Customer Reviews for

The Midnight Club

Average Rating 3.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very dramatic.

I would recommend this book. It kept my attention throughout. I love cop drama books, and this is a cop book, with many twists and turns.

posted by rforte0531 on April 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Boring

Some of Patterson's books are taking on superhero type of powers. I liked the charater, but it is not a total thrill of a read.

posted by 9961039 on February 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    I've read better James Patterson's books

    This book is the murder & mystery of James Patterson but not a "page -turner" I've come to expect.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Boring

    Some of Patterson's books are taking on superhero type of powers. I liked the charater, but it is not a total thrill of a read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    Very dramatic.

    I would recommend this book. It kept my attention throughout. I love cop drama books, and this is a cop book, with many twists and turns.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2001

    A complete disappointment

    I do not recommend this title. The plot is bad, characters are unrealistic. Can you imagine a cop in the wheelchair chasing criminals all over the NYC and faking his own death after being blown into pieces in a shoot out? This title is as bad as 'The Black Friday' , 'Cradle and All' and 'Pop Goes the Weasel' - a steady decline from 'Kiss the Girls'.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    Don't bother

    Not worth reading.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Top Rated Writer Strikes Again

    James Paterson Just keeps getting beter and beter...
    Most Enjoyable reading that keeps you up at night. Not due to Insomnia, but from the riveting plot the Patterson spins.
    Depth of the characters is just enough to believe that such a thing could really happen, Maybe even in your town...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good offering from Patterson despite plotholes.

    I have enjoyed most of Patterson's books I've read and this is no exception. The Midnight Club had and interesting sequence of events as you seem to start reading at the end of the story but its just the beginning. I really enjoyed that aspect but there were some huge plotholes that really held this book back. Overall, another decent read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2005

    Good

    The first half of the book was alright. It wasn't really grasping my attention as much as his other novels, but the second half developed some really good twists. Not the absolute best, but if your a James Patterson fan, it would be worth the time to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Random persons room

    Ok ots my room mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Great stlrh

    Long saga of post apocolyptic humanity fleeing aliens, Thousand years later tryg to deal with fojnders actions to create non technological cultture stfangled by relkgiln


    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Love this book!!

    One of my fave's by James Patterson. One I'd read over and over. LOVE IT!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2005

    Smart

    James Patterson is the best author I have ever read. His books are amazing. The midnight club is one of the best. It only took me a week to read this bood and I happen to be a slower reader. I just have to say that this is an amazing book. I loved it. James Patterson did an outstanding job on it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2004

    Excellent

    One of the best books I have ever read. Edge of your seat action page after page. Kept me up late at night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2001

    Gripping Plot

    A very interesting and gripping novel that kept me up, turning the pages all night. Not to mention that The Midnight Club has drug dealers, cops, sex, and fast exotic sports cars.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2001

    when will the movie come out???

    This is the first James Patterson book I have read and needless to say I could not put this book down. I'm on my way to the bookstore for another thriller...as I was reading the last few pages of this wonderful book I could not help but to think what a great film this would make....thank you James, I have become a fan. Art Jasso San Jose, Calif.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2000

    THE BEST BOOK HE HAS WRITTEN

    I READ THIS BOOK IN ONE DAY THAT'S HOW MUCH IT CAUGHT MY INTREST. BEST BOOK I HAVE READ IN A LONG TIME.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2000

    Surprisingly Disappointing

    I recommended this book to a friend on the basis of the Author. I read the book myself, and felt foolish for even considering the recommendation. The Plot wasn't so much unpredictable as it was jumpy, the characters were undeveloped, and there were numerous unresolved issues. Some of the more bothersome details that bothered me: - Wheelchair-bound Stef is described as doing things difficult or impossible, such as participating in an ocean-going drug raid (how exactly does he get to the bridge of the illegal vessel), or grabbing his rival by the shoulder as he walks away. - A character fakes his own death with only a passing mention of how that could have possibly fooled anyone. - Although probably the most developed aspect in the book, the love story lacks credibility. - Characters seem to have clairvoyance when it is time to be on their guard, but at other times, seem ambivalent to the fact that the entire criminal underworld, including bad cops may be out to get them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2000

    Excellent reader

    If you are a James Patterson fan, you will throughly enjoy this book. Couldn't put it down. Read 3/4 of it at work in one day!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3