BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Microsoft Office Word 2007 Step by Step

Average Rating 3.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good book for beginners

This book was really helpful to me in learning how to use the new features of Word 2007 for my work. The program is really different from the old version and not entirely intuitive, so the book was a good reference. My co-workers also used it.

posted by 869181 on January 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

If you happen to be a teacher and plan to use this book in your class, go over the the lessons from the practice files on the CD. Some lessons, such as one having to do with making calculations on Microsoft Excel, are incomplete. Another one 'Chapter 8' having to do w...
If you happen to be a teacher and plan to use this book in your class, go over the the lessons from the practice files on the CD. Some lessons, such as one having to do with making calculations on Microsoft Excel, are incomplete. Another one 'Chapter 8' having to do with Bookmarks, couldn't be opened in my computer. Some of the step-by-step lessons in Chapter 9 are disorganized and work only with individual experimentation. I shared my specific opinions with one of the authors who told me a revised version of this book will be forthcoming.

posted by Anonymous on December 8, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    If you happen to be a teacher and plan to use this book in your class, go over the the lessons from the practice files on the CD. Some lessons, such as one having to do with making calculations on Microsoft Excel, are incomplete. Another one 'Chapter 8' having to do with Bookmarks, couldn't be opened in my computer. Some of the step-by-step lessons in Chapter 9 are disorganized and work only with individual experimentation. I shared my specific opinions with one of the authors who told me a revised version of this book will be forthcoming.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2009

    Good book for beginners

    This book was really helpful to me in learning how to use the new features of Word 2007 for my work. The program is really different from the old version and not entirely intuitive, so the book was a good reference. My co-workers also used it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    Seems to have been written before the software was finished

    I agree with the other review. I had many of the same issues and thought the fact that some of the steps simply dont work was dissapointing. There are multiple typos and references to incorrectly named Ribbon commands. I also found some references to features that never made it into the final release of Word. If there is another version of this document coming out, I think we should be able to trade in our old copies for the updated one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    WAS VERY HELPFUL. With a few errors

    I found this to be very helpful. I haven't used a program like this in 10 years. The last was Word perfect 9.2. Wow that was a long time ago. Anyway I found this book to be good. There were a few typos in the documents they prepared, but not a problem. There were a few chapters that didn't follow the way the book says, but with a little investigation and playing around I was able to work out all but one item. Which I hope I never have to use.

    All in all the book did for me what I needed. The rest is up to me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Thorough Step by Step

    This is a very thorough step by step manual. Great presentation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great Training Tool

    I thought the book was easy to follow and a great training tool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Word by Word for the Office Word!!!!

    Very useful. Everyone should have this at home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    Informativfe Book

    I found this book extremely helpful in learning Word 2007. It gives clear, step-by-step instructions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Good for the Basics

    I purchased this book because I had just started a new position and was suddenly faced with Microsoft Office 2007 and not much time to adjust. (I was accustimed to 2003.) This book is very usefull for the basic skills, though it does not cover some of the more advanced features. For that, on-line tutorials are very helpfull.
    The books are very well organized and...well, Step By Step. :-)
    I would give the same review to the Execl Step by Step.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1