Customer Reviews for

Midnight: A Gangster Love Story

Average Rating 4
( 450 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(217)

4 Star

(83)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(59)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

High Expectations?

I started out reading this book, as everyone did, with HIGH expectations. We all read "The Coldest Winter Ever", and we waited, and waited and waited for the sequel. The sequel that Sister Souljah said she'd been working on for two years, that would be told from Porti...
I started out reading this book, as everyone did, with HIGH expectations. We all read "The Coldest Winter Ever", and we waited, and waited and waited for the sequel. The sequel that Sister Souljah said she'd been working on for two years, that would be told from Portia Santiago's point of view. These were her words. Maybe this book isn't the sequel that we all thought it would be. It was marketed as such, but, as many have stated, it is a pre-quel. It takes us back. It takes us inside of "Midnight". Why he was the way he was. Why he felt the way he did. Why he did not give "Winter" the time of day. Her "crush" went unsolicited because of his upbringing, his beliefs, his way of seeing women in general.

I started out reading this book wondering when I would see mention of Ricky Santiago at least, and I did, if you paid attention you would see how they crossed paths. But this story isn't about Winter or her family, it is about Midnight and his family.

Sure he's a "Gangster". A different kind of "Gangster". His main objective in life is taking care of his family. That's what I call Gangsta. Not a Thug, But a True Gangsta.

Some are angry about the way that African American women are viewed in this book. Is it not true about some? Are these words not true about a lot of our African American people in general? Stop and think before you become angry. All she did was say what most people already think, or already know. I'm not mad at her. We need to be aware of what we are becoming, what we have become.

The book is lovely. It's not what we expected, but it's an excellent book in general. Worth $26.95? I don't know. But well worth reading!!

posted by MochaChocolate on November 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

A disappointment

What I was expecting from "Midnight" as the prequel to "The Coldest Winter Ever" is not what I got. The young devout Muslim Midnight in this novel is nothing like the older Midnight, right hand to drug lord Mr. Santiaga, from the original book. And, Sistah Souljah does ...
What I was expecting from "Midnight" as the prequel to "The Coldest Winter Ever" is not what I got. The young devout Muslim Midnight in this novel is nothing like the older Midnight, right hand to drug lord Mr. Santiaga, from the original book. And, Sistah Souljah does nothing to reconcile the two of them. If I had no forewarning that they were supposed to be the same character, I'd think they were two completely different people.

The love story is sweet, though Sistah Souljah's depiction of African American women leaves a lot to be desired (at least for me). And, her characters are fleshed out very well. But, by the end of the book there's nothing to help you understand how Midnight became the Midnight from "The Coldest Winter Ever." It's almost as if she forgot about the other story and decided to take the character in a completely different direction (I could never imagine this Midnight becoming a drug lord's right hand man). She also doesn't explain why Midnight and his mother are in the situation they are in to begin with (which starts off the whole book). There are many allusions to Midnight's father, but no explanation as to what happened to him (which starts to become perplexing).

I'm also disappointed that she chose to have pictures of models in the book, instead of letting the reader imagine Midnight in their mind. The picture of the guy who she has depicting Midnight doesn't even come close to the Midnight I have imagined in my mind.

Overall, the book was just O.K. While I liked the characters, the book really left a lot to be desired. Maybe there will be a sequel to this book to give the whole thing a purpose. By the way she wrote the ending, I wouldn't be surprised.

posted by Genie718 on October 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 217 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    High Expectations?

    I started out reading this book, as everyone did, with HIGH expectations. We all read "The Coldest Winter Ever", and we waited, and waited and waited for the sequel. The sequel that Sister Souljah said she'd been working on for two years, that would be told from Portia Santiago's point of view. These were her words. Maybe this book isn't the sequel that we all thought it would be. It was marketed as such, but, as many have stated, it is a pre-quel. It takes us back. It takes us inside of "Midnight". Why he was the way he was. Why he felt the way he did. Why he did not give "Winter" the time of day. Her "crush" went unsolicited because of his upbringing, his beliefs, his way of seeing women in general. <BR/><BR/>I started out reading this book wondering when I would see mention of Ricky Santiago at least, and I did, if you paid attention you would see how they crossed paths. But this story isn't about Winter or her family, it is about Midnight and his family. <BR/><BR/>Sure he's a "Gangster". A different kind of "Gangster". His main objective in life is taking care of his family. That's what I call Gangsta. Not a Thug, But a True Gangsta.<BR/><BR/>Some are angry about the way that African American women are viewed in this book. Is it not true about some? Are these words not true about a lot of our African American people in general? Stop and think before you become angry. All she did was say what most people already think, or already know. I'm not mad at her. We need to be aware of what we are becoming, what we have become. <BR/><BR/>The book is lovely. It's not what we expected, but it's an excellent book in general. Worth $26.95? I don't know. But well worth reading!!

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2008

    Give Sister Souljah some credit

    I'm disappointed in all the bad reviews that this book got, if you understood Sister Souljah at all you would realize that when she wrote The Coldest Winter Ever she wrote from the point of view of Winter and how she was raised. With Midnight she is writing from his point of view and how he was raised and if you had any sense at the end of the book you should have caught on that its gonna be a part two. Duh there is no way Sister Souljah would leave a book hanging like that. I actually sent her an email at sistersouljah@sistersouljah.com and asked her if I was right and she confirmed that there is another book coming out. (Yes she actually responded to my email) And she said all will be revealed in the next book. So if you are looking for some word about Winter wait until the next book before you judge this one so harshly.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT TO ME

    I am really enjoying this wonderful book. Give it a chance...

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2008

    NOT A TYPICAL LOVE STORY

    My daughter and I have been fans since reading The Coldest Winter Ever. It was extraordinary because it depicted the fast and furious lifestyle that most young people crave. For my daughter, it showed her that as intriguing as it is, it does have dangerous consequences; and for me it gave me an insight on the possible pressures my daughter can face in her generation. <BR/> As soon as Midnight A gangster love story hit the shelves, we purchased it. We both agreed not to approach the book as a sequel, but a book that better informed us on the character Midnight. We were not disappointed in SisterSouljah's literary work. The book shared a different view on the African culture and Muslim religion. Not to say we would convert but the structure of the Muslim religion can be greatly respected since it leaves no room for failure. Midnight displayed dedication and love for the women in his life that is unsurpassed. <BR/> Signed<BR/> Areka & Tomysha

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely Wonderful!

    Of course, when I first heard this book was out, I thought it would be a sequel to "The Coldest...", but it was not. The book is about exactly what the title states- "Midnight". You get to know Midnight's background, why he is the way he is, why he does what he does. It all makes sense when you think about his character in "The Coldest...". In the first book, you wonder why you never see him with the hoodrats, why he is so mysterious, etc. The answer is all in "Midnight". <BR/>Even though Winter and her family are not mentioned, there is an opening for where her family might fit. There's a part in the story where 2 of the biggest drug dealers in the projects are killed, along with their hoodrat girlfriend. Souljah alludes to another kingpin and another hoodrat coming in to take their place. There is always someone in the wings as a successor to someone else's downfall.<BR/>Yes, this book was over 500 pages long, I wish it were longer. The love story was great. Their love broke all color, language, and religious barriers. His love/loyalty to his friends was immense. The love for his family, especially his mom, is one you hope your own son, boyfriend, husband, etc would have.<BR/>I think the bad reviews are from all those who wanted a sequel to "The Coldest...". If that is your only driving force to read this book, then don't. But if you want to get to know Midnight and his journey through life from age 7 to 14, learn about true love, respect, and discipline, then by all means, read this book.<BR/>This book was beautiful from start to finish and I can't wait to read it's follow-up, if there is one.<BR/>Good job Sister Souljah. Your heart should dictate your stories, not other people!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Loved iT

    I recommend this book to anyone especially young black males. Its great inspiration to be strong willed and a responsible loving and protective young man. I have read two of Sister Souljahs and I love the way she tells a story. What makes it even more interesting is that you get to learn about different cultures and how they live and what they value. Its a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Midnight Ride

    This was really one of the greatest books I have read. I loved it very much. I need to read the first book and if it was anything like the first one then I know I will love it to dead.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    I LOVED IT!!

    THE COLDEST WINTER EVER AND THIS BOOK WAS NOT THE SAME TO ME... EXCEPT FOR THE CITY AND STATE... BUT I STILL LOVE THE BOOK.. I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN.. AND I WAS ALWAYS TRYING TO PUT IT BACK UP.. THIS BOOK LEFT ME WANTING MORE... DID HE GET HIS WIFE BACK AT THE END!! WHAT HAPPEN...
    I WOULD HAVE LOVE TO SEE HIM GROW UP... WELL I LOVE BOTH BOOKS AND KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK SISTER SOULJAH AND IF YOU WANT TO PUT YOUR WAY OF LIVING IN THIS BOOK.. WELL GOOD.. YOU ARE THE ONE WRINTNG IT AND THEY DON'T HAVE TO READ...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2008

    A Must Read...

    This book was way off from what I expected, but as I read it it became a great book, every black male should read this book, everyone should read this book. It helps you to understand different cultures and lifestyle and especially real love...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    Great Book

    People wake up this book was an incredilbe story of a young boys coming of age into manhood. It depicts one persons culture and thier perception of American culture we should not be offended but perhaps recognize the subtle need for change on our part. I could tell that S/S did a lot of research and invested a lot of time writing this book I recently met her in Miami where she read from this particular book, she said that this is her favorite book and I see why. And for those of you who are comparing this to coldest winter ever dont read this book with an open mind DON'T and no expectations you will not be dissappointed. PEACE OUT!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2008

    http://whereismymidnight.blogspot.com/

    Wow! Midnight: A Gangster Love Story was G-R-E-A-T! I loved it so, I started a Blog. Please visit whereismymidnight.blogspot.com if ya want to talk the "real" about Midnight. Peace.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    Great Story!

    This book was not what I expected and I love it!!! It totally through me for a loop and took me on a ride that I did not want to get off. There is a big cliffhanger which will only leave you wanting more. I cannot stop thinking about Midnight as if he were a real man and somehow wishing he were....GREAT JOB, Sister Souljah!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    I Loved It!!!

    Such a talented writer. I don't read much books from this genre but with Sister Souljah, its a level that I could rock with!! Teaching young women to wait before having sex, young men to be discipline as well, protect the women in your family, respect your elders, stay true to your self, train your mind and body, if you are religious or spiritual, be disciplined with these aspects as well. Temptations and obstacles in the world couldn't break Midnight it made him stronger...and I love his character~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Thud Thus was a giid biik cnt waut ti read two

    Giid

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Im INLOVE With This Book

    Its so good and detailed .. makes you feel like your their ... buyyy thee bookkk pleasee .. sister souljah is a urban book legend <33

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    I love LOVE, and while this book was all about Midnight & ho

    I love LOVE, and while this book was all about Midnight &amp; how he came to be the young man he was in Coldest Winter Ever, it was also a love story about the people and things he loves. The author is creatively painting the full picture of the Santiaga story through the individual characters. It's brilliant! As far as the comments on American women &amp; how they're portrayed in this book...truth hurts! But aside from that...it's from Midnight's point of view, not necessarily the author's. There's 2 sides to every story &amp; this is his.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Life changing.

    If there's a young black man or woman in your life, buy them this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Loved it!

    My headline says it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Sister Souljah is an amazing writer... I had an oppurtunity to m

    Sister Souljah is an amazing writer... I had an oppurtunity to meet her in Uniondale Li last year... I love all of her books. Her latest about the Winter's sister was told so fabulously... all I can say is I get where she is going with her writings and will continue to support her endeavours.  With the midnight series we got to see who we are as a people through the eyes of our extended muslim family... with the latest series we are offered an insight on what it is to be one with nature and in tune to the land in which we live with a hint of native american culture as well... well done sister Souljah.. .you are ahead of your time... sonji michelle

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Omg

    This is a good book i could never put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 217 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11