Customer Reviews for

Midnight and the Meaning of Love

Average Rating 4
( 163 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

NEVER DISSAPOINTS

Words can not explain how Sister Souljah's characters come to life as your reading and it really makes you feel as if your there experiencing the same things as Midnight. She's so vivid with her storytelling. Midnight was a character out of THE COLDEST WINTER EVER and I...
Words can not explain how Sister Souljah's characters come to life as your reading and it really makes you feel as if your there experiencing the same things as Midnight. She's so vivid with her storytelling. Midnight was a character out of THE COLDEST WINTER EVER and I knew he had a story to tell and I am glad she has taken the time to tell his which now explains alot and the discipline that he had with WINTER and any other female. Midnight is so deep taht it has taken her two books to write about him and I still feel that there's more to tell about him. As author you have to admire how she researches and lives within the culture in order to be able to write about it. Can't wait for the next book.

posted by Feed_1 on April 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Meaning of Love? Just one in many unanswered questions...

*Spoilers*

I tried to like this book. I really did. I enjoyed "Midnight: A Gangsters Love Story" enough to pre-order this book and read it within a week of receiving it. Let's just say what set up for an intriguing premise was destroyed at least 150 pages before the ...
*Spoilers*

I tried to like this book. I really did. I enjoyed "Midnight: A Gangsters Love Story" enough to pre-order this book and read it within a week of receiving it. Let's just say what set up for an intriguing premise was destroyed at least 150 pages before the book was even finished.

My review will contain spoilers so please skip down to the BOTTOM LINE to avoid them.

Midnight And The Meaning of Love picks up right where A Gangsters Love Story left off. Akemi, the 16 year old wife of Midnight has been kidnapped by her Japanese father, and of course the young Sudanese Ninja vows to do whatever it takes to get her back. The book has three sections, with about 16-20 chapters each. The first section takes place in Brooklyn, the second in Japan, and the third in Korea.

The Brooklyn section is more or less filled with preparation for Midnight to go to Japan and take back his bride. While he organizes his plan though, he also takes time to play basketball with his friends, meet Santiago (Winters father from Coldest Winter Ever), train with his sensi, lust after Bangs, and move his family (his 7 year old sister and his non-english speaking mother) from their apartment in Brooklyn. It's a slow but necessary read and for the most part really helps to paint the mindset of Midnight before making his journey across the globe.

The second section kicks off once Midnight boards a plane to Japan where he meets several teenage girls; one of them a half black-half Korean ninja named Chiasa that Midnight hires to be his tour guide and translator. She impresses him with her knowledge of fighting and her quick intelligence and this lays the foundation for the love triangle that takes place later in the story. Sister Souljah goes into great lengths to explain every single detail of Japan through the eyes of Midnight, which includes brief introductions into history, language, fashion, and culture. Midnight also finds out more about Akemi's father and mother which helps him form a strategy for safely finding and retrieving his wife. Built like an odyssey with many trials and obstacles, Midnight encounters many people along the way that could be friend or foe, but ultimately finds a way to get his wife back. The reunion doesn't last as a new set of circumstances emerge which forces him to travel to Korea.

Midnight and his hired mercenary teenage comrade Chiasa travel to Korea to finally complete the mission of getting Akemi, and alleviate the other set of issues they have encountered on the way. This is also the setting where Midnight and Chiasa fall in love, and Midnight goes through a Mission Impossible-like courtship to win her hand and take her as his second wife.

This is the premise of the book. 14 year old Midnight (Souljah rarely mentions his age in the book. Likely to not remind the reader how young he is) travels to Japan to find his 16 year old wife that was kidnapped by her father and returns a few weeks later with two wives. If this isn't the most ridiculous plot ever...

The first book, though reaching on so many levels, was decent enough of a read to me. Obviously Midnight is bred differently from most boys so I gave SS the benefit of the doubt when it came to his "love story" with Akemi as well as his character arch in the first novel. But with this book, I was hoping it would take that next step and explain how 14 year old Midnight, who married a woman he couldn't communicate properly with, had tu

posted by 7963589 on April 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    Meaning of Love? Just one in many unanswered questions...

    *Spoilers*

    I tried to like this book. I really did. I enjoyed "Midnight: A Gangsters Love Story" enough to pre-order this book and read it within a week of receiving it. Let's just say what set up for an intriguing premise was destroyed at least 150 pages before the book was even finished.

    My review will contain spoilers so please skip down to the BOTTOM LINE to avoid them.

    Midnight And The Meaning of Love picks up right where A Gangsters Love Story left off. Akemi, the 16 year old wife of Midnight has been kidnapped by her Japanese father, and of course the young Sudanese Ninja vows to do whatever it takes to get her back. The book has three sections, with about 16-20 chapters each. The first section takes place in Brooklyn, the second in Japan, and the third in Korea.

    The Brooklyn section is more or less filled with preparation for Midnight to go to Japan and take back his bride. While he organizes his plan though, he also takes time to play basketball with his friends, meet Santiago (Winters father from Coldest Winter Ever), train with his sensi, lust after Bangs, and move his family (his 7 year old sister and his non-english speaking mother) from their apartment in Brooklyn. It's a slow but necessary read and for the most part really helps to paint the mindset of Midnight before making his journey across the globe.

    The second section kicks off once Midnight boards a plane to Japan where he meets several teenage girls; one of them a half black-half Korean ninja named Chiasa that Midnight hires to be his tour guide and translator. She impresses him with her knowledge of fighting and her quick intelligence and this lays the foundation for the love triangle that takes place later in the story. Sister Souljah goes into great lengths to explain every single detail of Japan through the eyes of Midnight, which includes brief introductions into history, language, fashion, and culture. Midnight also finds out more about Akemi's father and mother which helps him form a strategy for safely finding and retrieving his wife. Built like an odyssey with many trials and obstacles, Midnight encounters many people along the way that could be friend or foe, but ultimately finds a way to get his wife back. The reunion doesn't last as a new set of circumstances emerge which forces him to travel to Korea.

    Midnight and his hired mercenary teenage comrade Chiasa travel to Korea to finally complete the mission of getting Akemi, and alleviate the other set of issues they have encountered on the way. This is also the setting where Midnight and Chiasa fall in love, and Midnight goes through a Mission Impossible-like courtship to win her hand and take her as his second wife.

    This is the premise of the book. 14 year old Midnight (Souljah rarely mentions his age in the book. Likely to not remind the reader how young he is) travels to Japan to find his 16 year old wife that was kidnapped by her father and returns a few weeks later with two wives. If this isn't the most ridiculous plot ever...

    The first book, though reaching on so many levels, was decent enough of a read to me. Obviously Midnight is bred differently from most boys so I gave SS the benefit of the doubt when it came to his "love story" with Akemi as well as his character arch in the first novel. But with this book, I was hoping it would take that next step and explain how 14 year old Midnight, who married a woman he couldn't communicate properly with, had tu

    25 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    NEVER DISSAPOINTS

    Words can not explain how Sister Souljah's characters come to life as your reading and it really makes you feel as if your there experiencing the same things as Midnight. She's so vivid with her storytelling. Midnight was a character out of THE COLDEST WINTER EVER and I knew he had a story to tell and I am glad she has taken the time to tell his which now explains alot and the discipline that he had with WINTER and any other female. Midnight is so deep taht it has taken her two books to write about him and I still feel that there's more to tell about him. As author you have to admire how she researches and lives within the culture in order to be able to write about it. Can't wait for the next book.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    It IS The Same Midnight From The Coldest Winter Ever!

    I find it mind boggling that people are saying that there is two different "Midnight's" when they mention how he met Santiaga. Read and comprehend what you are reading thanx! Sister Souljah is a sell out in my eyes and she fell off after 'The Coldest Winter Ever'. I looked forward to the sequel just like everyone else and was greatly disappointed!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Loved it

    This highly anticipated sequel did not disappoint. I WAS THOROUGHLY IMPRESSED!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2011

    LOVE IT

    just finish reading midnight and can't wait for the meaning of love already Pre-ordered it. Also Loved coldest winter ever by Sister souljah one of my favorite books!!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    What

    I did not enjoy this book it just was not good too many loose ends i feel like i read a roughdraft of the book after the first one it was a frustrating read. If she was releasing this she should have written it better or released two books at once this book is full of irrelevant details that lead to an unfinished and disappointing not even clifhanger its like she shutdown her computer midroughdraft.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    Can't wait for the continuation of Midnight

    I have been waiting for this book to drop. The first book was an interesting read and I can not wait to see what happens in this episode. Keep in mind that the original Midnight that was in the first book The Coldest Winter Ever is not the same Midnight that is in this series of books. I give five stars only because I know I will not be disappointed.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!!

    This cannot be compared to Coldest Winter Ever. As a matter of fact it shouldn't even be associated with it! After reading the first Midnight book flop why I ever read the second is a mystery to me! I guess I loved CWE so much I was hoping it would make up for the first one. Boy was a wrong. The only reason this got 1 star is b/c I couldn't post with no stars!!! SMH

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    highly recommened. i loved this book

    the review written by anonymous:Meaning of Love? Just one in many unanswered questions, summed up the book perfectly but i enjoyed the trip to japan and korea (although it was hard to pronouce some of the words) but what was most fascinating to me was how this 14 year old black male who had been raised in the new york for 7 of those years, who had adapted some of the lifestyles of the "homeboys", was able to stay fast to his muslim beliefs.. compared to our american youths, midnight is one of a kind.. maybe a lil to good to be true, especially w/o an older male muslim figure involved in his life daily basis. he mind-set, thought process and preparations for the future were not of a 14 year old but more of a 40 year old.. i loved the book.. now i can't say i agree to the multiple wives but how is that any different from the multiple baby-mama's our young men have today..at least midnight married them and vowed to take care of them. can we say that for the baby daddy's of the world?..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Save Your Money

    This should have been classified as fantasy. No way can a 16 year old accomplish all that. The story is long and drawn out and really quite boring. Unlike other Sister Souljah's books I had to force myself to finish. A big disappointment!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Midnight

    This book made me want to be involved with midnight! The musluim religion was potraied well in this book! Couldnt put this book down either

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Loved it!!!!!!

    You must read this book!!!!! If you have not yet read minight a gangsters lovestory you have no idea what you are missing!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Loved it!!!!!

    Great sequel....I was sorry for it to end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2012

    what an excellent book or should I say books. This is the 2nd bo

    what an excellent book or should I say books. This is the 2nd book of the midnight series and its very intricate story line based in Japan and Korea. sister Souljah has been gifted with the talent of telling a very great story line. It amazes me the amount of detail this author put to into midnight's actions and feelings. The detail doesn't drag the plot down it enhances it and makes the story so believable. Ok so I read some of the comments about Midnight being 14 is too young to have such intelligent thought but its a story people and really its not that far fetched what about King Tut he ruled at 10 years old? The age shows the significance of capturing a youth at the turning point where he feels and sees women and starts to see himself.
    Midnight in this book is now on a mission to get his wife back by all means necessary. The meaning of love to him was following his faith. Which taught him the importance and gave him the road map for his love. Love was defined as being courageous enough to take difficult paths and not just the easy route.
    Last note I recommend you read book 1 Midnight a ganster love story first it will give you a deeper explaination of Midnight. Without book one his actions may confuse you.
    The love scences are explosive and detailed detailed detailed! I fell in love when Midnight fell in love, I was hyped when he was hyped and I love the action pack excitement. The cultures, the styles, the vending machines "Dirty Panties" eeewh yuck, the food, the language, the emotion, and most of all his faith I loved it!ilearned so much about Japan I didnt know there is a no tip law! I felt as though I was the one walking those clean streets with all those book stores at NIGHT! I want to go to Japan!
    This a true page turner and real exciting!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Just ok if that

    This book was ok. It was so long and drawn out. Me personally i dont think that i could have two companions. What i dont understand is its hard for ppl to change Chasia always said Japanese people do this and that. She was mixed, but i dont think she showed her African American side. I refuse to believe she will accept second wife if she is so use to being number one. Akeima was the same person in the last book who had a stare down with that muslim girl the mother is staying with, but now all of a sudden shes cool that he was in love eith another girl. How could he fully love appreciate his first wife if they barely had time together. He still didnt properly teach her the muslim life, but yet he went off and considered marrying another girl. I think the other was so caught up in her ideas that she forgot what was actually happening. I felt like this book was a waste of time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Mommy2a2 says....a captivating page turner!

    If u like adventure, a spiritual awakening, love, lust, culture, dominance, travel....I COULD GO ON! BUT I WON'T SO JUST READ THE BOOKS. Sexy!!! Part two was my favorite!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Pretty good

    But again, ending has me lost. Its been years since i read the coldest winter, but i dont remember midnightbeing married. So hoping next books come out with whst happened to akemi and chiasa.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    EXCITED

    im so excited to continue Midnights journey, its wonderful 2 read a book about a young man my age with common sense instead of the ghetto, average n**** book. I hav so much respect for Sister Souljah and im looking fwd and very excited about this story i knw i wont b dissapointed

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2011

    Definately a must have, already preorder

    Read two of her books and i can't wait to see whats coming next. After reading Midnight i had to google Sister Souljah to see if she as a follow up for this book. I am definately going read No Disrespect while i wait for Midnight And The Meaning of Love. Keep it coming Sister Souljah.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Must have!!

    I haven't read the book yet, but I know it won't fail my expectations. Sister Souljah writes from the heart and gives us perspectives that we don't always recognize. I have read all of her books thus far and each one has left an impression on me. I know this one will too. Happy Reading!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9