Customer Reviews for

Middleworld (The Jaguar Stones Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    LOVE IT!!!!!

    I did not read this book on my nook but it waas awesome!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Great book

    Middleworld is a great book i reccomend it

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Fun Read Involving the Culture of the Maya

    I'm a big fan of anything involving ancient history, so when I was given the chance to read Middleworld, I couldn't say no. One of the most interesting things about this book was the plot. This wasn't your typical adventure story. The story is full of mystery and action, but it ties in a lot of interesting information about an amazing ancient culture. That was something that really set this story apart. It seemed to aim for an accurate depiction of an ancient culture, and the Maya still living in South America. I can't think of any other books that involve the Maya, which is one of the reasons that I enjoyed this book so much.

    Another appealing aspect was the expertise of the authors, who spent years researching the story. Their website shows pictures of their travels, and their blog also talks about their trips. I really thought that their experiences made the book that much more interesting. There was information about the Maya throughout the story (including some pronunciation help), and some fun information, and a recipe, in the back of the book. Knowing that the authors spent time learning about the culture made me appreciate the way the facts were seamlessly woven into the fictional aspects of the book. I also appreciated was the way the story addressed the 2012 Maya calendar myth. You know the one, right? Supposedly, the calendar ends in December of 2012, and that predicts the end of the world. Well, not so according to Middleworld. I thought that the authors did a great job of tying that into the story as well. I personally was unaware that there was no archeological evidence that that calendar stopped in 2012.

    The only issue that I had was with the character Max. For the first half of the story he was extremely whiny, and I found it hard to sympathize because of this. Over the course of the book, Max realized that he had been behaving pretty horribly, and began to change. I personally wish that these changes has started sooner, and that they had been a bit more gradual. I did enjoy his character in the second half of the story, however.

    Middleworld ended with a great setup for the sequel, and I'll definitely be picking it up. For those of you who hate cliffhangers, don't worry. The authors did a great job of tying up the loose ends, and the story feels complete. It did, however, leave me wondering what would happen next. I can't give away too much, but I will say that there is definitely more to Max's story. If you're interested in learning a bit more about the Maya culture, and want an exciting read, I'd definitely suggest picking this one up.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Ggjnfv

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    Loved it! A really entertaining (and educational) book!

    I picked up this book as a gift to the kids I babysit for - a 6-year-old girl and an 8-year-old boy. Both are great readers and love being read to. They both are really quite smart and love to learn so I thought they would like learning about the ancient Maya. I especially thought the boy would like it because he loves Artemis Fowl and Percy Jackson and that type of thing. I read it first, and I loved it! Max Murphy is such a believable, spoiled 14-year-old who isn't prepared in the least for the the Central American adventure he is plunged into. It is such a fun read and had me laughing all the way through (until the end, when I was on the edge of my seat!). When I started reading it to the kids, the funny thing was that the boy thought it was pretty good but the little girl really latched on to it. She loves it and asks me every day if we can read it. I read it to them on the long subway ride home from school, and when I stop at the stations because of the noise, the girl begs for me to start reading again! True, the vocabulary in the book might be too advanced for a 6-year-old, but she loves the story, asks questions, and flips ahead to look at the great illustrations. Don't pass up this book because you don't think it is the right age group or it is only a boy book; I highly recommend it for kids of all ages and both genders. Overall an excellent read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    You absolutly have to read this!!!

    If you tried to discribe it, you couldn't. You'd hit somewhere along the lines of an epic adventure of huge porpotions and give up for lack of a better word.

    Rividing!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Good

    Its a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    To sally kruger the raing is urs not teh books the book s awsom

    Nobody wants u to tell them wat happens so stop anywho u should be under editorial rewiews fffghtgbufhyv

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    It was epic

    Middleworld is the best book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    ?

    Is there a second book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Grate book

    This book is a grate book it has about 400 pg. I love the book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



    + THE BOOK IS GRATE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Love it

    Best book ever,it is amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Turd

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Awesome

    This book is good nd if anyone doesnt like this they shall DIE!!!!!!!!!!!""

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    The plot was interesting enough, and I liked the facts about the

    The plot was interesting enough, and I liked the facts about the Maya culture and the rainforest. However, the characters were somewhat cliche. This bothered me, but it was tolerable. Another point that bothered me was the fact that somehow the Maya gods found favor with a random kid from Boston who has no Maya heritage. I hope this is resolved in the next book. Overall, a great read despite the two-dimensional characters and plot holes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Awesome

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Amazing

    I recommend this book for 9+ but still really good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Great book

    This is the best book ever i love it!!! Cant wait to read #2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Awsome

    I think jk rowling is out smarted

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Great book read the second book the end of the world club

    Max is a self-centered jerk and Lola, a mayan orphan, is awsome. Of course, being a girl, how can you be surprised. A fantastic must-read! Lots of action and an exiting end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4