BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Midnight

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Edge of your seat suspense!

Koontz amazes me everytime. 'Midnight' is a story about a small coastal town quickly and secretly undergoing a horrific change to it's citizens. Caught in the middle of this living nightmare are 4 intriguing and distinctive characters brought together against the odds...
Koontz amazes me everytime. 'Midnight' is a story about a small coastal town quickly and secretly undergoing a horrific change to it's citizens. Caught in the middle of this living nightmare are 4 intriguing and distinctive characters brought together against the odds to quite possibly save the world as we know it. Riveting chapters kept me glued to the end. Koontz proves again that he is a master storyteller, and like featured evil inventor Thomas Shaddack, Koontz has the ability to create creatures that could only be found in the worst of our dreams.

posted by Anonymous on January 16, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

not his best

I've read about 5 Koontz books up to this point and this was by far my least favorite. I almost didn't read the entire book, but was halfway through it and decided I may as well finish it. I would not recommend this Koontz book to others.

posted by Anonymous on April 21, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2007

    Edge of your seat suspense!

    Koontz amazes me everytime. 'Midnight' is a story about a small coastal town quickly and secretly undergoing a horrific change to it's citizens. Caught in the middle of this living nightmare are 4 intriguing and distinctive characters brought together against the odds to quite possibly save the world as we know it. Riveting chapters kept me glued to the end. Koontz proves again that he is a master storyteller, and like featured evil inventor Thomas Shaddack, Koontz has the ability to create creatures that could only be found in the worst of our dreams.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2003

    not his best

    I've read about 5 Koontz books up to this point and this was by far my least favorite. I almost didn't read the entire book, but was halfway through it and decided I may as well finish it. I would not recommend this Koontz book to others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2014

    Mistress

    Oh kevin u neve told me u had a guest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2014

    Kevin

    "Hey" i smile at Misstress and step aside to let her in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    First Impressions Aren't Always The Best!

    I've never read anything by Dean Koontz before so I wasn't really sure what to expect when I purchased this audiobook. Murder, monsters, mayhem---well, that's right up my alley, I'd thought. Unfortunately for Koontz, my first impression left me with the shivers (and not the good kind). My qualms lie more with Koontz's writing style than with the plot which is a shame because this is a story with some serious potential.

    As far as the concept goes, I thought it was pretty fantastic. I thought the creatures' lack of empathy to be quite chilling. But I had a hard time connecting with most of the characters save for Harry (the disabled war veteran) and Moose (his dog). Generally, I thought the writing was repetitive and the story, dated. There's an abundance of archaic technological and historical references which really showed the book's age. Little did I realize Midnight was published in 1989. Koontz also has a tendency to repeat the same minute details over and over and over again, causing no shortage of frustration on my end.

    Midnight started off with a bang and the ending had a lot promise, but alas, all the build-up was for naught. Like the rest of the book, it lacked the real scare-factor that I was looking for. J. Charles was a decent reader and the audio production itself was well done. Overall, I could see this story being adapted for TV and, in the right hands (here's to looking at you Guillermo del Toro!), I think it could be brilliant.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Midnight

    Coming soon.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    Another Classic

    I've been reading Dean Koontz since 2001 and I've got to say 'Midnight' is one book that captures the true essence of Koontz bone chilling, spine tingling story telling. This book tells the tale of a small California coastal town of Moonlight Cove who over the course of two months has several unexplained deaths with suspicious circumstances. Sam Booker comes to investigate along with Tessa Lockland who's sister was one of Moonlight Cove's many victims. Together they and an eleven-year-old girl named Chrissie and a disabled army vet solve the mysteries that have been plauging the town. This is a good read. I couldn't put this book down to save my life. It's so fast paced and filled with action that keeps you up all night long. This is definitely one of Koontz's better books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2007

    Unbelievable!!

    I found this book to be one of my favorites by Dean Koontz. The way he includes scenes from each character's point of view really adds to the plot...a lot of times the reader knows things before the characters do because of reading an earlier scene from a different character's perspective. I usually find scenes related to FBI/detective work dry and uninterested because I know next to nothing about that line of work...but in this book those scenes really set up the plot because they explain exactly what is going on inside the people of Moonlight Cove and the change that is taking place. I really enjoyed the character of Chrissie Foster...she's really smart for an eleven year old and the ending was great too. Read this book...it's a must

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2005

    No other book can touch it!

    Just Amazing, and addicting! I've never read such a thrilling masterpiece. An instant classic. I had to have somone slap me just to get me to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2004

    AWES0ME!!!

    you ppl have to read this book! even the beginning is good and then it just takes you and you cant put it down. go buy it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2004

    this book was incredible!!

    this book is genius!! it is very scary but has a lot of action and cool stuff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2004

    Literally UN-believeable!

    It was a good book but it took me almost 2 months to read it.(I read 'The Voice Of The Night'in 1 day!!!)It was really hard to believe that it could be real unlike others of his which you could imagine seeing happen. I mean come on! Alien things??? PULEEASE!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2003

    Best Dean Koontz's book

    Apsolutely the best!Very shocking and original!In this book,Dean Koontz created some of the best book characters ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2002

    What??????

    What goes on inside the head of Dean Koontz? The roles the characters took on, and the situations they were put in just brings goose bumps to your skin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2001

    THE BEST EVER

    IT'S SO GREAT YOU CAN'T PUT IT DOWN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2000

    a MUST read

    I loved this book!! I couldn't put it down. I read until I couldn't see straight and then forced myself to go to bed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2000

    More glowing amber eyes in the night.

    Another good Koontz book that really stayed in my memory months later. More glowing amber eyes, another threatened little girl, another noble dog, more corrupt cops, romance, action, mystery, and the usual Koontzisms abound, but who cares? I especially liked the Indian protege' with his 'cactus candy' and boy under his guidance, which reminded me of the film 'Poltergeist.' The FBI agent was a little too simplistic in personality, and the scope and technicalities of the evil genius weren't that plausible, but the other characters were believable, the action was good, imagery was vivid, and there were plenty of technological thrills and biological chills.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2000

    The ultimate thriller,a nonestop roller coaster ride!

    The surprises never end in Koontz's world.The book starts off with the unsolved murder of Janice Capshaw. She was out for a run in the quiet town of Moonlight Cove , a small town in California. Her murder sparks the suspicion that everything is not so normal in Moonlight Cove .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2000

    The Best I have ever read

    This book is a personal thriller. It had the insincts of a wonderfully told plot. The characters were unbeleiving great. It had a surprising twist near the end that had me on the edge of my seat for days after I had read it. This definitly deserves a 5 star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3