Customer Reviews for

The Middle Place

Average Rating 4.5
( 125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

a must read memoir

I love memoirs and often sit and evaluate what makes one work while another doesn't. Is it content? Writing style? Well, its both. Interesting, moving, compelling content must be merged with a fresh voice and keen insight about the experience. This book offers both. I o...
I love memoirs and often sit and evaluate what makes one work while another doesn't. Is it content? Writing style? Well, its both. Interesting, moving, compelling content must be merged with a fresh voice and keen insight about the experience. This book offers both. I obsessively read it in one weekend. I ignored my kids for a full day of reading one quiet Sunday. I laughed and cried so many times I lost track. It is funny, poignant, insightful. I wanted to know her family and be her friend. You have to read this book!

posted by Anonymous on July 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This lady can write!

But in reading her writing I learned I sure didn't like her. (My whole book club felt this way.) We all said we would not read another of her books, b/c we just couldn't support her.

posted by MamaPhalen on February 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    The Middle Place

    This is a wonderful book with an uplifting message. It celebrates family and strength in adversity. It is filled with laughter and honesty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    i love memoirs!

    so this book was great for me. i laughed, I cried and found it so easy to identify with. It's an easy read that i just couldn't put down until i was finished. A+, I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Daddy's Little Girl

    I found Kelly Corrigan's story about her personal experience with cancer tender and hopeful. As I got into the story, I realized she learned to deal with life's curveballs from her father, who is also diagnosed with cancer. He is portrayed as a great person as well as the kind of father any kid would love. They inspire each other. Instead of being a book about cancer, it is a book about hope, family, and the people in our everyday lives who inspire us to keep going and try harder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2009

    A great book about family ties.

    After seeing Kelly on YouTube in the clip titled "Transcending", I had to read this book. Although reading as opposed to listening to her speak is not as satisfying, the book is a moving tribute to her family, the inevitable ups and downs of life, and personal triumph over adversity. Her humor, vulnerability, and strength, shine through the pages. I read the book over two days, hungered for more, and wished that I could share a glass of wine with Kelly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    Must read this witty, poignant memoir!!

    In her magnificently written memoir, Kelly Corrigan provides an insightful glimpse into her "middle place"...that bittersweet time in our life where we are raising our own children, while still being a child to our parents. She truly embodies that 'place' as she courageously manages her own, as well as her beloved father's, battle with cancer. Ms. Corrigan brilliantly entwines the present cancer fight, with reflections of her past, enriching our understanding of how her family's heartwarming relationship created the charming, resilient woman she grew into. She gracefully accepts life's most severe adversities with optimism and humor, and is an extraordinary inspiration to us all. With the loving support of family, Ms. Corrigan proves that we can survive anything. I absolutely loved this beautiful, compelling memoir and was sorry when finding myself reading the last page. I could relate to her emotional story in so many ways, especially understanding that feeling when you realize you are not in control. Her engaging story reminds me to live my life to the fullest. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    Poignant but self-absorbed

    The author endured difficult illness and treatments, as did her father, but the author still has a lot of growing up to do. "The Middle Place" is usually when one's energies are spent caring for the generation above and below. This author is not truly in the "middle place," as she was not the caregiver for either of her parents - they were busy helping her. The author's worship of her father is wonderful, but comes at the expense of severe underappreciation of a wonderful spouse, mother and children, who seemed to devote their lives to her. Corrigan's devotion to her father is admirable - he comes across as a wonderful person - but her mother and husband deserve far more credit than she offers in the book. One wonders how her friends and family feel about the publicity of their stories - mean middle schoolers, early romances, mother and siblings judged, named and blamed. She is a talented writer, and the book was a quick read, but her snarkiness was annoying, despite what she'd gone through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    Maybe it just wasn't for me.

    When reading the description of this book, I thought I would feel a kinship with the author. It seemed like we might be in the same place in our lives. While reading it, however, I realized the author's family dynamic and mine had no similarities and she wasn't particularly likable to me. To be quite honest, if she had been a fictional character, I would not have cared whether she lived or died. The fact that she was aware of her own shortcomings and bad habits didn't make her any more endearing.

    I wouldn't recommend this book to any one for any reason.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    With such personal health issues being written about she did a beautiful job putting this book together.

    The personal experience portrayed in this book were done beautifully. It was a really quick read keeping my attention on every page. I had seen the you tube video of her lecture on "transcending" and just had to get the book. I am really glad I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    A beautiful memoir...

    The author has a nice tone which makes it easy to relate to her. Her story is a nice twist on that of a mother and that of a daughter. This is definately a good book to bring to the beach or lounge around on a Sunday reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    When you read the outside cover, you might think it's a downer, but it's not!! A great read that I could not put down. One of those rare ones that make you cry & then laugh, just pages apart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    Great book

    I loved this book. Kelly is such a real writer -- I wanted to be her friend after reading the book. Her descriptions of her loved ones made me feel committed to each person in the book. Only down side is that I thought that her relationship with her father overshadowed that of her mother and she didn't get enough credit in the book for shaping who Kelly became.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    AWESOME

    Loved Loved this book!!!!! Easy read, page tuner, very uplifting!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    Great Read, truly touching and although the subject matter is sad, book feels uplifting.

    Kelly Corrigan did an amazing job at conveying the deep relationship that she has with her father and how it has impacted her life. The candidness with which she writes and tells her story is so welcoming. Truly a great read and one to pass along to friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Middle Place Review

    I just finished this book and could not put it down. The author blends her life growing up and living her life now in such a way that you completely understand how she became who she is. I loved the way she was able to tell her story in such an honest way. She is able to laugh and cry at herself as well as her family. She made me realize if we could all write a story of our life it could entertaining as well as uplifting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    I laughed and I cried!

    This book had me by the first chapter...as I got teary eyed on the subway! Kelly Corrigan does a great job making this tragic event in her life touching and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Sweet book, likeable author

    We picked this book for our book club and though I enjoyed it, it didn't turn out to be as "deep" as we had hoped. I like Kelly's writing and her balance of past and present and family and individuality. Her parenting scenes were hysterical and very realistic. Kelly is very likeable and you could easily picture her among your group of friends. It's nice to read a book about cancer that is not all dismal and depressing. She gives you hope and inspiration that if you were in the same boat, you might persevere like she did--with humor and honesty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2009

    Great Read!

    I really enjoyed the humor Kelly Corrigan added to a topic so many people are dealing with today. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Could Not Put It Down!

    I chose this book for my book club and I can honestly say I was not disappointed! I read this book in about a week and could not put it down. Kelly Corrigan has a lively way with words that reminds me of my best friend and how silly and funny she is at the same time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2009

    An nice Book but I'm not yet a Kelly Corrigan kool-aide drinker

    Corrigan's story is a nice saga of overcoming adversity. However I find that this is one of those books that's risen to the top because of an aggressive promotional campaign by major booksellers, not because of superior literary value.

    My main misgiving is that this woman's focus is almost entirely on her father. While she mentions her mom and her husband, they are clearly bit players in the bigger picture. Her father emerges as a larger than life character who finds the constant attention he seems to seek from his daughter.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    I LOVED IT

    I first saw Kelly Corrigan on a youtube reading that was sent to me by a friend through the e-mail. Her reading touched me, and was so relevent for many women. I sent the book to my daughter and my daughter-in-law. I ordered one for myself to read on vacation and I have now passed my copy to a good friend. Being a Breast Cancer Survivor there were alot of parts of the book that I read to my fiance. We could identify with the series of events she went through. She described her family so well I felt that I knew them personally. Especially her Dad, what a personality, what an outlook on life. I highly recomend this book !! Thanks Kelly !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7