Customer Reviews for

Midnight Sins

Average Rating 3.5
( 180 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Good Read

Loved reading this one. will be buy more

posted by BookaholicTracy on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste your time or money

I am usually a fan of Lora Leigh, so I was looking forward to a new book from her. I was hugely disappointed with Midnight Sins. It felt so jumpy - from past to present, to future wishes. And they didn't transition seamlessly. Also, details kept changing and would mess ...
I am usually a fan of Lora Leigh, so I was looking forward to a new book from her. I was hugely disappointed with Midnight Sins. It felt so jumpy - from past to present, to future wishes. And they didn't transition seamlessly. Also, details kept changing and would mess up any kind of flow Leigh started to build. Sometimes, it would be 4 yrs since they characters last saw each other, then it was 3, then 5 or 6. At one point, Rafer was 6'3" tall. But later he was 6'2". Then there is the relationship. It starts as a friendship, and then BAM - years later they are lovers. No details how they changed to being lovers, just that they are and they are addicted to one another. Blah! Also, at one point, they had never had sex together, only shared 3 kisses, then later it changed to they had had sex 3 times, and not the kisses. Small details, yes, but with so many they really detracted from the story.
As I said before, I'm usually a fan, but this story was horrible. It seemed Ms. Leigh had sex scenes in her head she wanted to write, and then formed some lame story around them. I would rate it a zero if I could.

posted by 1235849 on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    Don't waste your time or money

    I am usually a fan of Lora Leigh, so I was looking forward to a new book from her. I was hugely disappointed with Midnight Sins. It felt so jumpy - from past to present, to future wishes. And they didn't transition seamlessly. Also, details kept changing and would mess up any kind of flow Leigh started to build. Sometimes, it would be 4 yrs since they characters last saw each other, then it was 3, then 5 or 6. At one point, Rafer was 6'3" tall. But later he was 6'2". Then there is the relationship. It starts as a friendship, and then BAM - years later they are lovers. No details how they changed to being lovers, just that they are and they are addicted to one another. Blah! Also, at one point, they had never had sex together, only shared 3 kisses, then later it changed to they had had sex 3 times, and not the kisses. Small details, yes, but with so many they really detracted from the story.
    As I said before, I'm usually a fan, but this story was horrible. It seemed Ms. Leigh had sex scenes in her head she wanted to write, and then formed some lame story around them. I would rate it a zero if I could.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    BUYER BEWARE - Not worth the money or time to read

    Once again, I wasted money on a Lora Leigh book. I used to love her books and always pre-ordered them before release. I have over 50 of her books but the last several have been really bad. Ms. Leigh can no longer blame the editors or publishers for the mistakes. This is all her. Ms. Leigh writing has become so bad that major bookseller even pulled the last book "Navarro's Promise" from its shelves because of the mistakes. They will not even sell it. This is the FOURTH book in a row that has been overrun with major mistakes. For "Midnight Sins" I stopped counting the mistakes at 70. She continues to screw up the characters, timelines, ages, descriptions, relationships and dropping stoylines that it makes it impossible to read the book. Lora Leigh should be embarrassed to for putting out such poorly written and edited books. I'm not going to bother reading or continue wasting money on Lora Leigh books.

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Did this book not get proof read or what?

    I love her books- usually, but as an avid reader I can't tolerate the glaring mistakes that are made in this book. It seems like she had a deadline and copy and pasted for her other books and then changed the names. The story is so hard to follow and with all the name and time line mistakes impossible to read. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS BOOK

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2011

    Don't waste your money.

    I am a big Lora Leigh fan. I have purchased numerous books written by her and loved them all. I regret to say that this book was a big disappointment. It just didn't "flow" as smoothly. The characters didn't seem well developed. Some of scenes almost seemed forced. If her name wasn't on the cover, I would never believe Lora wrote it. This was not a keeper. Honestly, it went in the trash.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    I hardly ever write reviews, because I've learned to expect a ce

    I hardly ever write reviews, because I've learned to expect a certain amount of inconsistency in popular fiction - especially ebooks, and Lora Leigh's novels definitely no exception. I purchased the sequel to this book before I realized that it was a sequel. I thought that was why I didn't understand anything. Then I purchased this book, and immediately figured that it really wasn't my fault. As other reviews have already noted, the plotting is terrible - to say it's inconsistent is an understatement. The three - or maybe four or five? - generations of family are incomphrehensible from each other. Those are the least of the issues. Maybe if a reader can figure all that out without a detailed family tree and a bullet list of major plot points, he or she might find the story compelling, but it would take a lot more time and energy than I have to dedicate to unraveling the relationships and convoluted plot machinations of a novel that I bought because I thought it would be an easy spring break read. As someone who teaches 18th-21st century British literature, I'm accustomed to reading complicated texts. This novel is not complex. It's poorly written and even more poorly edited. That it was actually published in this condition is inexplicable. I don't expect that the sequel is any better. I want my $15 and the three hours I spent reading it back.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Don't bother - really

    I am a huge Lora Leigh fan, and usually buy her new books just because they're hers. Not after this book. I have noticed the writing and editing quality in her books has been lacking in the last few, but this one was so bad I didn't even finish. A first for me and Ms. Leigh. Totally unconvincing story, a paragraph copied, verbatum, in two different places in the book, and absolutely no continuity. Felt like several different people wrote a few paragrpahs and she tried to glue them together with less than her usual phenomenal writing. That said, I'm hoping maybe she just caught up in having to write too many books in too short a time. If that's the case, please, slow down. We are all willing to wait for the kind of stories that got us so hooked in the first place. Will definitely be looking out for what's coming next.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Don't waste your time. I really enjoyed Lora Leigh's Elite Op an

    Don't waste your time.
    I really enjoyed Lora Leigh's Elite Op and Seal series, but this is not even in the same league. The editing was bad. There was a typo on so many pages. I had to keep rereading thinking I missed something only to realize it was just bad editing. The male lead Rafer (hate the name) was not in the least appealing. The female lead, Cami, super dull. The sex scenes seemed like they were just thrown in just to keep in tune with Ms. Leighs other writings, but there was no feeling. I will not be wasting my money on the 2nd and 3rd books in the series. I hope Ms. Leigh gets back on track with her next series and that she gets a better editor.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    Such a disappointment. Editor should be fired

    This book could not have been proof read. The story did not flow correctly. Character would have anxiety over telling a secret to her man but she had just divulged the information to him in the previous chapter. Happened multiple times. Lots of typos. Obvious that some scenes were developed and written separately and then it was just pieced together with no checks in place.

    It was really frustrating and disappointing. I've read lots of lora leigh books and have never seen this before. Can't believe the book hasn't been removed from the shelves because the editing is that bad. Skip it and the next two that are obviously coming in this series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    TERRIBLE BOOK!

    Did no one proof read this book? It was so full of errors! The story was so confusing and repetitive as to turn me off. I skipped to the end but still don't know what was going on. If Lora Leigh is planning a second book based on this story, please do not bother.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Painful to read

    I have always been a huge fan of LL - the Breed Series, the Nauti Boys (hoping for Nauti Girls, when the babies get older) and her Elite Ops Series. I have all the books, often pre-ordering if possible, having some in both paper and Nook formats. Really, that much of a fan! However, this most recent installation has left me deeply disappointed with how poorly it was written. I'm almost positive that certain sections of the book is a copy/paste from one chapter to the other. The timeline did not make sense, sections were too repetitive with small details changing from one version to the next. The basic plot of the series is too similar to the Nauti series, except it's the bad version of it. I would always expect vivid characters from any LL book, but Rafer and Cami seems one-dimensional, the only focus is on the sex (don't get me wrong, the scenes are HOT!!) but absolutely no character development. It became more disappointing when the story started when the main characters were younger then the progression of their lives seemed so disjointed. I will still read the series, but perhaps would not be first in line to buy the next installation, maybe even try to find the books in the public library or on the resale market. If I would be granted a refund for this book, I would make the request in a heartbeat.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    HORRIBLE.

    This was less than 20 pages of actual storyline and the rest of the pages trite repetition. A huge disappointment. I loved the Nauti series and was hoping for more of the same but after this book I won't waste my money or time on any more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    Hard to read & enjoy

    I started reading Midnight Sins and was really disapointed by how boring the opening was. In fact, I read it twice in the hopes that I might change my mind, but no, it was still that dull. I did not find any mistakes like some of the other readers complained about but that's because I stopped at page 5. As a budding romance novelist, I definitely learned a few not-to-dos in this book so I guess it wasn't a total waste.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    I can't even give this one star

    This is the worst book I have ever tried to read...I have several Lor Leigh books and this is the first time I have been dissapointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    Oh man this was NOT up to standard

    I have read EVERY Lora Leigh story I can get my hands on because I love how creative and hot her stories are. Not only were there too numerous to count huge mistakes in editing, and grammar but the sentence structure and repetition of information was childish. I can't believe this got published. The love/sex scenes were great. The rest was poorly-done filler. It even got confusing because of the above. It could have been a GREAT story and introduction to a new group characters. I certainly wish I hadn't paid for this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    VERY DISAPPOINTED

    I could not get through the book it was so disappointing and all over the place. I have read several of Ms. Leigh's books and this was one of the worst. I was bored and frustrated with trying to keep up with the timeline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2011

    She can't hold a story together any more! Argh!

    I used to love Lora Leigh's books, but she has gotten so sloppy in her writing. Timelines/chronology change as you go along, characters' names change as you go along, the history of the main couple's relationship changes as you go along. She introduces so many minor characters by reference into the story, you're never sure of their importance or their role. So hard to keep the relationships among all the characters straight. And it's like she gave up on the actual plot. The end makes no sense whatsoever, and was thoroughly unsatisfying. I wish I had spent my money on some other book, because this felt like a waste.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    not so good

    sorry bn i bought the actual book for way less than you charge at sam's club. i love my nook but i'm done buying electric version if i can buy the print version for cheaper.

    with that said i love lora leigh, but this is just not one of her best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    Convoluted story

    Very hard to follow. Too many characters to try to get straight within the first chapter alone. No continuity whatsoever. I have loved every other Lora Leigh book I have read. This one was a waste of my time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2