Customer Reviews for

Micro

Average Rating 3.5
( 251 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I don't understand the bad reviews?

I almost didn't give this book a try because of all of the bad reviews it has...but I certainly am glad that I did. I guess every well-known author has pretentious followers, haha.
I read the book very quickly and loved every page!

I think if the premise sounds in...
I almost didn't give this book a try because of all of the bad reviews it has...but I certainly am glad that I did. I guess every well-known author has pretentious followers, haha.
I read the book very quickly and loved every page!

I think if the premise sounds interesting to you, you should definitely give it a shot.

loved it!

posted by JeanLW on February 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

A 'Micro' version of a real novel

I have never been prompted to write a review before, but I wanted to warn other Crichton fans (and ANY reader of the genre in general) that this is one ridiculous stinker of a book.

Starts off OK, but once the whole premise (and subsequent ripping-off of 'Fantastic...
I have never been prompted to write a review before, but I wanted to warn other Crichton fans (and ANY reader of the genre in general) that this is one ridiculous stinker of a book.

Starts off OK, but once the whole premise (and subsequent ripping-off of 'Fantastic Voyage') commences, it goes into the area of juvenile college boys 'n girls adventure & cliches, nefarious corporate evil-doers, and reads more like an episode of the late 1970's cartoon 'Josie and the Pussycats' (I was going to use 'Scooby Doo, where are you?', but that would be too generous).

Don't waste your time or your money on this one.

posted by 5842179 on December 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    The dark side of the nano-tech

    Michael Crichton was always one step ahead. He was our Jules Verne and HG Wells. I'm glad they finished it for him and don't complain, it's hard to finish up what someone else started. The book is entertaining and educating and will make a GREAT MOVIE.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The most enjoyable Crichton novel since Prey

    Micro is the most enjoyable Crichton novel since Prey. I was very happy to read the introduction Michael Crichton wrote, even if it was unfinished. I always wished he wrote more nonfiction. By the end of Micro, I knew I wasn¿t reading a Michael Crichton novel anymore. But I was enthralled by the story, and didn¿t care. (How I knew I wasn¿t reading a Michael Crichton novel is a discussion I¿ll save for another time and place.) The novel has been compared to Jurassic Park, even by Michael Crichton. But Micro is far more reminiscent of Timeline than of Jurassic Park or Prey. Micro is like a ship that changes direction so gently that you don¿t notice. Then dawn comes and the sun rises in a different spot than expected. You can grip about the change or you can enjoy the sunrise. Richard Preston took over as captain of Micro after Michael Crichton died. As the new captain, he had to sail the ship as best he could, using the former captain¿s log to navigate. Captain Preston gave the passengers a pleasantly exciting voyage, and then brought the ship safely into harbor. What more could one ask?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Yet another high-tech roller coaster ride

    This book has all the earmarks of a Michael Crichton story - an interesting and riveting scientific premise, a cast of well-drawn characters that you quickly become invested in, Crichton's signature willingness to kill off characters you assumed were critical to the storyline, bad guys that are believable, not just caricatures of evil, and a fantastic journey through a scientific exploration.

    The problem is, that's all it is. Don't get me wrong, I'm a fan of Crichton's writing and I very much enjoyed this book. I guess the problem is, I'd also finished both "Fear" and "Pirate Latitudes" recently, and they both had the critical element that make Crichton's best books so good: a shattering of modern mythology. Fear poked a giant hole in the fear-mongering used by governments and multinational corporations to keep the public in line with their destructive decision-making, and Pirate Latitudes, which should be required reading in high school, shattered the Disneyification of the pirates of the carribean (intentionally not capitalized.)

    So, strongly recommend on it's own merits, just don't expect it to rock your world (view).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Science Fiction GREAT!

    Super reading but lots of deaths...

    We can't share this- why not??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Micro is a good read

    I fiund rhis a good read d rhe writting wasreperirice









    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    Micro-->> IMAGINE TAT U R ONLY ONE INCH TALL.. NOW THINK

    Micro-->>
    IMAGINE TAT U R ONLY ONE INCH TALL.. NOW THINK TAT U HAVE BEEN STUNG AND PARALYZED BY A WASP, TAKEN INTO ITS NEST AND STORED TO BE FED UPON BY THE WASP LARVAE??? JUZ IMAGINE URSELF INSIDE THE WASP NEST, TOO DARK THAT U CUDN'T SEE ANYTHING, COMPLETELY PARALYZED AND U HEAR THE WASP LARVAE EATING SOME INSECT NEXT TO U... U R STILL ALIVE BUT U CUDN'T MOVE AS U HAVE BEEN PARALYZED BY THE WASP AND SLOWLY THE WASP LARVAE STARTS FEEDING ON YOU STARTING FROM UR LEG...U CAN FEEL URSELF GETTING EATEN SLOWLY, VERY SLOWLY BY THE WASP LARVAE....
    WELCOME to MICRO ,the last creation by Michael crichton. With one third of the book completed by crichton and the remaining by Richard preston from notes & references left over by crichton after his death, the book is stunning, informative, grippy and too fast paced....After SPHERE crichton had given another fassssssssssttt paced thriller.... As his other books, this one also gives the reader a awful lot of information about it's theme which is, in this case, NATURE... Only humans think about forgiveness, pity, sympathy, kindness and when someone doesn't hav these things we juz say them as IN-HUMANS... we see nature as kind, calm, beautiful creation of god... When you see a hill area covered in mist, feeling the cool breeze tat brushes you softly, u tend to relax, ur mind relaxes, u juz stand there feeling the cool breeze and stare at the calm, greenish, lovely mother nature.....But have u wondered what really happens inside that calmness??? have u ever realized how fierce and in-human nature actually is??? Every living organism in the calmness rite from soil mites, insects, beetles, earthworms till large predators have to SURVIVE each and every day in their life.. By SURVIVAL, I don't mean wat we do daily, working and getting paid... For us survival means MONEY... But to them it is getting killed... all of us wud have heard tat it is a competitive world... here the competition stands for "who makes more money?" or "who makes more fame?".... Juz imagine how our life wud be if this word competition means surviving death?? if u r talented enough u survive or else u die... and this competition happens daily... either u survive or u die... Juz imagine such a world which would result in awful lot of betrayals, numerous lies and countless back-stabbings all of them juz to survive... This exactly is what happening in nature... This is what the book teaches you... WHAT KIND OF WORLD DO WE LIVE IN?????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    almost Crichton

    This was a good read but not the same as Michael Crichton. I hadn't read Richard Preston before and learned much about bugs and plants.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    I liked this book

    Yeah, I really liked this book. Kept me awake on the long drive to Kansas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    A good way to say goodbye to a great writer.

    I have read all of Crichton's novels and can say this is for sure a Crichton story. I would guess that most of the negative reviewers won't have liked the novel even if Crichton had finished it himself. I couldn't stop reading and finished in a couple of days, which is always proof of a good read. There are a few areas that i think Crichton may written differently,but Preston did a great job and i'm glad he gave us the chance to read one of Crichton's last storys. The novel has many elements of Crichton's previous novels and would recommend to any fans. Crichton is the main reason i love to read and i will miss my favorite story teller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    Fun book, fast read

    Kept my attention from the beginning. Lots of technical details about bugs and plant life that I didn't know. Maybe too many characters to keep track of until he starts killing them off. Not sure I liked the end. The bad guy got too crazy and ruthless and the sci-fi was over the top. Rather the cops just got him with evidence provided by others. In all a fun fast read. Probably make a good movie.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    loved it

    Bedt book since JP

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Fun read.

    Liked this book. I thought the pacing was really well done. A very snappy pace to the book. nothing too serious, but a fun adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Quick fun read

    Not sure why people are complaining about the story and the writing! It was typcial Crichton and Richard Preston did a great job finishing the book. In fact I couldn't tell where Crichton left off and Preston took over. No it's not Jurasic Park, but then little else will ever be. Give this book a chance and ignore the complainers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Wow

    Took me to another world

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Awesome!

    Couldnt put it down. If you have a creative mind you'll love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    BUGS!

    So it's not pure Crichton, anyone expecting it to be so is compketely unrealistic. He died! I think Preston delivered an entertaining, scientificaly (at least as far as the natural world is conserned) book. Yes its a honey I shrunk the kids for adults, but so what! Its fun, dangerous, exciting, at times predictable, but still better than half the scifi crap being written today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Good read. Good read!

    Micro was a page-turner that kept my atention througg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Pretty good

    Good book. However, you can tell some of it was not written by M.C.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Nonsense! Iwould recomend it!

    Very adventurous. People with good taste ( book wise ) and a spirit full of adventure would absolutly love it!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4