BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Midnight Marriage: A Georgian Historical Romance

Average Rating 4
( 258 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(88)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic read!

Another winner from Lucinda Brant! Deb and Julian's 660 page story of fate was wonderful. As the storyline unfolded, it was almost impossible to put the book down. This author does a great job with her Georgian Historical Romances.

posted by my1perch on October 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Free book...

Being as how this is a free book... I will try not to be to harsh... but to say in simple words, this is not a book to read again later. The story line jumped from time to time and at points I wanted to quit reading. There was some sexual conversation.. as in the way o...
Being as how this is a free book... I will try not to be to harsh... but to say in simple words, this is not a book to read again later. The story line jumped from time to time and at points I wanted to quit reading. There was some sexual conversation.. as in the way of rumors but most of the actual love scenes were not in alot of detail.

posted by 11071372 on October 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Free book...

    Being as how this is a free book... I will try not to be to harsh... but to say in simple words, this is not a book to read again later. The story line jumped from time to time and at points I wanted to quit reading. There was some sexual conversation.. as in the way of rumors but most of the actual love scenes were not in alot of detail.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Enjoyed reading the Georgian romance,  

    Enjoyed reading the Georgian romance,  

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Historical

    Another great read. The hero/heroine both learn that there are more layers and different sides to us all. But we are our own selves at our core and we never lose that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Ok

    A lot of times less words would have helped

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Worth the read

    but it didn't have me looking for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Kept my interest

    I love the author's way of introducing relevant information to the story line. You wanted to find out what happened and why it happened. She answered each question at just the right time and it kept the story interesting and not wanting to put the book down. Have ordered the rest of the books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2013

    Not So Historical This is a historical novel set in the 18th ce

    Not So Historical

    This is a historical novel set in the 18th century prior to the French Revolution.

    A betrothal or secret marriage between members of the aristocracy at very early ages was not unusual. It was necessary to ensure a legitimate heir for the succession of property. Even an unconventional lady who leaves the confines of her own household is not without precedent - Defoe s Moll Flanders caused a scandal at the time it was written.

    The storyline is generally credible and believable with some unusual twists and turns. The husband and wife protagonists are complicated with their reactions changing with circumstances. The ending ensures all loose ends are tied up and any uncertainty resolved.

    My main problem with this novel is it's history. The lack of formality 'Deb' instead of 'Deborah' and the word 'lacky' is really irritating. Her pride in her family name is not matched by her informal conduct, kissing a stranger in the shadows is unladylike. This sort of conduct befits the Lord of the Manor taking advantage of the servants. There seems to be a distinct lack of a chaperone when she leaves the house and an over emphasis on clothing.

    Compared to a slightly later period - Jane Austin makes no real reference to what her heroine wears but she does emphasize the formality of society. The matters that occupy a young lady at that time was obtaining a husband. Activities are limited to family, dinners, sewing, singing and other accomplishments. Balls and dances are attended along with family and siblings. Reference is made to Deborah speaking French, but what of her other accomplishments. Did she have a classical education, or was she taught the emerging sciences?

    The 18th Century was concerned with so many more issues. The birth of the novel, the Gothic novel, the rights of man and of woman, women's educations, property rights, the concentration of property in the hands of the eldest son and the problems this caused for other family members and widows. A time of William Godwin and Mary Wollstonecraft, Richardson, Fielding and Swift, as well as many largely unknown female authors.

    If this was a modern story linked to the current aristocracy there would not be a problem and arguably there would not need to be much alteration, but as an historical novel it seems to be missing something. Perhaps I am just not used to modern writers writing about the 18th Century. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    On par with average

    It was a pretty good read. Some places drug by slowly and the ending seemed awfully rushed but it was ok. I wouldn't read it again though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    recommend

    I enjoyed this book very much and would recommend it to everyone who like historical romances. Now I find out that it is book 2 of a series. I am looking forward to reading book one and three in the future. But this one is GOOD reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Pretty good

    I liked this story but it was too drawn out. Cut out 100 pages and it wouldve been better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Nice story

    A little hard to follow at times but enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    An historical romance that you will enjoy!

    This book begins being exactly what you think it will be but luckily has some interesting characters and is not completely predictable. The historical piece seems very well researched. I enjoyed the story and look forward to reading more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Was a delight to read

    I loved the concept of a romance novel which was not graphic on the love scenes.
    It was a delight to read and although at 1st it was a bit confusing it all made sense after a few chapters,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Entertaining

    A little bit silly but entertaining a nice story about love and misinformation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Pretty good read

    The only complaint i have is the story could have been told just as well in less pages. Otherwise it was a pretty good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    As a free book this is better than some I have read but I doubt

    As a free book this is better than some I have read but I doubt I will read the other books in the series. The plot advance and then stalls more tgan once and I was tired of reading thrveord arrogsnt over and over although that is as much the fault of the editor as the author. Also, the main story is not 800+ pages. There us a brief, rather vague epilogue followed by a prrview of the next book in the series. Basically a quick read but not a memorable story.s

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3