BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Midnight in Austenland: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I liked the second attempt better than the first. I was not a b

I liked the second attempt better than the first. I was not a big fan of 'Austenland' but for some reason as soon as I finished that one I felt compelled to read 'Midnight in Austenland'.

This one just worked for me. Maybe it's because the heroine was more likable th...
I liked the second attempt better than the first. I was not a big fan of 'Austenland' but for some reason as soon as I finished that one I felt compelled to read 'Midnight in Austenland'.

This one just worked for me. Maybe it's because the heroine was more likable than the first book. Maybe it was because there was more interaction between the hero and heroine than the first book. Maybe it's because I love 'Northanger Abbey'.

I don't know....but I enjoyed it.

posted by hippiechick7897 on November 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Plot spoilers

Too many plot spoilers ruin another book all the while bragging how they got their book for free. Bn, you are losing sales to these plot spoilers. When will you ban them and delete their posts?

posted by 8888649 on December 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    I loved this book!! I read it every spare chance I had. It was s

    I loved this book!! I read it every spare chance I had. It was so fun! I'm at a loss for words to describe how much I enjoyed relaxing and reading this book.

    Charlotte was in her late 30s, divorced, and had two children. Early on in the story she read Jane Austen and decided to take a trip to Austenland while her kids were with their dad for part of the summer. If you've read Austenland you'll remember Miss Charming. Well, she was back and as funny as ever with perfect comedic timing -- hilarious. There were a few other characters returning from Austenland. I enjoyed the continuation of their stories.

    I really liked Austenland, but I loved Midnight in Austenland even more. The mystery added to the fun. I felt so uncomfortable for Charlotte at times, but in the end I was attached to the character and wanted to see her happy with her life. I recommend this book to everyone!

    Content Ratings:
    sexual content: mild
    language: very mild
    violence: mild

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Absolutely delightful

    A many layered romance, mystery, and story about recovering from a marriage gone bad.
    All in all a fun and great read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    complicated, multi-layered and light fun all at the same time

    My Review (spoiler-free):

    This book was a complete delight to read. The writing is so smooth and fast-paced. The characters were believable. The troubles were real and varied. The romance was fun. The mystery was fun!

    I was never concerned for anyone’s life, necessarily. (Not sure if that’s important to note or not). There was a scene that I felt I OUGHT to be very concerned for someone’s life, and yet, nope. Largely because the writing was humorous even then. (Every "then".)

    Charlotte carried on conversations with her inner self that were hilarious even at the most frightful moments. To add to the enjoyment, her Inner Self was a different character than her Self-Self, the two disagreed and argued. I think that aspect is a unique treasure that I haven't run into in other books. How often (in reality) is my inner voice ultra-sarcastic and critical of me, you know? Well, you don’t know, but it is and it seemed as if Shannon Hale knew! Yikes!

    The main character, Charlotte Kinder, is older-ish and divorced (with kids) and dealing with the unfaithfulness of her husband, which labels this book as “adult”. But I think Young Adults would enjoy this book just as much even if there are moments that make them wonder if their mothers ever thought of them like that. (Yes!) Most of the book is centered around the situation and mystery at the Jane Austen resort setting, including the beautiful dresses and dances and card games and food… everything fun and memorable about Jane Austen’s world. There is tension between what is real and what is pretend with hired actors.

    As I read, I highlighted... in my e-reader (no, not in a hard copy – are you kidding?!) so, while I was reading, I quoted phrases… I hope you caught some? This book is delightfully quotable without giving away spoilers. :-D For example, a mini side theme was the house itself, how it felt alive and friendly or not as Charlotte reacted to other things going on. And always there were the Settees, which she enjoyed noticing, having never said "Settee" before. She commented on them frequently, "adjourning to the room with the abundant Settees", etc, etc. Hilarious. When I least expected it, those Settees would be there again, and I snorted every time.

    Speaking of laughing, I thoroughly enjoyed trying to be quiet. If you can, read at night – through the night, if possible - and try to keep quiet and not laugh out loud and you, too, might be in (quiet) hysterics frequently. (Yea! It could happen!!)

    This book is full of Jane Austen connections, especially with Northanger Abby, so no doubt I missed some depth I might have gotten otherwise (not having read that work of art.) Any thoughts, anyone? Have you read Northanger Abby?

    Midnight in Austenland is definitely complicated, multi-layered and light fun all at the same time. I recommend it for everyone.

    My Rating: 5 - Love it!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Intriguing blend of mystery and romance

    Charlotte Kinder’s marriage has gone kaput and she starts reading Jane Austen as a diversion. Her two children are spending their vacation with their father and his new wife so Charlotte decides to go on her own vacation. She ends up going to England and being part of a reenactment type of trip located at Pembrook Park, a stately home. Reborn as Charlotte Cordial, a widow, she embarks on her adventure. She is one of six guests and is matched with Mr. Mallery, a moody but hunky gentleman.
    As part of the entertainment, the three couples are part of a mystery involving a long ago event at a local abbey, and parts of the story are doled out over several nights. Unfortunately for Charlotte, it suddenly becomes all too real for her and she is left wondering what is really happening at Pembrook Park. Who can she rely on for help?
    I always have wanted to go on one of these Austen trips so the whole premise of this book intrigued me. Charlotte is an interesting character, not the typical dumpee. She has a successful business and seems to be a pretty intelligent woman who ignored the signs that her marriage was imploding. On her vacation she has the typical reactions one would being in a strange country, acting out another period of time, and finding oneself in the middle of something very unsettling. The mystery factor is ramped up in this book and the romance takes a back seat but still has a satisfying conclusion. Ms. Hale solves an obvious problem with a simple but effective plot twist so all can end well. I enjoyed the first book in the series and this one was just as good.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fabulous!! Shannon Hale does it again!

    5 bright shiny, sparkly stars for Midnight in Austenland!! (none of those wimpy stars that are hard to see) I loved this book!!! I probably ought to start this review out with a confession- I am a huge Shannon Hale fangirl so if you're looking for an unbiased review this is not the review for you. Because I am a huge fan of Shannon's books I went into Midnight in Austenland with really high expectations. And in true Shannon Hale fashion my expectations were left in the dust. I loved being back in the world of Austenland. It was so fun to see old friends and meet new characters. I hadn't realized that I wanted to know more about certain characters until I met them again in this book. I really enjoyed getting to know a few of the familiar faces a bit more. As for the new cast of characters, I was a little worried I wouldn't connect with Charlotte as well as I did with Jane in Austenland. I am single and obsessed with Mr. Darcy so it was really easy for me to understand Jane. Charlotte is a successful business woman, a mother of two and divorced. She and I don't have a lot in common. But that is the beauty of Shannon's writing- she creates characters that. even though there is very little common ground, you can understand and love. Midnight in Austenland is classic Shannon Hale- it has a strong heroine, is laugh out loud funny, poignant, thought provoking, adventurous and has just the right amount of swoon. In addition to all of those wonderful qualities Shannon has thrown a mystery into the mix. I have to admit that this crime show junkie had a huge grin on her face when one of the characters makes a comment about being on CSI Pembrook Park. Trying to discern between fantasy and reality is already difficult at Pembrook Park, adding a puzzle to be solved made this trip to Austenland even better than the first

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Free iPad

    Kiss your hand and post this on three differnt books then look under your pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    Shannon hale fan club!

    Fan club res 1! Be there to share opinions and chat about her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Yyb

    Hhy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    C c vvvvzxxc


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Love it!

    Great author, great plot - love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    By far the best of its kind

    Read this in a few days and it did not dissapoin.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    So much fun!

    Just as absorbing and entertaining as Austenland. If you liked that one, you'll like this just as much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet and Salty!

    Midnight in Austenland is an enticing read. It brings back some of the zanier cast from Austenland, and it's not the characters you're thinking about. The intrigue is very well written and adds extra spice to the story. I was so intrigued it was difficult to put the book down and Ms.Hale did an extremely wonderful job at making sure the plot wasn't easy to guess. If Austenland was everything sweet and nice, then Midnight in Austenland is sizzling and spicy. I find when reading sequels, authors find it difficult to balance their writing; either they make it identical to what they previously wrote, or it's a complete about face. Ms.Hale avoids all those pitfalls completely by keeping some things from the previous book but adding a twist to it so it seems like so much more. Well done Ms.Hale. It's what I've come to expect from her books and look forward to seeing more of in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fun escape back into Austenland!

    Northanger Abbey is one of my favorite Austen novels (yes, I know Catherine is silly and way too involved in her novels. She's supposed to be--she's only seventeen, and the closest she's come to adventures so far is in books...doesn't everyone get a little lost in a good book once in a while?), so I was really excited when Midnight in Austenland's prologue ("No one who knew Charlotte Kinder since her youth would suppose her born to be a heroine") clearly indicated that it was going to be based on NA. Finally! I've long felt that there needed to be a modern retelling, and at last someone listened. So, yes, I was pretty much predisposed to really like this book. Still, it could have disappointed me--fortunately, it didn't.

    Although there is a world of difference between a modern thirtysomething divorced mother of two and a seventeen-year-old daughter of a clergyman in Regency England, Hale makes it work. Charlotte, still reeling from a betrayal she never saw coming, has a different kind of naivete than Catherine, but she nonetheless gets swept up in the world of books and more than a little carried away with her imagination. As a more worldly character, Charlotte often knows she's being a bit silly, but can't always stop herself. (Her conversations with her Inner Thoughts were just too funny.)

    Ultimately, Charlotte is somewhat more justified in her suspicions than Catherine is, and that was the only part of the book that I really could find any fault with. The villian of the piece didn't quite ring true; his motivation seemed a bit silly, turning him from a fairly decent character into something more like cardboard cut-out of a bad guy. Still, though, the rest of the story more than made up for the awkwardness. You know it's a good book when I can embarrass my daughter in public by laughing out loud while reading.

    Midnight in Austenland is not quite a sequel to Austenland; it's really more of just a second novel in the same universe. Mrs. Wattlesbrook is back, but unfortunately her business has fallen on hard times and she's down to just one property. The hero and heroine of the first novel are alluded to, briefly, toward the very end of the book. Other than that, it almost seems as more of a stand-alone novel rather than a true sequel, so reading Austenland isn't a prerequisite for book two. I really enjoyed this book and hope Ms. Hale will consider taking us back to Austenland again in the future.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2