Customer Reviews for

The Midnight House (John Wells Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

super spy thriller

Following the New York incident (see The Silent Man), CIA agent John Wells receives some needed R&R. He takes off for rustic New Hampshire with only his dog Tonka as his hiking mate.

However, his respite abruptly ends when his assignments boss Ellis Shafer calls ask...
Following the New York incident (see The Silent Man), CIA agent John Wells receives some needed R&R. He takes off for rustic New Hampshire with only his dog Tonka as his hiking mate.

However, his respite abruptly ends when his assignments boss Ellis Shafer calls asking him to come back to work as he is needed. An assassin has killed probably five members of the defunct 10 manned Task Force 673, whose mission was to interrogate high-value terrorists; they had no rules except obtain information anyway they can. John searches for the killer with the biggest barriers coming from within as security agency chiefs are willing to allow more Americans to die in order to gain more power.

Shakespeare said "All's well that ends well", but even if he ends the serial killing spree, the espionage operative learns otherwise as Pogo trumps the Bard with "we have met the enemy and he is us". The latest Wells' spy thriller is more a whodunit except for the penis envy testosterone wars between the American spy agencies. Fans will appreciate Alex Berenson's super thriller as his hero may be The Faithful Spy, but others place agency desires over national security.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not up to Par

The latest installment by Alex Berenson is thrilling but I think he's fallen into the pressure by the publishing company to come out with a book every year (much like Flynn and Thor). I wish the authors would try harder and make the books longer. It just didn't measur...
The latest installment by Alex Berenson is thrilling but I think he's fallen into the pressure by the publishing company to come out with a book every year (much like Flynn and Thor). I wish the authors would try harder and make the books longer. It just didn't measure up to the first, second or third books. I'll probably try one more time but after that it'll be time to find another 'thriller' author.

posted by 2112305 on April 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Slipping. Slipping.

    Berenson's first book was great. Subsequent efforts have been weaker and weaker. This has been his worst book by quite a margin.

    Having said all that, this was one hell of a good book. It just wasn't nearly as good as his first book. I hope he can regain the edge he had on his earlier efforts. No matter, I will buy his next book the minute it hits the shelf.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A combo Spy/Mystery

    This forth offering on John Wells is set in 2008 when actions in Iraq were ongoing. The story is very believable and, while there is some action, it is more of a mystery that Wells and his boss investigates. While not as good as eariler works is still a great read. I enjoy his writing style and was eager to get to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    The Midnight House

    Interesting way of looking at the psychological aspects of a warped mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Very current book as the typr of "enhanced interrogations" the US is doing comes inder increasing scrutiny

    Berenson uses his famous character, John Wells, to scout out a secret interrogation cell called the Midnight House. Several of the now defunct cell's members have recently been murdered, and it is up to Wells and his sidekick, Fisher, to hunt them down and save the remaining members.

    While there was a lot of needless driveling about his ex-girlfriend Jennifer Exley, there wasn't enough of his new friend, a lady he met in his hideaway in the Northeast- but alas, I'm sure another sequel awaits that story.

    All in all a good book, not a real page turner, but one that as the book got on you wanted to know what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    "Waiting for John to turn the page.....

    The story was very interesting, exploring aspects of torture how it affects the prisoner and the 'interrogater'.
    For all of the readers who are waiting for John to turn the page in his life, it is done! His personal life has hit a new low, if that was possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Midnight House

    John Wells has one hell of a problem; find out why members of a former interrogation team are dead. Could they all be coincidence or murder and part of a terrorist plot? In Alex Berenson's THE MIDNIGHT HOUSE, the author jumps from Well's investigation back to when the team was together doing what it specialized in. As we learn about the members, we also learn how the CIA operates. This is a fast moving mystery/thriller that is character driven.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Another Solid, Yet Different Addition to the John Wells Series

    I have been a fan of Alex Berenson since his first novel and this book adds to the depth of the John Wells series. I would guess some fans of his previous novels may not be as happy with The Midnight House, as it is more mystery novel and less spy or counterterrorism thriller. To me that is the strength of the series so far, with each novel taking a different approach, style and tone while maintaining high intensity around a core group of solid characters. Both the first and third novels in the series, The Faithful Spy and The Silent Man, had a pure counterterrorism focus, while the The Ghost War was a more traditional espionage thriller. TMH overlaps into both areas but is first and foremost a mystery novel built around the world of spies.

    End result is a pretty solid addition to the series, though one that may disappoint fans expecting something else. Plot is well paced, and Berenson overlaps multiple elements, including past and present, adroitly to move things along. TMH is not the best in the Wells series, but that's a high standard given the outstanding quality of the first three novels. Even so it is a worthwhile read and a nice addition to the series, and Berenson's main character and supporting cast continue to shine in comparison to most in the genre, save only those of Daniel Silva.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty Good

    It was pretty good, but not up to the previous novels in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3