Customer Reviews for

Michal's Window

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Kristie I. for Readers Favorite "Michal's Wind

Reviewed by Kristie I. for Readers Favorite

"Michal's Window" a Biblical historical novel written by Rachelle Ayala, which will transport you back in time and immerse you in the lives of the characters. The reader is first introduced to Michal when she is fou...
Reviewed by Kristie I. for Readers Favorite

"Michal's Window" a Biblical historical novel written by Rachelle Ayala, which will transport you back in time and immerse you in the lives of the characters. The reader is first introduced to Michal when she is fourteen years old and David is hired to play his harp for her father, King Saul. Although Michal is young, she falls in love with David, and there began the love between them and also the trials. David is a mere shepherd boy and is warned that he has nothing to offer the princess. Although he has been told he will be King later on, no one else knows this. Michel is the first woman to win David's heart and she desires to be the only one; however, as years go by, David becomes King and Michal becomes one of his many wives. The story is told from Michal's perspective, and the reader gains a new perspective on this story from the Bible and the relationships and factors that play a role in these characters' lives.

In the past few years I have become a fan of Biblical fiction and Ayala's novel does not disappoint! This story is well-written as it is filled with vivid details, well-developed characters who experience a range of emotions and embody many historical details of the time. The love that Michal feels for David is so real and I found myself empathizing with her when she had to be separated from David due to her father's jealousy and when he took other wives as well. Michal came alive on the pages of this book, as did all of the characters, and the events from the Bible have been utilized and expanded for filling in gaps and creating a complete picture of life as lived in Biblical times.

posted by ReadersFavorite on May 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Author took too much liberty in writing this book.

SEX! This book is filled with one sex scene after another. Michal is beautiful and wanted by many men. Beyond this the book is filled with adventure and heartbreak. The author took a lot of liberty when writing this novel; read I and II Samuel in the Bible for the tr...
SEX! This book is filled with one sex scene after another. Michal is beautiful and wanted by many men. Beyond this the book is filled with adventure and heartbreak. The author took a lot of liberty when writing this novel; read I and II Samuel in the Bible for the true story of David and Michal. I was hoping for more of a realistic book than a fantasy. Disappointed, but thankful I only spent $.99.

posted by etav on August 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A very long, interesting, colorful, and worthy read.

    “A very long, interesting, colorful, and worthy read. This book is far from the ordinary – it’s an imaginative journey with Michal and David. This book made me smile, blush, cry, and many more. This will be a great TV series.” – Ara of My Book and My Coffee I received this book, Michal’s Window, for free from the author herself, Rachelle Ayala. Michal’s Window is not an ordinary historical romance novel. The book’s characters (most of them) were taken from or based on the Bible. This work, although fiction, has resembled a lot of events from the Bible. At one point, I had to stop reading the book to consult with a priest, who also happens to be a friend of mine. I’m ashamed to admit that even though I worked as a Parish Secretary for five years (that was a long time ago though), I’m still not familiar with all of the stories from the Bible. Anyway, after learning – and separating - the truth (Bible’s story) from Rachelle’s work, I smiled. The author definitely created a story that is full of colors, controversies, secrets, and most importantly, a story that will pique a reader’s curiosity. Oh, and as a woman, it will certainly make you thankful that you were born in this time and not around 1000 B.C in Israel. The cast of characters: As I’ve mentioned above, most of the characters were based or taken from the Bible. I should tell you now that you’ll love and hate the characters here; sometimes, at the same time. Confusing? You’ll know what I mean when you read the book. Also, I should let you know now that there are a lot of characters in this book, and they fit just right. The main character is Michal, daughter of Saul. For me, she was born in the wrong era. She’s almost fearless and liberated in her own way. She thinks she knows what she wants but gets confused along the way. But you can’t blame her. In the end, you’ll love her more as she stayed and pursued what is right. Although she has sinned a lot of times, she asked for forgiveness, and did what is lawfully right in the end. And it is what she really wanted in the first place. David, the son of Jesse, is Michal’s love interest. From the Bible, this is the same David who fought Goliath and won. It is the same David who became the most glorious King. Anyway, in this book, when they first met, David was just a servant, a harpist that sang and played the most heavenly songs. I hated the character of David the longest, especially when he became the King. But you can’t blame him either. He just acted based on what he knows. Although, you know, for me, I think he should know better. But then again, being a king and a human, I believe his judgments were sometimes clouded by his power. While discovering Michal and David’s love story, I can’t help but think of Ross and Rachel from F.R.I.E.N.D.S. Of course, Michal and David’s story are far more different than theirs but the fact that their relationship runs hot and cold, I can’t help but think of the two (Ross and Rachel).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    The story of David & Goliath is well known. But in reading a

    The story of David & Goliath is well known. But in reading about David, most people overlook the prize he won for bringing back the Philistine's head--King Saul's daughter, Michal. The women behind the men are often overlooked--in the bible and elsewhere--but that's what makes these women such good fiction fodder. As author Rachelle Ayala has discovered in writing MICHAL'S WINDOW.

    The story is told mostly from the viewpoint of Michal, a young princess who falls madly in love with David, a young man who plays the harp for her father. David loves her just as much but their love is thwarted time and again because David is slated to be the next king. Michal's father, King Saul, feels threatened and sets out to have David killed. Yes, even though David is married to his daughter. Soap operas have nothing on the bible!

    Michal's goal is simple--to be with the man she loves--and she is relentless in trying to get to him even as she wonders if he feels the same for her. She's a feisty girl who doesn't follow the rules of the day for women and that gets her into and out of many scrapes--and into and out of the arms of many men. Will she ever be reunited with the love of her life? How does she deal with the reality that her husband takes many wives? What does she do about the other men who love her--and that she loves back? This is an epic story of love gained and lost, of betrayal and redemption.

    Books like this always send me back to the bible to separate biblical fact from fiction. Ayala is faithful to the biblical story of King David, a story that includes graphic violence as well as explicit sensuality and sex--scenes Ayala writes exceptionally well. In rich detail and vivid scenes, the author takes us into a world where women are given, or taken, as prizes by men. She weaves in Michal's story in a way that makes the characters real and the story totally believable.

    Intertwining Michal into all of the actions of David while building Michal's parallel story created the one challenge I found in this novel--the length, which is roughly twice that of an average novel.

    MICHAL'S WINDOW is well written, historically accurate, a fascinating view of the women who receive only passing mention behind the men in stories we think we know so well. A good read but settle in.

    The author provided a copy of the novel in exchange for a fair and unbiased review. 4.5 stars

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    4.5 Stars! As a shepherd to as a king ¿ David is well known wor

    4.5 Stars!

    As a shepherd to as a king – David is well known worldwide as part of religion and as a part of history. King Saul’s daughter Michal was David’s first wife. However, Michal helped David to escape her father’s wrath through her window. After years of separation and yearning they are reunited. But Michal now had to compete with David’s other wives for his time and affection. It is safe to say that as a significant figure in both History and Religion, David’s life is well known – as is David & Michal’s story. So, I will not spend much time in telling you the storyline.

    Based in the backdrop of a time when women were treated as property, this is a love story like no other. Michal, a strong woman, who loves, lives and takes risks for her beloved and David, a brave man who turns his own fate to become a king. This is the story of Michal’s life - the moment she falls for David, when she helps him escape, the days & nights she spent waiting for him, her reunion and her disappointment – the author has described everything very vividly. When together – there was a distance between them, a distance driven in by David when he took one wife after the other. She had known and loved King David from the time when he was a mere shepherd. She had seen how time and power had changed him and he knew that she understood him better than anyone else.

    This is an amazing story of love, yearning and jealousy. Michal is such a strong character – a perfect protagonist in my mind. In those times, it wasn’t easy for Michal to do the things or make the decisions that she did for King David. As for King David, I have to say that he was a typical man – not just a man of those times but simply a man. Even these days we get to see people like him all the time – with the mentality that since they were born ‘men’ they can get away with anything and double standards are absolutely normal as long as they suit them.

    The author has done an amazing job with this one. Her description of situations is quite vivid which helped me as a reader to follow the storyline in the right time frame. Plus her character development is simply AWESOME. From Michal to David to Saul – she has developed her characters really well.

    I am in no way an expert on history or religion, but after reading this book I have researched it extensively on the internet. I have read articles, discussions and numerous debates on both David and Michal. Hence, I would like to mention this that no reader should pick this book up with conservative mindset or preconceived notions. This is – end of the day a work of fiction that tells the story from Michal’s – a woman’s point of view. Also a note of warning – the book has sexual content and some violence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1