BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Middle Place

Average Rating 4.5
( 128 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

a must read memoir

I love memoirs and often sit and evaluate what makes one work while another doesn't. Is it content? Writing style? Well, its both. Interesting, moving, compelling content must be merged with a fresh voice and keen insight about the experience. This book offers both. I o...
I love memoirs and often sit and evaluate what makes one work while another doesn't. Is it content? Writing style? Well, its both. Interesting, moving, compelling content must be merged with a fresh voice and keen insight about the experience. This book offers both. I obsessively read it in one weekend. I ignored my kids for a full day of reading one quiet Sunday. I laughed and cried so many times I lost track. It is funny, poignant, insightful. I wanted to know her family and be her friend. You have to read this book!

posted by Anonymous on July 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This lady can write!

But in reading her writing I learned I sure didn't like her. (My whole book club felt this way.) We all said we would not read another of her books, b/c we just couldn't support her.

posted by MamaPhalen on February 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2008

    a must read memoir

    I love memoirs and often sit and evaluate what makes one work while another doesn't. Is it content? Writing style? Well, its both. Interesting, moving, compelling content must be merged with a fresh voice and keen insight about the experience. This book offers both. I obsessively read it in one weekend. I ignored my kids for a full day of reading one quiet Sunday. I laughed and cried so many times I lost track. It is funny, poignant, insightful. I wanted to know her family and be her friend. You have to read this book!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    Great read for a book club!

    Recently picked this book as a choice for autobiography in a book club and was pleasantly suprised. Within the first 50 pages I had already laughed, cried and everything in between. Kelly has a gift for telling her story and keeping you turning the pages.

    Our book club had a very intense discussion, even without the aid of the reading group questions on their website. We are a group of younger women who aren't quite at the stage of life Kelly is at, but personally for me, I could still relate to her through her engaging tone.

    Great and easy read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    A great personal and funny story of the journey cancer takes in Kelly's life.

    Hearing Kelly speak at a breast cancer event was my first exposure to her great sense of humor as she shared her life events and how she dealt with a cancer diagnosis. Kelly's bold hilarious manner makes you keenly aware of the funny side of cancer, but also the challenges of dealing with serious health issuess from the prospective of a real mom in the midst of dealing with everyday life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    A MUST read

    This book was fantastic. As a woman I can feel all of her anxiety and the love for her children. As a daughter who loves her Dad more than anyone in the world, I can feel all the love she has for her dad and all the worry and pain while he goes through his own tribulation. Absolutely heart warming and eye opening. Beautifully written.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This lady can write!

    But in reading her writing I learned I sure didn't like her. (My whole book club felt this way.) We all said we would not read another of her books, b/c we just couldn't support her.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    Can't wait for the authors second book

    This was the first book I picked up after being diagnosed with BC. I didn't even know what it was about. It hit the spot to feed my spirt. Like the author, I can definetly appreciate the blessing of being a daughter, friend, sister, wife, mother, and friend to all of the awesome people who have offered me their support at this time. Funny and inspiring as well as informational.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this book and have been giving it as a gift to all my friends.

    A charming true story about Kelly and her family. Lots of little homilies and insights into her life that make you realize you are not alone in this world. I thought it was well written and flowed nicely. She shared this part of her life in a touching and heartwarming story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    The perfect gift for your girlfriends!

    I laughed, I cried and then I bought five copies to give to my girlfriends. Kelly Corrigan is an amazing writer who ties together life lessons with the importance of family and friends. Send around the additional essay at the end to your girlfriends - it just puts life and love in perspective.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Book Club loved this!

    This was a new author to all of us, discovered through her youtube clip (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u_4qwVLqt9Q) which I received, then forwarded to club members. We discussed the characters and relationships in detail, felt we learned from them and enjoyed watching them, especially Kelly, learn and grow. Found the book at once warm and funny and sometimes profound. <BR/><BR/>We also discovered articles by her in Oprah: January 09 gives a glimpse into her future plans. <BR/><BR/>Definitely recommend this book and look forward to more from Kelly Corrigan.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    Great book- I couldn't put it down! I'm pushing it on you because it's close to my heart (especially so at the moment) ...And, because after emailing the author a quick email to tell her what her story meant to me, she actually took the time (the same day) to send me a personal email in response. She also asked me to spread the word on her book. So- check out the trailer for her memoir. This is one memoir you will not forget. It's so real, so honest, and above all, it's something that every daughter, lucky enough to come from strong roots, can identify with.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2008

    Inspirational

    I read this book in two days, which is no small feat in a household with three young children. Kelly pulls you in from the very beginning I was reading her book as if I were talking to my best friend. Kelly's story of her courageous battle with breast cancer and her relationships with her family, especially her father, were truly inspirational. And her account of 'the middle place', that place where you transition from a child to an adult, is so relatable. Kelly proves to all women that you can fight any battle as long as you stay strong, have faith, laugh and love!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2008

    A Very Engaging Read

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book and finished it in a single evening. Like Kelly, I had a special (grand)father living next door who offered up that rare joie de vivre and unconditional love similar to Greenie's. Her words resonated sharply and triggered strong emotional reaction as I reflected on how lucky we are to have enjoyed such a raw and authentic love, a touchstone that we as parents can now draw from as we grow our own kids. It was fun getting to know Kelly and her lovely family through the book - I look forward to the next chapter.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2007

    Authentic

    I couldn't put it down. I loved the addiction my emotions experienced reading about Corrigan's journey from laughing out loud to lumps in the throat - a journey not unlike any of ours and emotions just the same. She has a gift of putting them into words - enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2014

    Excellent reading

    Excellent reading. Made me laugh & made me cry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    I hated this book. I found Kelly to be a rather selfish individ

    I hated this book. I found Kelly to be a rather selfish individual. I would suggest that she be grateful for what she has (two wonderful girls) and not feel sorry for herself that she cannot have the boy she wants. I feel very sorry for her girls and her mother. Sorry Kelly but your mom should be concerned when her teenager gets drunk at a school function. I hope that your husband has the good sense to realize that kids should not be doing drugs, including alcohol. I would not have finished this awful book if it was not being discussed by my book group.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    Loved every word, every page! Humerous and heartfelt.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Dismal. Loved it in the beginning, but she became more whiny, de

    Dismal. Loved it in the beginning, but she became more whiny, desperate, and entitled as the book progressed. Hard to feel sympathy for her when she seemed to have so much to be thankful for but could only see what she didn't have. She came across as demanding of her husband in particular who is a saint in my opinion to have put up with her and her neediness. I really wanted to feel sympathy for her, and I am sorry she had cancer. But the world does not revolve around her and her life and she never seemed to have an aha moment when she learned or grew from the experience. My recommendation: skip it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Great book

    Eady read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I know Kelly Corrigan as if a dear friend from reading The Middl

    I know Kelly Corrigan as if a dear friend from reading The Middle Place. Her writing is conversational, funny---her joyful personality shines through on every page. I love that she writes honestly, loves her family deeply, and is flawed with the worries and life's challenges of being a mother and a human being, just like the rest of us. One of my favorite books...ever.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    SO Highly Recommended!!!!

    It is 1:45 a.m. I should have been asleep at least an hour ago but couldn't put this book down. I'll pay for it tomorrow but it will be worth it! I just had to get up, go online, and check...Did she or didn't she?...SHE DID! SHE DID! She wrote another book! Which I will order before I go back to bed where I will sleep contentedly, knowing another book by the wonderful Kelly Corrigan is on its way!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 128 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7