Customer Reviews for

Midnight Man

Average Rating 4
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Smoke

Wats wrong

posted by SweetHeart13 on April 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I was excited to read 'Midnight Man' due to all the 5 stars revi

I was excited to read 'Midnight Man' due to all the 5 stars reviews, but this story left me greatly disappointed. This was my first read by Lisa Marie Rice and it didn't leave a good impression on me so I don't know if I'll continue the 'Midnight' Series or check out he...
I was excited to read 'Midnight Man' due to all the 5 stars reviews, but this story left me greatly disappointed. This was my first read by Lisa Marie Rice and it didn't leave a good impression on me so I don't know if I'll continue the 'Midnight' Series or check out her other works. First of all, I liked the concept of the story. I love Romantic Suspense and thought this story would be just what I needed for the time being. Upon the first couple of pages, nothing held my interest and that continued throughout the whole story. I must also have to admit, it was painful to finish and so I scanned the last half of the book to see how it ended.

So here's my reasons why this is a low rating book for me: the pacing was super slow; it bored me to tears. The characters were unlikeable. The characters had no depth, no real connection, and things moved way too fast between the protagonists to be remotely realistic. The whole story takes place within a week's time and the characters were already having rough sex against a wall after their first dinner date. Also, the hero, John, came off as a chauvinistic pig sometimes due to some remarks of his and seemed to only want what was between the woman's legs. He radiated lust to the extreme and only wanted to jump the woman's bones whenever he can. Then that brings me to the heroine Suzanne; she was a businesswoman, but had no spine whatsoever and falls into submission whenever John touches her. The sex was boring, the plot fell flat, and what was trying to pass as suspense was a huge fail. Lastly, the story ended abruptly and everything was resolved in a quickie within the last few pages.

Overall, I did not enjoy 'Midnight Man.' Others seemed to highly like it so maybe this was just not my cup of tea. Other authors that excel in this category are Pamela Clare, Roxanne St. Claire, Christy Reece, and Cindy Gerard. If you like steamy romance with passion, love, and REAL suspense check these authors out. As for Lisa Marie Rice's Midnight Man, it was a huge disappointment.

posted by NinaT on September 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Great

    Good to the last page. Awesome read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    really good book

    it was a great book i could not put down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    My first Rice book and I really enjoyed it. Gave the book 4 star

    My first Rice book and I really enjoyed it. Gave the book 4 stars, would've been a 5 but the ending was so abrupt...felt as if the author was rushed to finish the book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Good

    Loved it but was wishing for more of a ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Great story

    Must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Loved it!

    Can not wait to continue reading the series. Read it in a matter of hours . A hero, lover, strong, silent protector. I think I have fallen in love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Good quick read

    I'll be honest, this would normally be a three star, tops, but I really enjoyed the way the male lead resolved things in the end. I enjoy a hero with a little "moral flexability" where the bad guys are concerned. There were things I didn't particularly like about each character, personality wise, and the mystery was pretty obvious to me, but I managed to enjoy it despite those things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Great

    Well written adventure supsence and love what a mixture author is great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Anonymous

    Loved this book. The end was too quick considering the paceof the rest of the book.jas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Love it!

    I really loved this book it was well written and had a great plot. I could tell that the characters were also well thought out. I gave this book a 5 star becaus it was just a very and i mean very good book.(read ot you wont regret it!)


    Always reading girl 27

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Lee1

    My first book by this author and I loved it. Steamy but with a good story line. I plan to read all of her Midnight books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Great read!

    Was hard to put book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Great read!

    I could not put it down. Will be reading more from this author.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Great read

    Love a story where strong alpha male finds the woman who can bring him to his knees. A must read lots lovinand a great plot. A little rushed at the end but an amazing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Interesting

    Amazing story, which kept me on the edge of my seat until the very last page. I wish their story would continue deeper but still awesome.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Could have been better

    This book was ok but it could have been better the female in tthis book was not a wimp she ruined the whole book the male was good if the female had done her part would have ejoyed more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    love it. Real good read ; )

    love it.
    Real good read ; )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Excellent read

    Excellent read, although i have to agree with other reviews, the book ended so abrupt and there were repetitious references by both regarding their very first sexual encounter. LMR, love her books, highly recommend. I read midnight run first because it was rated higher by the reviewers and I will have to agree, Bud was my kind of Man and Claire was funny in parts being an innocent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Well, I think more like a 2.5 star rating. The sex was not great

    Well, I think more like a 2.5 star rating. The sex was not great, AT ALL! And the abrupt ending was disappointing. The entire last chapter was disappointing. So much was put into the last chapter. She could have drawn it out a bit longer. This is my first book by this author and was left disappointed. I have read much better. John was hot and sexy, which is always great but he left me wanting more as well...I think I will stick with Lorelei James' books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Smoking Hot!

    Almost burned my fingers turning the pages on my Nook while reading this book. The first time these two had sex was smoking HOT! This author really made this alpha male somebody to sigh over. After reading this I bought the other books in this series. Looking forward to other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6