Customer Reviews for

Middle School Is Worse Than Meatloaf: A Year Told Through Stuff

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    I couldnt Put it down!!

    I read the book Middle School is Worse than Meatloaf by Jennifer L. Holm. I couldn't put it down! I was drawn to this book by the title and the awesome pictures. The reality of this book and how you can relate to the young girl is the best part. Middle School is worse than Meatloaf is a book about a young pre-teen and her experiences in the 7th grade. Her name was Genne.
    Well within her 7th grade year she experiences many problems. One would be her mom and step-dad getting married. She also faces problems with friend, family, and her self. This book is a story about the life of a typical teenage girl. I could relate to Genne me myself being in 7th grade I can relate to the struggles she faces.
    I especially recommend this book to any young girl around my age. It a fun yet comical book that I defiantly recommend. I loved reading this book and you would too!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2008

    a reviewer

    I am a twelve year old middle school sudent. The fron cover looked cool,so i read it. A very good and easy to read book. I reccomend it for everyone! this book is sweet!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Middle School is Worse than Meatloaf

    After reading "Middle School is Worse than Meatloaf" I thought the book was great ! Students going to Middle School can relate to this book,so I would recommend this book to many of my friends. This book is about a twelve year old who's just starting Middle School. Through the book she talks about her life and how complicated it is! It also has many funny comments and poems which makes it an even greater book! In no time you will be asking yourself "How did I finish this book so quickly !" It's is a real page turner!
    Another book I would like to read by Jennifer L.Holms, the author , is "Turtle in Paradise". I would like to read this book because it's about an eleven year old named Turtle who's living in the 1930's . At that time jobs and money were very scarce and now Turtle needs to leave because her mother gets a job as a housekeeper and the lady doesn't like children ! So Turtle is stuck moving to Florida and having to stay with relatives she's never met. For all those who are reading this I assure you that you will be fully in love with the book "Middle School is worse than Meatloaf"! Just read it and see for yourself!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2009

    middle schoool is worst than meatloaf

    this is an awsome book if i were you, you should read it. it's almost better then TWILIGHT!!!!!!!:):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    I have to admit that this is one of the most intriguing books I've come across so far this year. <BR/><BR/>This isn't a normal novel, in that, although the book does contains actual words, the story isn't told in regular story format. Rather, as the full title suggests, it's a story that describes a year in the life of Ginny Davis, a seventh grader at Woodland Central, through stuff. <BR/><BR/>Stuff, as in notes from the principal. Stuff, as in letters to and from school friends. Stuff, as in pictures of play costumes, and cancelled checks, and calendar notations, and report cards. Stuff, as in anything and everything that makes up the life of a middle-schooler. <BR/><BR/>Author Jennifer L. Holm is to be commended for this awesome book, which offers a peek into middle school life, and inside the comings-and-goings of a teenage girl. From Post It notes from mom to crazy cards from Grandpa Joe, you'll find yourself smiling and reminiscing as you browse through the pages of MIDDLE SCHOOL IS WORSE THAN MEATLOAF. <BR/><BR/>This would be the perfect gift for anyone about to enter middle school, or, actually, for anyone who just enjoys books that are a little different from the norm. Believe me, this story is sure to please!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    meatloaf is worse than middle school is a funny book!!!!!

    Meatloaf Is Worse Than Middle School is a funny kid book that a mom could sit down and read to their child every once and a while. their are really a lot of cool characters but in the book which im going to tell you about this before i tell you to read it is that not all of it is words, their are alot of pictures and little decorations in the book but PLEASE dont let that stop you from reading it because it is a really good book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2008

    awesome

    I loved this book I thought it was so cool and I really liked how is was set up. I told my friend she should read it and she also loved it we both read it in like an hour on and off because we were in class and we had to listen a little but i really enjoyed this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2007

    Middle School Is Worse Than Meatloaf: A Year Told Through Stuff

    I am a middle school teacher and I had begun to hear a lot of talk about the book MIDDLE SCHOOL IS WORSE THAN MEATLOAF. I decided to pick up a copy to see why it had captured my students¿ attention. After reading the book it was clear to me why. The book brings to life the experiences of Ginny Davis through an amazingly detailed series of illustrations. Although I do not have children of my own I have been in the school system for 15 years and was amazed by how this book captured the middle school experience. It is a must read for young girls.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2008

    Great Book

    This book is funny and the layout is cool.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2007

    Middle School Is Worse Than Meatloaf: A Year Told Through Stuff

    I am the mother of a seventh grade girl, and am selective about the books my daughter reads. I came across Middle School Is Worse Than Meatloaf. From the first page it was amazing how much I enjoyed it, let alone my daughter. The story line by author Jennifer L. Holm and the illustrations by Elicia Castaldi took me back several years. The funny part is, with the exception of the technological changes (i.e. e-mail), much of what was in the book was similar to my childhood and middle school experiences. Both Ms. Holm and Ms. Castaldi have succeeded in bringing to life a very important time in any girl¿s life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2007

    outstanding

    this book totally rocks and it is good for middle schoolers

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    Ginny is a seventh grader and is trying to live through every middle school crisis. From turning her hair pink to throwing frogs ing science class. This is a truly outstanding book that is great for middle school girls, just like ME!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2007

    It's true!

    The illustrations and photography make this book real, fun, and meaningful to any middle schooler. This book tells the life of today's pre-teen girl exactly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Ccopycats

    Ginny? Harry? Pfff, such J.K Rowling copycats. Think of your own character names, people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Horble

    I just started reading this book and i dont like it at all. This is one of thosebooks were there are just notes instead of a story. But i dont like books like that. So if you are like me i dont recomend this book.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1