Customer Reviews for

Micro

Average Rating 3.5
( 252 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I don't understand the bad reviews?

I almost didn't give this book a try because of all of the bad reviews it has...but I certainly am glad that I did. I guess every well-known author has pretentious followers, haha.
I read the book very quickly and loved every page!

I think if the premise sounds in...
I almost didn't give this book a try because of all of the bad reviews it has...but I certainly am glad that I did. I guess every well-known author has pretentious followers, haha.
I read the book very quickly and loved every page!

I think if the premise sounds interesting to you, you should definitely give it a shot.

loved it!

posted by JeanLW on February 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

A 'Micro' version of a real novel

I have never been prompted to write a review before, but I wanted to warn other Crichton fans (and ANY reader of the genre in general) that this is one ridiculous stinker of a book.

Starts off OK, but once the whole premise (and subsequent ripping-off of 'Fantastic...
I have never been prompted to write a review before, but I wanted to warn other Crichton fans (and ANY reader of the genre in general) that this is one ridiculous stinker of a book.

Starts off OK, but once the whole premise (and subsequent ripping-off of 'Fantastic Voyage') commences, it goes into the area of juvenile college boys 'n girls adventure & cliches, nefarious corporate evil-doers, and reads more like an episode of the late 1970's cartoon 'Josie and the Pussycats' (I was going to use 'Scooby Doo, where are you?', but that would be too generous).

Don't waste your time or your money on this one.

posted by 5842179 on December 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good beginning, then boring

    Lots of good premises at beginning that were not expanded on or taken advantage of. Some fun facts about insects etc., but mostly unsuspenseful and unthrilling. Honey I Shrunk the Kids. Not a real Crichton book. Couldn't wait to finish it and get on to my next read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Good read

    I find Michael Crichton is alot like John Grisham in that they are very talented yet both have written some duds that should have never been published. Micro is not one of these duds. The characters are very believable and the research on the plant and insect life was very educational. Also the change of physics from normal life as we know it to the minuture world just adds more suspense to a very good plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Ok

    This book is an alright novel, although it is loaded with gore, death, and perverse language. It's more violent than Jurassic Park.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Okay

    You can tell where michael crichton left off. It isnt very good from there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    OK, not great, just OK

    First off, I don't recognize the grad students as in any way "real". The author comes from a med school background so maybe that informs his idea of the dynamics of any graduate program. I'm a PhD biochemist and never during grad school nor as a postdoc after was I EVER a rival or competitor with anyone else in the labs I worked in. They were colleagues and friends, not rivals. Another thing, one thought that kept coming to mind as I read was the comic, "Peanuts", where the kids are there forever without any adults around. A BIG part of every grad student's life in the lab is the Primary Investigator. They dont just go off doing their own thing without some level of supervision and guidance - as in this novel. To finish this part of the critique I cannot imagine any lab where so many disparate grad researchers would work in the same lab. An expert on spiders, an expert on plant hormones, an expert on snake venom all in the same grad research lab? No way.
    As for the premise...didn't the author hit on nanobots in a previous novel? "Swarm" or something? If you want a great scifi/suspense read on the wonders and perils of nanobots then I highly recommend "Assemblers of Infinity" by Kevin J Anderson and Doug Beason, or "Recursion" by Tony Ballantyne. This current novel is an OK cheap read and thriller but the previous two mentioned are deeper and richer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    liked the read

    A little far fetched but kept my attention the whole time.. Enjoyed the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    silly but fun

    In order to enjoy this book, you must have a HUGE capacity for suspension of disbelief. If you start the book realizing that, it is a silly but fun read and you'll enjoy it. I have always been an avid Crichton fan, so despite several bad reviews, I knew I would have to read it. I checked it out of the library, however, and I am glad I did that and glad I didn't pay for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Not his best but good

    Love Michael Crichton. Sorry he has passed on. He will be missed. This one is a bit out of character. Not so-far fetched idea, which is good, but a bit more out of it than usual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Decent read

    Good story but the end just wasn't satisfying

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Good but not my favorite.

    The storyline left me yearning for something more... I kept waiting for Rick Moranis to appear from Honey I Shrunk The Kids...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    This is not a good book for Crichton fans

    This was not his usual writing style. Itt kinddaaaa zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz...
    Puts u to sleep

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Not the Crighton I'm used to

    The story was intriguing, but took a few too many turns into the ridiculous for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3