Customer Reviews for

Midnight Promises (Sweet Magnolias Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good book. I loved the characters. makes a great summer rea

    Very good book. I loved the characters. makes a great summer read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Midnight Promises by Sherryl Woods SubTitle: A Sweet Magnolia

    Midnight Promises by Sherryl Woods
    SubTitle: A Sweet Magnolia Novel
    ISBN: 9780778313489
    Once again we find ourselves back in Serenity. This book concentrates on Karen and her marriage to Elliot. She still works in the kitchen of Sullivan's restaurant and he works at the corner spa helping where needed.
    He's neglected to tell Karen, his wife about the funding he's going to get to start a man's gym in town with backing from the woman's spa.
    Her ex mother in law, Frances is going through forgetfullness/Alzheimers and her friends are concerned.
    There are other problems with the finances with others in the group also.
    His sister is also going through marital problems. Others come to her aid in hopes they can fix them.
    What a concept. the trip of a lifetime!
    The Letting go of the past, forgiveness and moving on with your life and that of your family...
    Love how the title of the book says it all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    B rating....

    My Review:
    I probably never would have picked up this book on my own because I haven't read the other 7 books in this series and this particular book is about a couple who are already married. That would have been a mistake because this was a completely enjoyable book to read. Even though I haven't read any of the other books in the series, I never felt lost. This is a completely stand-alone novel and is great by itself. More than a romance novel (although there is definitely romance to it) this is a book about a small town and what it takes to make relationships (all types) work.

    Elliott and Karen have been married for two years. (I need to look back and see if their's was one of the earlier books. I have a feeling it is because it doesn't sound like their courtship was an easy one.) They've been married long enough that they are having to make truly hard life decisions and are not sure how to handle the different ways that they each approach them. Elliott's immediate response is as a take charge alpha-type and protect Karen from everything (i.e. not tell her) until he has it all figured out and settles as to how things are going to work. But Karen's first marriage was filled with secrets and lies and she can't handle that from Elliott...even when what he has to say is going to send her into a panic.

    Karen has a phobia about money. Her first husband left her with a pile of debt that she knew nothing about until after the divorce. And now Elliott wants to invest in a new gym in town with a group of other men, also putting up capital. As a physical trainer, the gym would be Elliott's baby and it's most definitely his dream, but it's going to require all their savings, plus going into some major debt. I really liked them as a couple. They are most definitely having troubles communicating, but there's no doubt...ever...that they completely adore each other and want their marriage to work. They're just dealing with real pressures of learning how to become a true partner to another person.

    In the midst of all that is this great community/town called Serenity. There are a core group of women called the Sweet Magnolias who get together for girls nights and drink margaritas (my kinds of women). It's most of their men who are building the new gym in town. I really liked the variety of characters and that's before we get to the Senior Magnolias who were simply a hoot. There are a LOT of side characters in this, but amazingly, I really never got lost in who was who and the main way that they all related within the town. It was definitely just a great book for those of you who enjoy the small-town romances.

    I received a complementary copy of this book in return for an honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Aubrey Book provided by NetGalley for review Review

    Reviewed by Aubrey
    Book provided by NetGalley for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    I feel like a broken record by saying I love small town stories and especially ones in a series. Midnight Promises is the 8th novel in Sherryl Woods’ Sweet Magnolias series set in Serenity, South Carolina. I was not disappointed in the latest edition to the series, I could not put it down and read it in two sittings.

    Karen, the main heroine is newly married to Elliott. Karen was divorced before and her ex-husband left her with a huge debt to pay off which has Karen scared to spend money or take risks with money. Elliott knows this but feels opening a gym with all the husbands of the Sweet Magnolias will be what they need to be financially stable.

    Midnight Promises was so interesting in that we return to the love story of Elliott and Karen. They were secondary characters in Feels like Home (Sweet Magnolias #3) where they met and fell in love. Elliott had a hard time breaking though and penetrating the wall that Karen put up around her in regards to love and relationships. Now that they are married in Midnight Promises you see both Karen and Elliott have a lot of learning and growing in regards to their marriage. Most of the book involved them talking and learning how to compromise so that they have a stronger marriage.

    Karen and Elliott may have been the main characters but you also get to learn how the other Sweet Magnolias are doing. Woods’ novels always have strong relationships between characters. It is also great to see such great inter-generational relationships. Karen has a strong mother-daughter relationship with Frances even though Frances is not her biological mother. Karen also forges a relationship with her sister-in-law when there wasn’t one before.

    Even though the novel was mainly character driven it also had a lot of romantic elements that were very sweet. Elliott is the quintessential romantic in that he wishes for Karen to be happy and fall in love with him over and over again.

    I would recommend this novel to anyone that likes to read small town stories. After reading #8 I really want to go back and read the rest of the books in the series. I love all of the Sweet Magnolias and I’m super jealous of the relationships they have with each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Southern Charm

    Midnight Promises (The Sweet Magnolias #8) picked up with gang at ladies of Serenity. Karen was the main character, a single mother who married Eliot with security she wanted for herself and her two young children.
    The two are in love; however, Eliot keeps a financial arrangement from Karen, which does not set to well based on her past experience with her ex-husband and threatens to tear them apart. When their brother in law is found cheating on Elliott’s sister, they come together and find a bond to triumph over the differences.

    As usual the Sweet Magnolias come together to help solve the issue with southern humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Continue to meet the citizens of Serenity

    I have read all of the Sweet Magnolia series and have enjoyed meeting the characters of Serenity and the events of their lives. Although the themes in Macombers books are very relevent this book seemed to move slowly overtly dwelling on the issue of fear of trust regarding financial issues between the main characteers. I will continue reading the series and meeting the citizens there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Sierra

    Haha oops just kidding! u know it is like 2:30 am for me

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    HORIZO

    Result seven of beach house

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    K

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Once again Sherryl has made you sink right in and feel apart of the family. Awesome book. Love the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    must read for all Sweet Magnolias fans

    I couldn't wait to get this, then couldn't put it down! I would love to hear more about the senior Magnolias in future books, too. Well-developed characters throughout the series with real problems. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    4 STARS This is the second book of A Sweet Magnolia Novel now th

    4 STARS
    This is the second book of A Sweet Magnolia Novel now that I have read and like them.
    I had put off reading this for along time for some reason. But I really got caught up in the story. I like the group of women and the men and how supporting they are all to each other. Thier is one main couple the story follows. But thier is a whole community that are part of the story.
    Elliott Cruz is married to Karen. Elliott is from a strong catholic family whos family does not believe in divorce. Karen is a divorced mother of two little kids and has some hang ups from her first marriage when her husband got her into debt and than left her with it.
    The story starts with Elliott and Karen getting married and then jumps forward a couple of years.
    Elliott is keeping secrets from Karen till he has everything worked out so she won't worry. A few people want to open a men's gym and have him run it. Before Elliott has a chance to tell Karen someone else at her work knew about it. Even her boss knows about it before her.
    Karen does not want to wrisk her baby fund or morgage thier house. She does not handle the idea of more debt easly.
    Karen is also not wanting to deal with Elliott wanting to adopt her children. She is afraid he is being too much like his father.
    They are having real issues told in away that makes you want everything to work out for them. You also want good things for the rest of the characters in thier lives.
    I sure like Francis and the other supporting cast.
    I look forward to reading more Sweet Magnolias story in the future. I was given this ebook to read in exchange for honest review from Netgalley.
    06/19/2012 PUB Harlequin HarlequinMira ISBN 9780778313489

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2