Customer Reviews for

Midnight in Austenland: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I liked the second attempt better than the first. I was not a b

I liked the second attempt better than the first. I was not a big fan of 'Austenland' but for some reason as soon as I finished that one I felt compelled to read 'Midnight in Austenland'.

This one just worked for me. Maybe it's because the heroine was more likable th...
I liked the second attempt better than the first. I was not a big fan of 'Austenland' but for some reason as soon as I finished that one I felt compelled to read 'Midnight in Austenland'.

This one just worked for me. Maybe it's because the heroine was more likable than the first book. Maybe it was because there was more interaction between the hero and heroine than the first book. Maybe it's because I love 'Northanger Abbey'.

I don't know....but I enjoyed it.

posted by hippiechick7897 on November 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Plot spoilers

Too many plot spoilers ruin another book all the while bragging how they got their book for free. Bn, you are losing sales to these plot spoilers. When will you ban them and delete their posts?

posted by 8888649 on December 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I liked the second attempt better than the first. I was not a b

    I liked the second attempt better than the first. I was not a big fan of 'Austenland' but for some reason as soon as I finished that one I felt compelled to read 'Midnight in Austenland'.

    This one just worked for me. Maybe it's because the heroine was more likable than the first book. Maybe it was because there was more interaction between the hero and heroine than the first book. Maybe it's because I love 'Northanger Abbey'.

    I don't know....but I enjoyed it.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Such a good read

    I really enjoyed this book! It has everything: romance, mystery, comedy, and drama. It was a quick, easy, read which I really enjoyed. I completely reccomend this book to anyone who just wants to relax and be taken by a story.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Lots of fun!

    This is a mystery and a romance with a healthy dose of humor. With language better than what you hear on TV and no uncomfortable intimate scenes this is the perfect book for all ages (even a teen!)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Strong female character reinvents herself

    Charming novel chronicles the changes of a newly divorced woman while staying at an inn that immerses their guests in the world of Jane Austin. Add a mystery and you have an engaging read! Really enjoyed this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    Fun Escape...

    In Ausetenland, how do you tell what's real and what isn't?

    Charlotte is newly divorced, and needs a break from reality. Destination Austenland. During a parlor game, she stumbles across a dead body, but is it a real mystery, or all just part of the show?
    She gladly immerses herself in the mystery while she struggles to decide if she's ready for romance - real or otherwise.

    I really enjoyed this book, and hated it to end. I loved the Austenesque language (smoothed over for our generation,) the mystery with just the right amount of creepiness, and Charlotte's own inner struggles.

    Great read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Charlotte is a self made business woman, still fairly new to bei

    Charlotte is a self made business woman, still fairly new to being divorced. Her well meaning (but married) friends have begun setting her up on blind dates, with generally terrible outcomes. After reading the works of Jane Austen, Charlotte sends the kids to the ex and takes of for a two week Austen adventure in England. I like these stories where people are submerged in a different time and Hale pays attention to all the details. Interestingly, this takes a more gothic turn than your normal P&P storyline and the mysteries of the estate turn very dark indeed. Overall, a very fun read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A delightful Austenesque mystery

    I have eagerly snatched up every single one of Shannon Hale's novels as they came out and enjoyed them all, but I think this one gave me the most laughs. The light, frivolous conversation no matter what the circumstances made me smile. The myriad of quirky and human characters were wonderful. I loved Charlotte and how she regains her confidence after the blow of her husband's infidelity. The other characters range from the sweet and silly Miss Charming to the mysterious and sophisticated Miss Gardensdale, the friendly and cheerful Edmund Grey to the darkly brooding Mr. Mallery.

    The idea of Austenland is just pure fun. It is a place where reality is not allowed to intrude; where men are courteous and ladies are elevated on pedestals. Throw in a cozy mystery and a faux murder to keep everyone entertained...until Charlotte begins to suspect that a real murder has been committed. The story takes a turn from Austen into Bronte...unless Charlotte is turning into Catherine Morland, investigating imaginary murders.

    The romance is delightful, the dialogue witty and the mystery utterly engrossing. I would recommend this book to lovers of Austen, Bronte and romantic comedy. It is not one to be missed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Very entertaining!

    In Midnight in Austenland Shannon Hale revisits the world of Jane Austen vacations. I have no idea if these places actually exist, but I guess they must. Pembrook Park is a British country house where women can go to immerse themselves in Jane Austen's long lost era and experience the gentler, more chivalrous times Jane wrote about. Charlotte flees there to lick her wounds after her husband leaves her for another woman and she is left numb and cynical about romance. The funny clothes and overly authentic food take some getting used to, but soon Charlotte is distracted by the haunting suspicion that a murder has been committed. Is she falling into the same trap of an over-active imagination that Catherine Morland fell victim too, or is something fishy really going on?

    Absolutely, hilariously, ridiculous story! Charlotte is a delightful combination of no-nonsense business woman and wounded romantic lacking in self-confidence. She attacks mysteries to distract herself from her growing attraction to Mr. Mallery only to wonder if she is exaggerating things. As she attempts to find the line between fantasy and reality she learns to open her heart and trust herself again.

    This is a highly entertaining read! Realistic, no and also not in anyway an attempt to mimic Jane Austen. Midnight in Austenland is just a very pleasant way to spend an afternoon, get some good laughs, and meet some engaging new characters.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1