Customer Reviews for

Midnight Riot (Peter Grant Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    Great book - confusing title

    My husband bought me the third book in this series in London, not knowing there were other books that came before it. I started reading it, then by about page 12 realized it must be part of a series, since there were several important plot points that were skimmed over - more like a gentle reminder to readers of previous books than an initial introduction. Anyway, the front of the book listed "Rivers of London" as the name of the first book so I searched everywhere for it, but could only find it used for way more money than a 2-year-old book should cost. I have access to 3 different library systems but none had it. Eventually, I went to the author's web site, where I finally found out that it was released under a different name ("Midnight Riot") and very different cover image in the US. Don't know why they do that. Besides, "Rivers of London" is really a much better title for the book.
    I was sucked into this series from page one, once I really started from the beginning. I read all three books back-to-back and am very happy that the next book is coming out soon (and that the name is the same on both sides of the Atlantic!). I wouldn't say I'm a fan of occult fiction per-se, but the magic here is tempered by some skepticism on the part of several major characters, including the protagonist, and quite a bit of fairly accurate scientific information. I think that's what makes the magic more believable here.
    The major plot lines in each book are interesting and slightly different, which keeps it fresh, and there is plenty of humor alongside the 'magical police detective' story to keep it light.
    Bottom line: Once I actually started from the beginning, I loved it and couldn't put it down. Would recommend it to people who enjoy Janet Evanovich, Sara Paretsky, and Sue Grafton. Similar smart but slightly inept protagonist - although here he is male unlike the female detectives in the other authors' work - working to solve crimes with a bit of magic.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Good fun

    Great for Anglophiles; better than Mike Carey. A quick read, and lots of fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Great New Series - Great New Writer!

    One of the best reads I've found in a long time. Probably the best thing I can say about it is that once I finished it I went straight out and bought the sequel "Moon Over Soho" and I'm eagerly awaiting the next book this spring.

    Ben Aaronovitch has leaped to the short list of My Favorite Writers and I don't expect he will ever be off of it. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    terrific urban fantasy police procedural

    Because rookie British police officer Peter Grant can see ghosts, his superior at the Metropolitan Police Department, Chief Inspector Thomas Nightingale, switches him from the tedious clerical Case Progression Unit to assist on paranormal cases. Thus he sends the probationer new kid on the magical block to school for wizard training.

    Nightingale investigates a horrific serial assault case in which the violent attackers usually have their face fall off, but he has made no progress. The violence expands with fears that an epidemic will overwhelm the city and ultimately the nation. He knows he needs Grant who accelerates his formal magic education so he can help solve an ugly case that has it roots in the nation's rivers.

    This is a terrific urban fantasy police procedural in which the two cops make the unbelievable believable; especially the inexperienced Grant. The fast-paced yet meandering story line is loaded with action from the onset as the mentor and mentee work a challenging investigation in which an ancient has arisen to stir the troubled waters. Sub-genre fans will enjoy Ben Aaronovitch's view of London in this witty well written riot.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2013

    It's a great book, and it's a pity that the US publisher decided

    It's a great book, and it's a pity that the US publisher decided to change the title from Rivers of London to this pathetic "Midnight Riot" garbage. Do they really think Americans are so insular we wouldn't read a book that mentions London? Nicely written, very entertaining, with a slightly snarky protagonist who is well aware of his limitations (a rather less annoying Spenser, for Parker fans). Read the first in Nottingham and promptly grabbed the four of them. Likeable characters and interesting plots

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Bay~

    Name~ Bay<p> Looks~ Her once cream brown fur is matted down with blood and mud. She has one good eye. Which is a hazel. Her left back leg dosen't work.<p> Personality~ Hard on herself, edgy, perky, witty, and strong.<p> History~ Was born in Evil within and grew up in GOA. Left because her old crush, Toxin had told her he didn't like her. He forcematted her. Because she wanted him really badly. She left and became a rouge. She gose to many evil clans to get to know cats.<p> Crush~ None. Well, Maybe..<p> Kits~ She's secretly expecting Toxin's kits. <p> Others~ Hates love. Wishes she could love.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Hellfire

    Name Hellfire <p> Description A midnight black she with dark ginger legs and the same ginger blaze on her chest <p> Kin Blackensorrow(sis), Heatedburn(bro), Stormblaze(mom), Enchantedhell(dad) <p> Gender she <p> Kits none (expected in future) <p> Mate Greyhaze <p> History Quite complicated, basically; a tale of sorrow and revenge <p> Eyes golden ambure <p> Want to know anything else? Get to know her or ask

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Bios/Slash's bio

    NAME: Slash GENDER: Tom(male) RANK: Leader BIO: He was attacked by his own family members, three Clan leaders and even kits. He swore revenge on all those Clans that go by the warrior code. DESCTIPRTION: Raven-black with amber eyes, long claws, scars all over. NO MATE, KITS, CRUSH, KIN.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    This is a terrifically entertaining  police procedural... if tha

    This is a terrifically entertaining  police procedural... if that's the London Magic Police.  This urban fantasy novel is a page turner!  It's sometimes violent or horrifying and very often funny.  Beautifully written.  Great hero.  Fascinating urban mythology.  In some ways this book reminds me of Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere.  High praise!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Delightful Read

    Ordinarily I'm not a fan of urban fantasy novels, so I don't know what posessed me to try this, but I'm very glad I did. This was a delightful story to read. The fantastical elements were seamlessly blended with the real, so that if one could posit a world where magic and supernatural beings existed, it would be logical for these elements to need policing, and this story would naturally result. The characters are vivid, realistic, and unique, and London has never been more appealing. (London is as integral to this series, as Gotham is to the Batman stories, or Ankh Morpork is to the Night Watch; in such stories, the city itself is a character.) The story, too, is well plotted and laced with wit and humor. Although I can catch echoes of the Dirk Gently stories, or Good Omens, this story is uniquely its own, and can stand beside them as something to turn to when craving something like those, but newer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    Must-read book of 2011

    This is one of the most enjoyable books I've read in a long time, certainly this year. Good police procedural, fascinating supernatural characters and really grounded in place. Definitely not your everyday vampire/werewolf mystery!

    My minor quibble isn't really about the book at all. The original name (and cover), Rivers of London, is much better - I hate the practice of adapting books for different markets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Not too shabby

    London is my home town and i have always had soft spot for any stories set in London. Ben has crafted a great story which made me smile at the references to both idioms which are very English and set in a place i know well. I will be buying his other books when i see them and look forward to reading more.

    I love discovering a new author, it rare I discover one this entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    Gushing like a teen-aged girl

    I haven't felt so excited about a new Urban Fantasy book since Rob Thurman's Cal Leandros series came out. This book is fun! The author clearly knows his London, the characters are well developed, the action is fast-paced. 273 pages devoured in less than a day. On to the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3