Customer Reviews for

Middlemarch (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Stick With It

I can understand how some readers might become overwhelmed by the 700 plus pages that make up this classic but its well worth the read. George Eliot reminds me of an Austen or Bronte, but with a little more spunk. Everything doesn't always work out perfectly for Eliot's...
I can understand how some readers might become overwhelmed by the 700 plus pages that make up this classic but its well worth the read. George Eliot reminds me of an Austen or Bronte, but with a little more spunk. Everything doesn't always work out perfectly for Eliot's characters and their lives are more complicated and true to life. Dr. Lydgate and Dorthea begin with the best of intentions but their ambitions are soon spoiled through their own folly and misjudgement. The book is a great depiction of human strenghths and weaknesses set in a climate of strict social heirarchy.

posted by 142823 on March 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Great book, HORRIBLE edition

Do NOT waste your money on this edition of Middlemarch. There are seriously at least 50 typos that I found. Misspelled words, character names switched, missing punctuation. I've never seen anything like it. It was terribly distracting. B&N and the editor of this edition...
Do NOT waste your money on this edition of Middlemarch. There are seriously at least 50 typos that I found. Misspelled words, character names switched, missing punctuation. I've never seen anything like it. It was terribly distracting. B&N and the editor of this edition should be so ashamed. Your money and time will be much better spent on another edition.

posted by lraber224 on February 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing, bored, and wondering what others see

    This book as been pegged as a masterpiece of English fiction, well for me it was a masterpiece of boredom and dissatisfaction. One of the driest and most serious books that I have read in a long time (maybe ever). For me the Finale couldn't not have came quick enough. There are so MANY plot lines and so many characters, that it was absolutely grueling to try and finish the novel (but I did). This book is divided into eight books and then the Finale. Personally, not only were the characters of the book having to go through unhappy marriages through their entirely, but I was also suffering through the whole ordeal. Although the character Dorothea doesn't marry in my opinion the ideal husband (Lydgate) for her character, by in the end I despised Dorothea; therefore, I was fine with her character being unhappy. Definitely not the worse book i have ever read (because that honor belongs to Walden), but at times (a multitude of time() I definitely questioned how this is on the BBC top 100 book list.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2005

    Not a fan of Eliot

    I looked forward to getting 'into' this rather long volume. Unfortunately, it was just too flowery for my preference. I passed it on to a friend who thoroughly enjoyed it and would give it 5 stars!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2014

    Amazing novel, absolutely terrible edition!! Do NOT purchase thi

    Amazing novel, absolutely terrible edition!! Do NOT purchase this B&N Series edition!!! I don't know the correct names of some of the characters because they're misspelled on every other page, not to mention the ridiculous number of typos. I should be getting paid to catch all of them! It's not 1-2; it's nearly every page! Customer Service is of no use either....I've been hung up on twice, and with a twinge of irony, the last one bid me "Farewell!" before hanging up. Sigh...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Jinx

    Tears the lone wolfs fce up

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    <p>

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    IMPORTANT!!!!! MUAT READ!!!!!!

    Fooled Ya.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Syprus

    "Yep." With a halfhearted grin, Syprus lowered herself onto a Picnic-Table bench. -Syprus/Kricketto-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Welcome to MiddleMarch-RULES

    Greetings, :D I'm proud to present; MiddleMarch, a New Roleplay for those whom can spell, use grammar, and who use proper punctuation. I'm Kricketto, or, to Most, Syprus. <p>

    •Rules of Roleplay• <br>
    1. Use Grammar, Punctuation, Spelling, and PLEASE use "" or ** In your posts! If your a Newb, get out. o-x There is no room for a lifeless Drama-Freak as yourself. <br>
    2. Do NOT cause fu<_>cking Drama, as if you are to, you will be automatically considered a Newb, even if your Spelling and Grammar is perfect. <br>
    3. There are to be no Claims to power here; I'll only appoint a few People whom will move locations, or kick out those whom don't follow rules; Otherwise, you have no claim in any Authority, and will and can be Banned. <br>
    4. If you have any conflict with an Rp'er, don't take it up with everyone. That will lead to Drama; And Drama is unacceptable. <br>
    5. Before you Join, You MUST put in an 'Application,' at 'Treasure Island,' Result one; I will get back to you, and will say if your able to join; In your Application, you must include your Background. (You may be a Halfblood, Werewolf, or Vampire. You can be a Shifter; But not a Newb.) And Years of Roleplay. <br>
    6. Finally, Have fun; Roleplay, Talk. If you are Talking out of character, do put OOC: Then your Text. IC is In Character; <p>
    Now, Enjoy. ^~^ -Syprus-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    The first few chapters of my copy of Middlemarch were actually f

    The first few chapters of my copy of Middlemarch were actually from Tolstoy's Anna Karenina. I don't know how a misprint like this went unnoticed. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Another boring one.

    Nothing much happened, just a lot of talking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1