BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Micro

Average Rating 3.5
( 253 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I don't understand the bad reviews?

I almost didn't give this book a try because of all of the bad reviews it has...but I certainly am glad that I did. I guess every well-known author has pretentious followers, haha.
I read the book very quickly and loved every page!

I think if the premise sounds in...
I almost didn't give this book a try because of all of the bad reviews it has...but I certainly am glad that I did. I guess every well-known author has pretentious followers, haha.
I read the book very quickly and loved every page!

I think if the premise sounds interesting to you, you should definitely give it a shot.

loved it!

posted by JeanLW on February 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

A 'Micro' version of a real novel

I have never been prompted to write a review before, but I wanted to warn other Crichton fans (and ANY reader of the genre in general) that this is one ridiculous stinker of a book.

Starts off OK, but once the whole premise (and subsequent ripping-off of 'Fantastic...
I have never been prompted to write a review before, but I wanted to warn other Crichton fans (and ANY reader of the genre in general) that this is one ridiculous stinker of a book.

Starts off OK, but once the whole premise (and subsequent ripping-off of 'Fantastic Voyage') commences, it goes into the area of juvenile college boys 'n girls adventure & cliches, nefarious corporate evil-doers, and reads more like an episode of the late 1970's cartoon 'Josie and the Pussycats' (I was going to use 'Scooby Doo, where are you?', but that would be too generous).

Don't waste your time or your money on this one.

posted by 5842179 on December 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 253 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    A 'Micro' version of a real novel

    I have never been prompted to write a review before, but I wanted to warn other Crichton fans (and ANY reader of the genre in general) that this is one ridiculous stinker of a book.

    Starts off OK, but once the whole premise (and subsequent ripping-off of 'Fantastic Voyage') commences, it goes into the area of juvenile college boys 'n girls adventure & cliches, nefarious corporate evil-doers, and reads more like an episode of the late 1970's cartoon 'Josie and the Pussycats' (I was going to use 'Scooby Doo, where are you?', but that would be too generous).

    Don't waste your time or your money on this one.

    26 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Ok but not all Crichton

    Book was pitched as an unfinished manuscript when Chrichton died in '08, to be completed by another author.
    I wont bash the author since it has to be hard to complete a story begun by someone else. Ive read everything by Chrichton, and his voice is missing from this one. I think it got lost in the rewrites. Another book that Chrichton started before he died was Pirate Latitudes, and his voice survived the completion.
    Funny that someone said it felt like a nasty version of Honey, I shrunk the kids, because I had the same reaction.
    I really felt they jumped the shark on this one and ended up way out there. Chrichton always spun a high tech thriller that just walked the line making you say " just maybe...". This one was so far fetched it was just plain sci-fi. The only chracter I enjoyed was the Hawiian Detective who I pictured as Graham Green (yes i know hes american indian). I had trouble caring about anyone else. There were characters that were like extras, only there to be killed off, like a slasher flick.
    Im glad i didnt have to buy the hardcover to not like it. It just didnt work for me.

    16 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    I don't understand the bad reviews?

    I almost didn't give this book a try because of all of the bad reviews it has...but I certainly am glad that I did. I guess every well-known author has pretentious followers, haha.
    I read the book very quickly and loved every page!

    I think if the premise sounds interesting to you, you should definitely give it a shot.

    loved it!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The last hurrah?

    This is the second "last" book by Michael Crichton, his first was "Pirate Latitudes" published in 2009. This novel was finished by Richard Preston after Crichton's death in 2008. The addition of a new author made me wary, but I had no reason to be trepidatious. This feels like classic Michael Crichton. High-tech science is misused, lives are endangered, page-turning excitement ensues.

    I love Michael Crichton's style - I can devour his books like no other, this is no exception. Not sure how much of this is Preston's work - it blends seamlessly with Crichton's. Astounding really. I plan on checking out more books by Richard Preston in the future.

    If you're looking for an entry point, this is as fine a place to start as any; although my favorites are still: "The Andromeda Strain", "Airframe", "Timeline", and of course both "Jurassic Park" books. Fans of Michael Crichton know what to expect and should jump right in, don't bother reading the synopsis on the dust jacket, it gets a little too close to giving away plot points.

    This book would make a fine movie (also: expensive) and the ending certainly makes me hope for more. Perhaps Preston can pick up the mantle? I don't know how many more half-finished stories or ideas Michael Crichton has left behind, but if this really is the last, it's worthy of his name.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Bad bad bad

    Stupid waste of time and money

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    The dark side of the nano-tech

    Michael Crichton was always one step ahead. He was our Jules Verne and HG Wells. I'm glad they finished it for him and don't complain, it's hard to finish up what someone else started. The book is entertaining and educating and will make a GREAT MOVIE.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    not so good

    Plot is the same with some of the books I have read though the characters are okay, some of the twists are not connected with the story.

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Terrible. Why would I want to read a rehashed novel (lose term)

    Terrible. Why would I want to read a rehashed novel (lose term) of a movie made in the 80's with Rick Moranis? So bad I started skipping sections of text 300 pages in and ultimately stopped reading. The plot is boring and unoriginal, the characters never get developed beyond the obvious opposites attract love interest. He should be charged with plagiarism. Or you could call is sampling. Watch out for those ants...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Loved it!

    The way it ended tho;sequel?

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Amusinggly Amusingly awful

    This was really SO bad that it became funny... character reaction to death...horror..unbelievable events...pretty much lets talk about high school biology...

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Disappointed

    Starts off promising and then just gets silly.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Don't waste your time.

    This book was so poorly written that it was almost painful to read. It is so empty, predictable and boring. The characters are plain and stereotyped. There is no emotion ANYWHERE to be found. You will feel no attachment to any of the characters. Ugh. Please trust me - you will not enjoy this book!
    Wish I didn't have to give it one star in order to post my review - it's not worthy of even one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    Stopped reading half way through

    Not my favorite. Even though it had some interesting tidbits abut how we look to insect and plant life when we are smaller than them, to me it was like reading a version of " honey I shrunk the kids" lost interest in the book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Another Classic

    Although I was skeptical about the topic, I believe this book was one of M.C.'s best. Only he could take the paradise of Oahu and turn it into a biological nightmare. This book belongs among the ranks of Timeline, Andromeda Strain and Next. This book is a definite must read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Not up to par

    This book did not read like a crichton book. With nearly every other one of his books i get to the end of the book and i will look up the scientific theories used in the book. Here it just felt like they made some crap up and put it in a book. When i normally read Crichton i can tell it was done by someone with knowledge on the subject and some research had been done. This was just sloppy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    Betcha Crichton had this one shelved for years

    I've decided to set this book aside permanently. I wondered if it was just me, but saw the dozens of reviewers with the same observation I had - this book stinks. The premise is too unbelievable, and I strongly suspect it's 95% _not_ by Crichton. I will hazard a guess that this was a one chapter sketch Crichton rejected years ago.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    An amazing adventure!

    .

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Phill

    I like phill

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good beginning, then boring

    Lots of good premises at beginning that were not expanded on or taken advantage of. Some fun facts about insects etc., but mostly unsuspenseful and unthrilling. Honey I Shrunk the Kids. Not a real Crichton book. Couldn't wait to finish it and get on to my next read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The most enjoyable Crichton novel since Prey

    Micro is the most enjoyable Crichton novel since Prey. I was very happy to read the introduction Michael Crichton wrote, even if it was unfinished. I always wished he wrote more nonfiction. By the end of Micro, I knew I wasn¿t reading a Michael Crichton novel anymore. But I was enthralled by the story, and didn¿t care. (How I knew I wasn¿t reading a Michael Crichton novel is a discussion I¿ll save for another time and place.) The novel has been compared to Jurassic Park, even by Michael Crichton. But Micro is far more reminiscent of Timeline than of Jurassic Park or Prey. Micro is like a ship that changes direction so gently that you don¿t notice. Then dawn comes and the sun rises in a different spot than expected. You can grip about the change or you can enjoy the sunrise. Richard Preston took over as captain of Micro after Michael Crichton died. As the new captain, he had to sail the ship as best he could, using the former captain¿s log to navigate. Captain Preston gave the passengers a pleasantly exciting voyage, and then brought the ship safely into harbor. What more could one ask?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 253 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13