Customer Reviews for

Michelangelo and the Pope's Ceiling

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Both Helpful and Interesting

    I found this book to be quite compelling and thought it was intriguing that the author went to great lengths to formulate the relationship between the two figures. It is a very in-depth book that will challenge one's primary angle on the situation with the Sistine Chapel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    Great for History Buffs

    I love this book because it tells the story of such a famous piece of art, that after reading it you feel intimate with it. This book is really good for history buffs though, it is not as much of a story but teaches you a lot about his life and all his struggles with the ceiling and the many things that contributed to it. Also it has been researched very well, but still maintains the flow of a novel. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes history and art, or someone who just likes to know more than the average person on such well known things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    Great book.

    Not only a book about Michaelangelo, but a history of Pope Julius and the Catholic Church. This book is a great primer on Renaissance Italy and how Europe awoke after a long hibernation of the Dark Ages. All the cast and characters are here; the popes, the Medici's, the Borgia's, the patrons, and the artists. If you think Michaelangelo only created David or the Sistine Chapel, then this book will certainly enlighten. Highly recommended.<BR/><BR/>PW

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2006

    A Great Book

    This book is a enjoyable and will make you want to head out to Rome to see the ceiling in person. An interesting and enlightening read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2005

    No questions after reading this!

    King's research is evident in this book and it is so thorough, leaving out no detail in the process of painting The Sistine Chapel. I would reccomend this to anyone, interested in art or not, because after reading it, you just gain a whole new perspective and its worth your time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    Great book

    A fascinating book, examines not only art history, but world history, design, petty family squables, political and religous upheaval, paint technique, paint chemistry, greek history etc etc, and how each impacted the work as it was done. I could not put this book down. It is a shame it is only a few hundred pages. Unfortunataly, the color plates are not precise or complete. You'll want to invest some time on the internet research larger samles of the work. Or better yet, visit the Vatican.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2005

    Fascinating

    This book is a great read and an amazing view inside the world of papal politics. I took it with me to Italy and finished on the flight, then toured the Vatican. Unbelievable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2005

    Fantastic!

    You won't believe the politics and personalities of the Artists involved. I can't wait to see the Sistine Chapel in person -- Now I know what went on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    Ross King makes history, art and technology accessible

    I greatly enjoyed this book, as well as Brunelleschi's Dome. Ross King has successfully made art history and the history of engineering accessible to the person who reads a lot, but may not be an historian or an academic. Makes me want to catch the next flight to Rome to see it in person. This book was an easy and enjoyable read, and opened my eyes to more about Raphael and Pope Innocent II (!!!!) that makes me want to know more. My copy is now travelling with friends, hopefully being enjoyed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2004

    Excellent book

    I loved this book. I read it before I visited the Sistine Chapel and enjoyed seeing things in a different light. A great book for everyone; even those who dislike non-fiction

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    excellent book

    I was in high school the last time I learned anything substantive about Renaissance art and history. This book is very well written, fun, an excellent leisure read with plenty of facts and figures to please the more technically-minded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2003

    Thank You Ross King !

    This history and art appreciation volume may well appeal to everyone of us who has visited or will visit the Sistine Chapel. To take full advantage of Michelangelo and the Pope's Ceiling one may want to have a good book of the frescos and a map of sixteenth century Italy very close at hand. No, they are not absolutely necessary but with them the journey will really begin. At the end of the journey I felt that I almost met the men who are the principals of this history. In Michelangelo and the Pope's Ceiling Mr.King has done another (Brunelleschi's Dome) very engaging and engrossing history. He motivates one to want to return to Rome and Florence yet again. Ah, how much more we now know thanks to Mr. King. Definitely at least four stars. Thank you Mr.King. I, for one, am sure that you have a book on Raphael in the works and I am very much looking forward to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2003

    Captivating and Informative

    Michelangelo and the Pope's Ceiling kept my attention throughout the whole book. Not only did I learn the facts about the painting of the Sistine Chapel, but King brought to life characters like Pope Julius II and Raphael. I highly recommend this to you if you are an art history fan, or just want an interesting read. I also feel as though I 'know' Michelangelo and was present during his amazing undertaking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2