Customer Reviews for

The Midnight Hour (Madaris Family Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another Madaris book of Excellence!

Brenda Jackson is one of my favorite authors; I have all of the Madaris saga titles. Plot, characterization, setting and dialogue -- so very believable! If you haven't read anything by Ms. Jackson, you've truly missed a good read!

posted by Anonymous on May 15, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of Brenda Jackson's best!!!

This is my all-time favorite of Brenda Jackson's books and it is very highly recommended!!! This story's got passion, love, danger, friendship and adventure all in one! Drake Warren, a US marine captain lost the love of his life in a rescue mission in Haiti and as a r...
This is my all-time favorite of Brenda Jackson's books and it is very highly recommended!!! This story's got passion, love, danger, friendship and adventure all in one! Drake Warren, a US marine captain lost the love of his life in a rescue mission in Haiti and as a result no longer fears death. He takes on the most dangerous missions just for the thrill. Unbeknownst to him, his fiancee Sandy, now named Tori is actually alive but can't be with Drake because of the danger. But when Drake's life is on the line Tori risks everything to visit Drake. Things get passionate when Drake and Tori are paired on assignment together as Drake remains drawn to Tori not knowing she's Sandy and Tori can't help but reach out for what she lost. Things get dangerous as the man who wanted Drake and Tori dead in the first place, Solomon Cross resurfaces intent on finishing what he started.

I love angtsy romances and this one's got it in spades! Drake is so intense and a total alpha male but he's so vulnerable with Tori. Speaking of Tori, I love how strong and independent she is. She loves Drake but she takes matters into her own hands and is a force to be reckoned with in her own right. She tries to take on everything by herself but Drake is hellbent on protecting her no matter what.

posted by IndigoLuthien09 on December 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Hot, Hot, Hot!

    I loved this story about Sir Drake! It is one of my all time favorites by Ms. Jackson.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    One of her best!

    I read this book I loved it. I mean I thought it was really outstanding I really like the book cover the lady is pretty. I thought these two people make a cute couple. I love the book thought about reading it again over and over again. My mother has meet Mrs. Brenda Jackson she is talented writer. I have two of her books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    AWESOME, AWESOME- A MUST READ!!!!!

    I enjoyed this book so much, I could not put it down, this book had suspense, action, redemption, and most of all the best love story ever. This is my favorite of all the books so far.I have read all but 3 books and I was spell bound by the frienships and the way everybody comes together. GREAT BOOK!!!! I READ IT IN ONE DAY!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    A MUST READ

    I reall enjoyed reading this book. It was real page turner. I would not mind reading it again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2007

    Wonderful Madaris Series Continuation

    OMG, I admit, it took me a minute to get through because of my schedule, but every moment that I could grab, I was in this book. It was a wonderful continuation of the Madaris Family and Friends. This is my favorite 'book family' to read about. The characters are all so real, and although what they go through may not always be totally true, the emotional struggles are always ones that I relate to. I absolutly loved Drake and Tori/Sandy's story. It was wonderfully written, and with just the right amount of mystery and 'other story' to keep you interested in the main story, but begging for the others to have their story as well. The passion, fire, and commitment that the two main characters had for each was just amazing, I'm talking 'feel it in your heart, even though it's only fiction' amazing, and I would highly recommend this one to others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2006

    A new style to romance!

    Mrs.Jackson was able to take a love story and add a twist!A book that hooks you from the start.With pages that burn passion and mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2005

    very good book

    I think this book was one of the best that Brenda Jackson has written. I just couldn't put the book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2004

    Absolutely Love the Madaris Series

    While I simply love the Madaris Series, I have to say this was my favorite one, followed by Whispered Promises. Brenda is one of my favorite authors, and she has not failed me yet. Keep up the good work Brenda, and keep the books coming.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2004

    Another Madaris book of Excellence!

    Brenda Jackson is one of my favorite authors; I have all of the Madaris saga titles. Plot, characterization, setting and dialogue -- so very believable! If you haven't read anything by Ms. Jackson, you've truly missed a good read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2004

    Great Tale... Now Bring on Christy and Alex

    Great story. Brenda does it again. The story will not hold as much meaning if you haven't read all the books of the Madaris series. The series is so well written and captivating that you feel like the characters are family and friends. I am anxiously awaiting the story of Christy and Alex. However, isn't it amazing that there is no drama in the lives of any of these characters? If only I could be so lucky!:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2004

    Amazing!

    This book was absolutely captivating...I couldnt put it down until I was finished, and when I did finish I was soo dissapointed......because it was over!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2004

    A terrific tale

    Five years ago US Marine Captain Sandy Carroll died while on a rescue mission in Haiti. Her beloved Drake Warren never recovered as he takes on impossible CIA missions that psychiatrists would say were death wishes. His latest endeavor in Tikrit, Iraq ends with him evacuated seemingly close to gaining his wish as he totters near death in Bethesda. That night an angel pretending to be a doctor visits him encouraging him to live. Miraculously Drake recovers.................................. After being lectured for her nocturnal visit, CIA Agent Tori Green must stay away from Drake, the man she loves Drake since she barely survived that explosion in Haiti. She knows that Drake and drug lord Solomon Cross blame each other for the deaths of their respective loved ones and she would become a pawn if she surfaced on her cherished one¿s arms. However, five months later, Tori and Drake are paired off on an assignment, which stuns him because he is attracted to his partner, which means Solomon will return.............................. IN THE MIDNIGHT HOUR is an exhilarating romantic suspense tale that also includes elements from a second chance at love tale. The story line is fast-paced, but belongs to the two males who detest one another, but a ¿new¿ female pawn in Tori ups the stakes to such a degree that the audience knows the final confrontation between them will leave one dead. Though the logic of keeping Tori and Drake apart for their safety seems strange, fans will enjoy this terrific tale of intrigue............................. Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    BRENDA JACKSON.....#1 Author thus far......

    LOVED THIS BOOK!!! I have never enjoyed reading as much I do now and it's all because of Brenda Jackson and her books. Keep on writing.......PLEASE!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    I love all of Brenda Jackson's books

    They are all great I need more...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Midnight hour

    I love the story line....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Excellent!

    This is one of Brenda's best! You know a book is great when you feel as though you could fall in love with the characters and Drake is my kind of man; strong, protective, intelligent and sexy. I hope to see more books like this from Brenda Jackson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful

    I love this book it goes to show that true love never dies.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2005

    outstanding!!!!!!!!

    this book was amazing.it makes you want to find what is going to happen next.Jackson draws you into the story and she makes you want to keep going and going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3