fiction, romance and even Biblical fiction stories!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Michal is Bella

    This is such a juvenile romance that I could not force myself to finish it. How can I judge, then, you ask? Well, I am firmly of the camp that good writing hooks the reader. Absent that, it does not lose it's built in fan base. With historical fiction, there is the added burden of ringing true to what is known of the characters and times. This book fails on all three counts.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    disappointed

    Story didn't follow scripture close enough. As a Christian novel the discription of love making was entirely to explicet. There were other ways to fill up 1428 pages without the use of these passages.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Author took too much liberty in writing this book.

    SEX! This book is filled with one sex scene after another. Michal is beautiful and wanted by many men. Beyond this the book is filled with adventure and heartbreak. The author took a lot of liberty when writing this novel; read I and II Samuel in the Bible for the true story of David and Michal. I was hoping for more of a realistic book than a fantasy. Disappointed, but thankful I only spent $.99.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2014

    Love it!!! The only thing I would change is all the sex, it isn

    Love it!!! The only thing I would change is all the sex, it isnpt that Im a prude, I just know how its done and dont need to red about it. This book kept me in my bible
    checking facts.
    loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Very good

    Very good book. Fast moving and hard to put down. This from a nonreligious person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2