BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Midnight Lies (Wildefire Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    4-4.5 stars from me! I did not read book 1 in the Wildefire seri

    4-4.5 stars from me! I did not read book 1 in the Wildefire series, but that didn't stop me from enjoying this fantastic book. In fact, I liked it so much, first chance I get, I am going to go back and read book 1. I have to be honest. From the moment I started reading Midnight Lies, I was hooked. The book starts off strong and leaves you gasping for more.

    Samantha is one of the sexy Wilde sisters and a cop. She has a smexy sexy times relationship going on with doctor Quinn. All is going good until his ex turns up dead and Quinn becomes the numero uno person of interest. Samantha gets the hell out of dodge and goes back to Midnight and to her sisters, where they are busy opening up their own PI firm. That's where the best part of the story begins. Quinn comes to Midnight and works hard to get Samantha back.

    I really liked all the drama and mysteriousness that unfolded. I would have never thought murder solving in a romance novel would appeal to me, but it did...and in a big way. Kudos to the author for being able to do that. I fell completely in love with Quinn and I was so frustrated at Samantha for not understanding and believing in him.

    Those Wilde sisters are a hoot and I cannot wait to read more. I am hooked on this series.

    *Copy kindly provided via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Auh-mazin! Loved it! Samantha and Quinn have a lot of issues th

    Auh-mazin! Loved it!

    Samantha and Quinn have a lot of issues they need to work out before they can be together. Since Quinn was accused of murdering his ex-wife it has really brought all her doubts to the surface and made her reevaluate their relationship and really question who Quinn really is. Quinn on the other hand sees this doubt that Samantha has and just completely shuts her out until he learns about her involvement in clearing his name. 

    I love a book that has me captivated from the very start. Midnight Secrets was the same way and Midnight Lies didn't disappoint. I had difficulty putting this book down. The suspense is fantastic and the story line is held my interest. You think the story is going in one place but it goes in a completely different direction. However, there were a few predictable parts and I picked out the villain fairly early. 

    Overall, I loved it. It was exciting, the story was great and the sex was steamy. I am really excited for the next book and I love the set up we get for Sabrina's story. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Great seque Wilde sisters Great book 2 in a great new series!

    Another winner from Elle Grace, aka Christy Reece. Love her characters, dialogue, and suspense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Read from September 11 to 12, 2013 Book Info  Mass Marke

    Read from September 11 to 12, 2013




    Book Info 




    Mass Market Paperback, 368 pages
    Expected publication: September 24th 2013 by Ballantine Books
    original title Midnight Lies
    ISBN 0345538390 (ISBN13: 9780345538390)
    edition language English
    URL 
    series Wildefire #2
    Source:Netgalley EARC




    Book Buy Links 




    AMAZON 




    B&N 








    BOOK SYNOPSIS








    The Wilde sisters of Midnight return in this thrilling novel of romantic suspense, perfect for fans of Maya Banks, Allison Brennan, and Lori Foster.




    IT’S ALWAYS HOTTER AT MIDNIGHT.




    The winds of fate have blown cruelly on a family that once had it all: money, power, prestige. The lives of three beautiful daughters were forever changed when, on a sultry night in Midnight, Alabama, a murder-suicide shattered the Wilde family. The girls grew up to live separate lives but now have returned home, each to face a danger no one can see coming.




    Former homecoming queen Samantha surprised everyone by going into law enforcement, but beneath her tough façade lies a wary heart. The tragedy that struck her family is an ever-present reminder that nothing is ever as it seems. When the man she loves, Quinn Braddock, a doctor and Iraq war veteran, is accused of murder, Samantha assumes the worst. Brokenhearted, her confidence shattered, she returns to Midnight. Though exonerated, Quinn still feels the sting of Samantha’s doubt, but he can’t forget his feelings for her and follows her. Soon after his arrival, a shocking murder terrifies the town, and once again, Quinn is under suspicion. This time, Samantha will not turn her back on the man she loves—even if it means walking into a killer’s trap.




    My Thoughts








    This was an immediate emotional roller coaster ride, the murder of his ex put ER surgeon on the police's #1 suspect list and no matter how he tried to make them listen the investigating detectives were convinced they had the right man. Sam Wilde is one of very few female police officers in Atlanta but as the lover of the accused she feels she must prove Quinn's innocence of the heinous crime, even though she has her doubts she cannot help but think that the man she has grown to love could not be a cold blooded killer!




    Fast paced action plus absolutely the best romantic male lead whose smooth sexy talking will melt the coldest heart as it sure did mine and I am a die-hard romantic anyway so it was not hard to make it melt!




    Quinn and Samantha are truly well thought out and well executed characters as is the push-pull dynamics of their very volatile and combustible relationship and the small town is totally realistically portrayed in all it's charming glory as it sounds both a blessing to live in as well as having the drawback of myriad busybodies who seem to work overtime at the slightest provocation. 




    From sweetly oblivious to her lack of culinary skills Aunt Gibby to elderly Inez who can always be counted on to know the latest gossip to the taciturn Faye who is owner and creator of culinary delights in her restaurant everyone featured as a secondary character truly brings to life the town of Midnight for the reader. I was delighted at how the author managed to incorporate both of Sam's sisters as part of the story as well as sister Savannah's husband Zach who is the chief of police and the two men who helped set up the sisters Wildefire Agency as Brody and Logan played fairly important roles in the story as well.




    The different plot twists that integrate together and come to a startling conclusion when the true identity of the murderer is revealed was one that kind of got the gist of but was pleasantly surprised that had guessed correctly anyway. As a romantic suspense this thriller delivered in spades with enough dramatic tension offset by the relationship pitfalls that Quinn and Sam had to wade their way through until finally their path to happiness could be smoothed.




    Wish now would have read book 1 Midnight Secrets but did not feel too out of the loop regardless of not being up to speed with all the back story of the Wilde sisters and the town of Midnight.




    [EArc from Netgalley in exchange for honest review]

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Samantha Wilde, one of the Wilde triplets, has left her job as a

    Samantha Wilde, one of the Wilde triplets, has left her job as a police officer in Atlanta and moved back to Midnight to work with her sisters and get over her relationship with Dr. Quinn Braddock. They broke up when Quinn was accused of murdering his ex-wife. He didn't do it and Samantha was the one who went the extra to find evidence to exonerate him but her initial doubt played havoc with their relationship. It appears that Quinn too is having a hard time with their breakup because he shows up in Midnight wanting to start over. When a woman is murdered in Midnight just like Quinn’s ex Samantha is determined to show Quinn she believes in him even if it may cost her own life.
    Dr. Braddock has issues, lots of issues. Of course so does Samantha. Together they are wonderful, apart not so much. Samantha believes in romance and after Quinn’s disastrous marriage he is less than thrilled with the concept. This is a story of second chances and redemption. This book has it all - murder, mayhem, and romance. It also has small town gossip and backstabbing, hunky men and steamy southern nights. I can’t wait for Bri's story. 




    I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review but I would have bought it if I hadn't

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1